EcoFlow · RIVER series
EcoFlow RIVER 2 240
The RIVER 2 240 is the RIVER 2 poured to the line instead of the brim: thirteen watt-hours fewer, and otherwise the same 300 watts, the same eight pounds, one manual between them. EcoFlow’s store sells this one now. It clears an afternoon off-grid on under half the tank, and nothing longer. No owner has written in.
243 Wh · 300 W · 7.7 lb · 3,000 cycles · 1 head-to-head
1,459
Power Score · Device Hub

- 243 Wh
- capacity
- 300 W
- output
- 7.7 lb
- weight
- 3,000
- rated cycles
Should you buy it right now?
RIVER 2 240: 243Wh, clears 1 of 7 real-world jobs, wins 0 of 1 matchups.
Real-world jobs
1 of 7
Falls short on Weekend Camping, 8-Hour Blackout, CPAP Overnight, Remote Workday, Tailgate Party and Van Life Daily
Head-to-head record
0–0–1
1 adjudicated matchups
Verdicts by Wenny Zheng and the Test Desk·Figures computed 2026
01 · Six real-world jobs
What the RIVER 2 240 actually runs
The load profiles every comparison on the site is scored on, computed for this unit alone: energy needed against the usable tank after inverter losses, and whether the inverter holds and starts the biggest single load.
Weekend Camping
Falls short2 nights · Two nights off-grid with essential comfort
2,100Wh needed · 1017% of the tank · 1,893Wh short
Peak 75W: starts and holds
8-Hour Blackout
Falls short8 hours · Keep the essentials running through a night without power
1,645Wh needed · 796% of the tank · 1,438Wh short
Peak 150W: starts and holds
CPAP Overnight
Falls short8 hours · Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case
320Wh needed · 155% of the tank · 113Wh short
Peak 40W: starts and holds
Remote Workday
Falls short8 hours · Full work day off-grid without power anxiety
910Wh needed · 441% of the tank · 703Wh short
Peak 60W: starts and holds
Tailgate Party
Falls short4 hours · Game day power for the crew
670Wh needed · 324% of the tank · 463Wh short
Peak 400W: starts and holds
Van Life Daily
Falls short24 hours · A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test
4,685Wh needed · 2268% of the tank · 4,478Wh short
Peak 150W: starts and holds
Afternoon Off-Grid
Clears itan afternoon · Phones and a speaker at the park, beach, or campsite — the small-unit job description
100Wh needed · 48% of the tank · 107Wh spare
Peak 30W: starts and holds
02 · Head-to-head record
0 wins in 1 written matchups
Every matchup is a full verdict scored on the six jobs above plus price, longevity and portability. This is the set shoppers search for, not a random sample.
Win share
0–0–1
- vs EcoFlow0–0–1
03 · From the verdicts
Who it is for, and when a rival won instead
Each line is lifted from a written matchup where it decided the verdict, and links to the page it came from. Repeated across many matchups means it is the unit’s signature, not one author’s opinion.
Buy the RIVER 2 240 if…
You're buying from EcoFlow's own store, where the 240 is the one on the shelf [B0].
You want the small RIVER 2 for phones, a laptop and lights, and would rather not spend an evening tracking down the last original for a 5% bigger tank.
A rival won when…
You've found a new 256Wh RIVER 2 from a seller you'd buy from anyway, and it costs less than the 240. Take it: same box, 13Wh more.
You already own one and wondered whether the 240 is an upgrade. It isn't. It's a slightly smaller tank in the same case.
05 · Voices
What owners and reviewers say
Owner reports are paraphrased from public YouTube comments and each links to its source; reviewer consensus is counted from cited excerpts, never quoted; our own verdicts are quoted. Specs on this page never come from any of them.
Reviewer consensus
1/5 positive excerpts, 2 sources
manuals.ecoflow.com · us.ecoflow.com · researched 2026-09-18
From the test desk
“EcoFlow documents these two in a single manual, and the specification table splits them on exactly one line: 256Wh for the RIVER 2, 243Wh for the RIVER 2 240 [B1].”
06 · Where each number comes from
Spec sheet, in four cards
Every field carries its source: green is the manufacturer’s own document, blue was adjudicated after sources disagreed, grey is the catalogue as imported. Then compare it line by line with the units people actually weigh it against.
Battery
243
Capacity (Wh)
- ChemistryLiFePO4
- Charging Cycles3000
- Battery Expansion FeasibilityNo
Power out
300
Output (W)
- Surge Peak600W
- AC Outlets2
- 240V Outlets0
- 30A RV Outlets0
- 12V Car Outlets1
- USB-C Ports1
- USB-A Ports2
- USB-C Charging Outputs60W
Charging
110
Solar Input (W)
- Solar Input TypeXT60
Living with it
7.7
Weight (lbs)
- Noise Level (db)Not Specified
- UPSYes (<30ms)
- App ControlYes
- Warranty (Years)5
Compare it with
RIVER 2 240 vs
leads on 1 · trails on 1
| Spec | RIVER 2 240 | RIVER 2 | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usual price | $209 | $209 | $0 |
| Capacity (Wh) | 243 | 256 ● | -13 |
| Output (W) | 300 | 300 | 0 |
| Surge (W) | 600W | 600W | 0 |
| Rated cycles | 3000 | 3000 | 0 |
| Solar input (W) | 110 | 110 | 0 |
| Weight (lb) | 7.7 ● | 7.8 | -0.1 |
| Noise (dB) | Not Specified | Not Specified | |
| AC outlets | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| USB-C ports | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Warranty (yr) | 5 | 5 | 0 |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | |
| UPS | Yes (<30ms) | Yes (<30ms) |
● marks the better figure where direction is clear. Price is each unit’s usual price.
Read the full verdict →07 · EcoFlow RIVER line
Where it sits in the line
Capacity bars are to scale across the line; prices are each unit’s usual price, not today’s.

RIVER 3 230
230 Wh · $189

RIVER 2 240
243 Wh · $209

RIVER 3
245 Wh · $199

RIVER 2
256 Wh · $209

RIVER 3 PLUS
286 Wh · $259

RIVER 2 Max 500
499 Wh · $309

RIVER 2 Max
512 Wh · $289

RIVER 3 MAX
572 Wh · $439

RIVER 2 Pro
768 Wh · $349

RIVER 3 MAX PLUS
858 Wh · $359

RIVER 3 MAX PLUS WIRELESS
1.2 kWh · $599
Not yet on sale: Two small LFP power stations, 256 Wh and 512 Wh, whose whole pitch is how fast they fill and how little room they take — for the laptop, router and bedside-UPS buyer, because the capacity and output are the RIVER 2 pair’s exactly. EcoFlow RIVER 260 and 520 Gen4 (RIVER 4): Same Wh, More Storable
08 · At its usual price
Cost of ownership
Cycle life is the manufacturer’s rating to 80% capacity; the lifetime figure is that rating times the nameplate capacity.
$0.86
per Wh
at $209
$0.29
per lifetime kWh
729 kWh over 3,000 cycles
8.2 yr
if cycled daily
29 yr at weekends only
5 yr
warranty
$42 per covered year
09 · From the matchups
Questions people ask
What is the difference between the EcoFlow RIVER 2 and the RIVER 2 240?
Capacity, and nothing else. EcoFlow's manual covers both units and lists 256Wh for the RIVER 2 and 243Wh for the RIVER 2 240; every other line of the specification table is shared [B1]. The inverter, ports, charging speed and 5-year warranty are the same.
Is the RIVER 2 240 actually 240Wh?
No, it's 243Wh. The listing title and the SKU say 240, but EcoFlow's manual and its own product page both give 243Wh [B1][B5]. It's one of the few products named slightly below its real capacity.
Some links are affiliate links; they never change the price you pay or which price we show. Owner reports are paraphrased from public comments and link to their source.