EcoFlow · RIVER series
EcoFlow RIVER 2
The RIVER 2 wins seven of thirty head-to-heads and none of the twelve against other EcoFlows, the fate of a unit whose maker keeps improving on it. A quarter kilowatt-hour, eight pounds, one afternoon off-grid. Owners run above the norm, with meters: 120 watts from a 100-watt panel, a fridge for 22 hours, ten watts spent to deliver five.
256 Wh · 300 W · 7.8 lb · 3,000 cycles · 30 head-to-heads
1,557
Power Score · Device Hub

- 256 Wh
- capacity
- 300 W
- output
- 7.8 lb
- weight
- 3,000
- rated cycles
Should you buy it right now?
Wait, or check the store first: $209 is 11% over its usual $189.
Real-world jobs
1 of 7
Falls short on Weekend Camping, 8-Hour Blackout, CPAP Overnight, Remote Workday, Tailgate Party and Van Life Daily
Head-to-head record
7–22–1
30 adjudicated matchups
Verdicts by Wenny Zheng and the Test Desk·Figures computed 2026-09-07
01 · Six real-world jobs
What the RIVER 2 actually runs
The load profiles every comparison on the site is scored on, computed for this unit alone: energy needed against the usable tank after inverter losses, and whether the inverter holds and starts the biggest single load.
Weekend Camping
Falls short2 nights · Two nights off-grid with essential comfort
2,100Wh needed · 965% of the tank · 1,882Wh short
Peak 75W: starts and holds
8-Hour Blackout
Falls short8 hours · Keep the essentials running through a night without power
1,645Wh needed · 756% of the tank · 1,427Wh short
Peak 150W: starts and holds
CPAP Overnight
Falls short8 hours · Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case
320Wh needed · 147% of the tank · 102Wh short
Peak 40W: starts and holds
Remote Workday
Falls short8 hours · Full work day off-grid without power anxiety
910Wh needed · 418% of the tank · 692Wh short
Peak 60W: starts and holds
Tailgate Party
Falls short4 hours · Game day power for the crew
670Wh needed · 308% of the tank · 452Wh short
Peak 400W: starts and holds
Van Life Daily
Falls short24 hours · A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test
4,685Wh needed · 2153% of the tank · 4,467Wh short
Peak 150W: starts and holds
Afternoon Off-Grid
Clears itan afternoon · Phones and a speaker at the park, beach, or campsite — the small-unit job description
100Wh needed · 46% of the tank · 118Wh spare
Peak 30W: starts and holds
02 · Head-to-head record
7 wins in 30 written matchups
Every matchup is a full verdict scored on the six jobs above plus price, longevity and portability. This is the set shoppers search for, not a random sample.
Win share
7–22–1
- vs EcoFlow0–11–1
- vs Jackery2–5
- vs BLUETTI2–3
- vs Anker1–2
- vs Goal Zero2–0
- vs DJI0–1
winsRIVER 2 vs BLUETTI Elite 10 Mini
199 searches reached this matchup
losesRIVER 2 vs BLUETTI Elite 30 V2
137 searches reached this matchup
losesRIVER 2 vs EcoFlow DELTA 3 1000 Air
70 searches reached this matchup
losesRIVER 2 vs EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max
53 searches reached this matchup
losesRIVER 2 vs DJI Power 1000
51 searches reached this matchup
losesRIVER 2 vs EcoFlow RIVER 3 230
36 searches reached this matchup
03 · From the verdicts
Who it is for, and when a rival won instead
Each line is lifted from a written matchup where it decided the verdict, and links to the page it came from. Repeated across many matchups means it is the unit’s signature, not one author’s opinion.
Buy the RIVER 2 if…
You want the cheaper energy over time: $0.25 per lifetime kWh and a 5-year warranty, for $70 more than the Elite 10 Mini.
Decided 9 matchups · read one →
It's also the rational choice if $849 is simply outside the budget and $189 covers everything you need it to power. A smaller battery you can afford and carry beats a bigger one you can't.
Decided 3 matchups · read one →
You want a laptop, a phone, a camera battery and some lights to keep going, and you want that to weigh 7.8 lbs and cost $189.
Decided 3 matchups · read one →
Anyone who needs a second, separate unit to hand to a passenger, a tent-mate, or a second vehicle, where DELTA 3 Classic's 26.7 lb and $469 price are both overkill for the job.
Decided 2 matchups · read one →
A rival won when…
You want the purchase to age well. Same 3,000 cycles, but 1,344 kWh banked over the life instead of 768, at 21 cents a kilowatt-hour.
Decided 8 matchups · read one →
It's also the pick if you think you'll want more capacity later. The expansion path is real EcoFlow hardware, not a hypothetical — the RIVER 2 has no such option at any price.
Decided 3 matchups · read one →
The person who needs a full CPAP night with real margin, 754Wh of it, every night, at a listed 30dB rather than an unpublished guess.
Decided 2 matchups · read one →
Anyone who wants the quieter, faster-switching box with a bit more capacity — and now the lower price too — and is fine giving up the second outlet to get it.
Decided 2 matchups · read one →
04 · Price history
What the RIVER 2 actually sells for
The number on the buy button, read twice a day, one point per day. Never the sticker, never a “was” price.
Read from us.ecoflow.com twice a day since July 17 · 43 days · 10 gaps
Since August 7 · above usual on 22 of 43 days
Built from the Sep 7, 5 AM UTC read.
$189
Usual price
49% of days tracked
$189
Best we've seen
August 6
$209
Today
11% over usual
$219
Highest seen
22 days above usual
How to read this
- Usual is the price the unit carried most of the time, tested for how long it held rather than how often we looked. A weekend promotion cannot move it.
- Best is the lowest price we have read on the store itself. Typed coupon codes, member-only prices and marketplace listings are not counted; anything applied automatically at checkout is.
- A gap in the line is a day we could not read a price. We never draw across one, and we never show the store’s own “was” price.
Method on the methodology page.
Share the numbers
EcoFlow RIVER 2: usually $189, best $189 (Aug 6), today $209 on us.ecoflow.com. Tracked twice a day since Jul 17. https://stationarena.com/products/ecoflow-river-2#price-history
Alerts for the RIVER 2
One email when it drops below $189, comes back in stock, or a newer model in this line appears. Nothing else.
By subscribing, you agree to our Privacy Policy.
05 · Voices
What 37 owner reports say about the RIVER 2
Owner reports are paraphrased from public YouTube comments and each links to its source; reviewer consensus is counted from cited excerpts, never quoted; our own verdicts are quoted. Specs on this page never come from any of them.
- 58%
- positive
- 30
- self-declared owners
- 11
- measured reports
- 20
- videos
- 52%
- EcoFlow norm
- 2022–2026
- reporting period
19 for, 14 against
1 owned 6+ months
numbers, not impressions
9 channels
across 1,668 reports
2022-10-25 to 2026-07-19
Weighted read
56% positive weighted · corpus 51% · above the norm
Raw counts reward whoever writes most, and people write when something breaks. Here each report is weighted by what the complaint costs a buyer (a failure outranks an app gripe) and by its evidence (a measured owner report outranks a shopper’s opinion), then compared with every report in the corpus.
- Failures, returns, support2 against · 1 for
- How it performs10 against · 7 for
- How it feels to use2 against · 11 for
By topic, against the EcoFlow norm
Bars count this unit’s reports; the tick is the share of positive reports for the same topic across every EcoFlow unit in the corpus.
- Capacity & runtime4 measured38% positive · brand 81%53
- Weight & portability100% positive · brand 60%4
- Price & value2 measured75% positive · brand 58%13
- App & firmware2 measured67% positive · brand 54%12
- Durability & failures0% positive · brand 26%2
- UPS switchover100% positive · brand 56%2
- General100% positive · brand 63%2
- Solar input2 measured50% positive · brand 51%11
- Inverter & surge0% positive · brand 56%2
- Charging speed100% positive · brand 78%1
- Build quality0% positive · brand 38%1
- Support & warranty100% positive · brand 33%1
- Idle drain1 measured0% positive · brand 48%1
left: negative · right: positive
When the reports were made
What owners compare it against
What owners praise
Solar inputmeasuredowner
RIVER 2 pulled 120W from a 100W third-party panel over four days in a van.
ReeWray Outdoors· 15 likessource
Capacity & runtimemeasuredowner
Ran router, PoE switch, NAS, modem and a NUC through two outages, cameras up about 2 hours.
Footprint Hero with Alex Beale· 4 likessource
App & firmwaremeasuredowner
Fridge runtime went from about 10 hours to 22 hours after two firmware updates.
Jasonoid - Solar Power, Batteries, and More!· 2 likessource
What owners complain about
Idle drainmeasuredowner
Used as a DC UPS it averaged well over 10W to deliver 5W to a cable modem.
DIY Solar Power with Will Prowse· 6 likessource
App & firmwaremeasuredowner
Display reads 0W output until roughly 15W is drawn; a 2W night light shows nothing.
Footprint Hero with Alex Beale· 2 likessource
Capacity & runtimemeasuredowner
Down to 29% after 7 hours running a 12V fridge; horrible DC efficiency, may return it.
Minute Man Solar· 1 likessource
Reviewer consensus
1/3 positive excerpts, 3 sources
The RIVER 2 is the older, cheaper unit on the same core platform — reasonable for budget indoor use but louder and less refined than the RIVER 3.
backuppowerhub.com · ecoflow.com · versus.com · researched 2026-07-10
EcoFlow, brand-wide
52% positive across 1,668 reports. The brand-wide complaint is shipping & availability (91% negative); the brand-wide praise is capacity & runtime (81% positive).
From the test desk
“Take the RIVER2 unless weight decides it for you.”
“The Elite 30 V2 holds more capacity (288Wh against 256Wh), doubles the RIVER 2's continuous output, carries 2.5x its surge rating, takes in nearly twice the solar, and switches over 3x faster in an outage — but it costs…”
“On value and coverage the DELTA 3 1000 Air wins clearly — cheaper per lifetime kWh ($0.11 against $0.25), nearly double the power score (3,014 against 1,585), and the only one of the two that fully covers a CPAP…”
06 · Where each number comes from
Spec sheet, in four cards
Every field carries its source: green is the manufacturer’s own document, blue was adjudicated after sources disagreed, grey is the catalogue as imported. Then compare it line by line with the units people actually weigh it against.
Battery
256
Capacity (Wh)
- ChemistryLiFePO4
- Charging Cycles3000
- Battery Expansion FeasibilityNo
Power out
300
Output (W)
- Surge Peak600W
- AC Outlets2
- 240V Outlets0
- 30A RV Outlets0
- 12V Car Outlets1
- USB-C Ports1
- USB-A Ports2
- USB-C Charging Outputs60W
Charging
110
Solar Input (W)
- Solar Input TypeXT60
Living with it
7.8
Weight (lbs)
- Noise Level (db)Not Specified
- UPSYes (<30ms)
- App ControlYes
- Warranty (Years)5
Compare it with
RIVER 2 vs
leads on 6 · trails on 3
| Spec | RIVER 2 | Elite 10 Mini | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usual price | $189 | $119 ● | +$70 |
| Capacity (Wh) | 256 ● | 128 | +128 |
| Output (W) | 300 ● | 200 | +100 |
| Surge (W) | 600W ● | 300W | +300 |
| Rated cycles | 3000 | 3000+ | 0 |
| Solar input (W) | 110 ● | 100 | +10 |
| Weight (lb) | 7.8 | 3.97 ● | +3.8 |
| Noise (dB) | Not Specified | 45 | |
| AC outlets | 2 ● | 1 | +1 |
| USB-C ports | 1 | 2 ● | -1 |
| Warranty (yr) | 5 ● | 3 | +2 |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | |
| UPS | Yes (<30ms) | Yes (<10ms) |
● marks the better figure where direction is clear. Price is each unit’s usual price.
Read the full verdict →07 · EcoFlow RIVER line
Where it sits in the line
Capacity bars are to scale across the line; prices are each unit’s usual price, not today’s.
08 · At its usual price
Cost of ownership
Cycle life is the manufacturer’s rating to 80% capacity; the lifetime figure is that rating times the nameplate capacity.
$0.74
per Wh
at $189
$0.25
per lifetime kWh
768 kWh over 3,000 cycles
8.2 yr
if cycled daily
29 yr at weekends only
5 yr
warranty
$38 per covered year
09 · From the matchups
Questions people ask
Can the EcoFlow RIVER 2 or BLUETTI Elite 10 Mini power a CPAP machine overnight?
Not reliably. A CPAP Overnight benchmark needs more than either holds — RIVER2's usable capacity covers about two-thirds of the night, Elite 10 Mini about a third. If a CPAP is the primary job, look at a unit with meaningfully more than 256Wh.
What's the difference between the EcoFlow RIVER 2 and BLUETTI Elite 10 Mini?
RIVER2 is the bigger unit on every capacity and power spec — 256Wh against 128Wh, 300W against 200W output, a 600W against 300W surge rating — and costs $189 against $119. Elite 10 Mini is under half the weight (3.97 lb against 7.8 lb), charges over a faster 100W USB-C port, and switches over on an outage in under 10ms against RIVER2's 30ms.
Which is cheaper to own over its lifetime, the RIVER 2 or the Elite 10 Mini?
The RIVER2, despite costing $70 more upfront. Over an identical 3,000-cycle life it works out to $0.25 per lifetime kWh delivered against $0.31 for the Elite 10 Mini, and it carries two extra years of warranty (5 against 3).
Can either the RIVER 2 or Elite 10 Mini run a fridge or window AC?
No. Both fail every one of this site's six benchmark scenarios, and a fridge or AC compressor's startup surge, typically 2-3x its rated draw, would exceed even RIVER2's 600W surge ceiling for anything beyond a small unit.
Is the BLUETTI Elite 10 Mini worth buying over the RIVER 2 despite less capacity?
Yes, if weight and charging speed are the point. It's under 4 lb, has a 100W USB-C PD port, and switches over in under 10ms — real advantages if you're only keeping a phone and a laptop alive, not running anything with a plug for hours.
Some links are affiliate links; they never change the price you pay or which price we show. Owner reports are paraphrased from public comments and link to their source.