EcoFlow · RIVER series
EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max 500
The RIVER 2 Max 500 is the RIVER 2 Max with thirteen watt-hours trimmed and a number added to the name, one that fits the 499 watt-hours and the 500-watt inverter alike. EcoFlow’s store sells this one now. It carries a CPAP overnight on three quarters of the tank, and nothing longer. No owner has written in.
499 Wh · 500 W · 13.2 lb · 3,000 cycles · 1 head-to-head
1,929
Power Score · Device Hub

- 499 Wh
- capacity
- 500 W
- output
- 13.2 lb
- weight
- 3,000
- rated cycles
Should you buy it right now?
RIVER 2 Max 500: 499Wh, clears 1 of 6 real-world jobs, wins 0 of 1 matchups.
Real-world jobs
1 of 6
Falls short on Weekend Camping, 8-Hour Blackout, Remote Workday, Tailgate Party and Van Life Daily
Head-to-head record
0–0–1
1 adjudicated matchups
Verdicts by Wenny Zheng and the Test Desk·Figures computed 2026
01 · Six real-world jobs
What the RIVER 2 Max 500 actually runs
The load profiles every comparison on the site is scored on, computed for this unit alone: energy needed against the usable tank after inverter losses, and whether the inverter holds and starts the biggest single load.
Weekend Camping
Falls short2 nights · Two nights off-grid with essential comfort
2,100Wh needed · 495% of the tank · 1,676Wh short
Peak 75W: starts and holds
8-Hour Blackout
Falls short8 hours · Keep the essentials running through a night without power
1,645Wh needed · 388% of the tank · 1,221Wh short
Peak 150W: starts and holds
CPAP Overnight
Clears it8 hours · Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case
320Wh needed · 75% of the tank · 104Wh spare
Peak 40W: starts and holds
Remote Workday
Falls short8 hours · Full work day off-grid without power anxiety
910Wh needed · 215% of the tank · 486Wh short
Peak 60W: starts and holds
Tailgate Party
Falls short4 hours · Game day power for the crew
670Wh needed · 158% of the tank · 246Wh short
Peak 400W: starts and holds
Van Life Daily
Falls short24 hours · A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test
4,685Wh needed · 1105% of the tank · 4,261Wh short
Peak 150W: starts and holds
02 · Head-to-head record
0 wins in 1 written matchups
Every matchup is a full verdict scored on the six jobs above plus price, longevity and portability. This is the set shoppers search for, not a random sample.
Win share
0–0–1
- vs EcoFlow0–0–1
03 · From the verdicts
Who it is for, and when a rival won instead
Each line is lifted from a written matchup where it decided the verdict, and links to the page it came from. Repeated across many matchups means it is the unit’s signature, not one author’s opinion.
Buy the RIVER 2 Max 500 if…
You're buying from EcoFlow's own store, where the original is sold out and the 500 is the one in stock [B0].
You want a half-kilowatt-hour unit for a CPAP night or a work-from-anywhere day and would rather order today than hunt for old stock to gain about 2.5%.
A rival won when…
You've found a RIVER 2 Max new, from a retailer you'd use anyway, for less than the 500. That's the same machine with 13Wh more and money back. Take it.
You already own one. There is nothing to upgrade to here.
05 · Voices
What owners and reviewers say
Owner reports are paraphrased from public YouTube comments and each links to its source; reviewer consensus is counted from cited excerpts, never quoted; our own verdicts are quoted. Specs on this page never come from any of them.
Reviewer consensus
0/5 positive excerpts, 3 sources
manuals.ecoflow.com · us.ecoflow.com · backuppowerhub.com · researched 2026-09-18
From the test desk
“EcoFlow covers these two with a single manual, and its specification table splits them on one line: 512Wh for the RIVER 2 Max, 499Wh for the RIVER 2 Max 500 [B1].”
06 · Where each number comes from
Spec sheet, in four cards
Every field carries its source: green is the manufacturer’s own document, blue was adjudicated after sources disagreed, grey is the catalogue as imported. Then compare it line by line with the units people actually weigh it against.
Battery
499
Capacity (Wh)
- ChemistryLiFePO4
- Charging Cycles3000
- Battery Expansion FeasibilityNo
Power out
500
Output (W)
- Surge Peak1000W
- AC Outlets4
- 240V Outlets0
- 30A RV Outlets0
- 12V Car Outlets1
- USB-C Ports1
- USB-A Ports3
- USB-C Charging Outputs100W
Charging
220
Solar Input (W)
- Solar Input TypeXT60
Living with it
13.2
Weight (lbs)
- Noise Level (db)Not Specified
- UPSYes (<30ms)
- App ControlYes
- Warranty (Years)5
Compare it with
RIVER 2 Max 500 vs
leads on 1 · trails on 2
| Spec | RIVER 2 Max 500 | RIVER 2 Max | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usual price | $309 | $289 ● | +$20 |
| Capacity (Wh) | 499 | 512 ● | -13 |
| Output (W) | 500 | 500 | 0 |
| Surge (W) | 1000W | 1000W | 0 |
| Rated cycles | 3000 | 3000 | 0 |
| Solar input (W) | 220 | 220 | 0 |
| Weight (lb) | 13.2 ● | 13.4 | -0.2 |
| Noise (dB) | Not Specified | <62 | |
| AC outlets | 4 | 4 | 0 |
| USB-C ports | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Warranty (yr) | 5 | 5 | 0 |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | |
| UPS | Yes (<30ms) | Yes (<30ms) |
● marks the better figure where direction is clear. Price is each unit’s usual price.
Read the full verdict →07 · EcoFlow RIVER line
Where it sits in the line
Capacity bars are to scale across the line; prices are each unit’s usual price, not today’s.

RIVER 3 230
230 Wh · $189

RIVER 2 240
243 Wh · $209

RIVER 3
245 Wh · $199

RIVER 2
256 Wh · $209

RIVER 3 PLUS
286 Wh · $259

RIVER 2 Max 500
499 Wh · $309

RIVER 2 Max
512 Wh · $289

RIVER 3 MAX
572 Wh · $439

RIVER 2 Pro
768 Wh · $349

RIVER 3 MAX PLUS
858 Wh · $359

RIVER 3 MAX PLUS WIRELESS
1.2 kWh · $599
Not yet on sale: Two small LFP power stations, 256 Wh and 512 Wh, whose whole pitch is how fast they fill and how little room they take — for the laptop, router and bedside-UPS buyer, because the capacity and output are the RIVER 2 pair’s exactly. EcoFlow RIVER 260 and 520 Gen4 (RIVER 4): Same Wh, More Storable
08 · At its usual price
Cost of ownership
Cycle life is the manufacturer’s rating to 80% capacity; the lifetime figure is that rating times the nameplate capacity.
$0.62
per Wh
at $309
$0.21
per lifetime kWh
1,497 kWh over 3,000 cycles
8.2 yr
if cycled daily
29 yr at weekends only
5 yr
warranty
$62 per covered year
09 · From the matchups
Questions people ask
What is the difference between the EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max and the RIVER 2 Max 500?
Capacity, and nothing else. EcoFlow's manual covers both and lists 512Wh for the RIVER 2 Max and 499Wh for the RIVER 2 Max 500; every other line of the specification table is shared [B1]. Same 500W inverter, same ports, same charging, same 5-year warranty.
Is the RIVER 2 Max 500 an upgrade over the RIVER 2 Max?
No. It's the same unit with a pack that holds 13Wh less, about 2.5% [B1]. It isn't a downgrade you'd notice either: both pass and fail exactly the same jobs on this page.
How loud is the RIVER 2 Max 500?
EcoFlow doesn't publish a figure for it. The original RIVER 2 Max is rated at 62dB, which EcoFlow states as a maximum under heavy load, and the two share one manual and one set of hardware [B0]. Treat 62dB as the ceiling for both.
Some links are affiliate links; they never change the price you pay or which price we show. Owner reports are paraphrased from public comments and link to their source.