BLUETTI · EP series
BLUETTI EP500
The EP500 is the first of fourteen EPs and the Indiegogo one, which its owners have not forgotten: they run well below the norm, and four serious reports include a dead screen at a year and a cable dispute turned bitter. Five kilowatt-hours at 167 pounds, stay-at-home, clearing every scene but the van day. One win in five head-to-heads.
5.1 kWh · 2,000 W · 167 lb · 3,500 cycles · 5 head-to-heads
4,610
Power Score · Appliance Class

- 5.1 kWh
- capacity
- 2,000 W
- output
- 167 lb
- weight
- 3,500
- rated cycles
Should you buy it right now?
Fair price today: $2,999 is what it normally sells for. It clears 5 of 6 real-world jobs and wins 1 of 5 matchups.
Verdicts by Gunner Gustafson and the Test Desk·Figures computed 2026-09-07
01 · Six real-world jobs
What the EP500 actually runs
The load profiles every comparison on the site is scored on, computed for this unit alone: energy needed against the usable tank after inverter losses, and whether the inverter holds and starts the biggest single load.
Weekend Camping
Clears it2 nights · Two nights off-grid with essential comfort
2,100Wh needed · 48% of the tank · 2,252Wh spare
Peak 75W: starts and holds
8-Hour Blackout
Clears it8 hours · Keep the essentials running through a night without power
1,645Wh needed · 38% of the tank · 2,707Wh spare
Peak 150W: starts and holds
CPAP Overnight
Clears it8 hours · Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case
320Wh needed · 7% of the tank · 4,032Wh spare
Peak 40W: starts and holds
Remote Workday
Clears it8 hours · Full work day off-grid without power anxiety
910Wh needed · 21% of the tank · 3,442Wh spare
Peak 60W: starts and holds
Tailgate Party
Clears it4 hours · Game day power for the crew
670Wh needed · 15% of the tank · 3,682Wh spare
Peak 400W: starts and holds
Van Life Daily
Falls short24 hours · A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test
4,685Wh needed · 108% of the tank · 333Wh short
Peak 150W: starts and holds
02 · Head-to-head record
1 wins in 5 written matchups
Every matchup is a full verdict scored on the six jobs above plus price, longevity and portability. This is the set shoppers search for, not a random sample.
Win share
1–4
- vs BLUETTI0–4
- vs Goal Zero1–0
03 · From the verdicts
Who it is for, and when a rival won instead
Each line is lifted from a written matchup where it decided the verdict, and links to the page it came from. Repeated across many matchups means it is the unit’s signature, not one author’s opinion.
Buy the EP500 if…
Your loads stay under 2,000W and always will — the EP500's ceiling is comfortably above a fridge, lights, and electronics.
You want the lower price and the simpler box — $300 less for one sealed, complete unit with nothing to configure.
You value the slightly lighter body — 29 lb less matters when you shift it around a utility room, even if neither is truly portable [B1].
The all-in-one buyer: a single wheeled cabinet with USB, DC, a 100W USB-C port, and a touchscreen already on it, no Power Hub or cabling to add.
A rival won when…
You run big or simultaneous loads — 5,000W continuous and a 10,000W surge handle a microwave, a fridge, and a heater at once, where the EP500's 2,000W stalls.
You want room to grow — expansion batteries take the AC500 past 5,530Wh; the sealed EP500 can't add a watt-hour.
You lean on solar — 3,000W of input to the EP500's 1,200 refills the bank far faster.
Nearly everyone choosing between these two: $400 cheaper, 3,840W of output against the EP500's 2,000, twice the solar, and a 5-year warranty against none.
04 · Price history
What the EP500 actually sells for
The number on the buy button, read twice a day, one point per day. Never the sticker, never a “was” price.
Read from bluettipower.com twice a day since July 18 · 52 days
Carried on 100% of days tracked · dips reach $2,999
Built from the Sep 7, 5 AM UTC read.
$2,999
Usual price
100% of days tracked
$2,999
Best we've seen
September 7
$2,999
Today
at usual
$2,999
Highest seen
0 days above usual
How to read this
- Usual is the price the unit carried most of the time, tested for how long it held rather than how often we looked. A weekend promotion cannot move it.
- Best is the lowest price we have read on the store itself. Typed coupon codes, member-only prices and marketplace listings are not counted; anything applied automatically at checkout is.
- A gap in the line is a day we could not read a price. We never draw across one, and we never show the store’s own “was” price.
Method on the methodology page.
Share the numbers
BLUETTI EP500: usually $2,999, best $2,999 (Sep 7), today $2,999 on bluettipower.com. Tracked twice a day since Jul 18. https://stationarena.com/products/bluetti-ep500#price-history
Alerts for the EP500
One email when it drops below $2,999, comes back in stock, or a newer model in this line appears. Nothing else.
By subscribing, you agree to our Privacy Policy.
05 · Voices
What 17 owner reports say about the EP500
Owner reports are paraphrased from public YouTube comments and each links to its source; reviewer consensus is counted from cited excerpts, never quoted; our own verdicts are quoted. Specs on this page never come from any of them.
- 47%
- positive
- 10
- self-declared owners
- 3
- measured reports
- 7
- videos
- 50%
- BLUETTI norm
- 2021–2023
- reporting period
8 for, 9 against
1 owned 6+ months
numbers, not impressions
5 channels
across 1,100 reports
2021-03-20 to 2023-02-10
Weighted read
30% positive weighted · corpus 51% · below the norm
Raw counts reward whoever writes most, and people write when something breaks. Here each report is weighted by what the complaint costs a buyer (a failure outranks an app gripe) and by its evidence (a measured owner report outranks a shopper’s opinion), then compared with every report in the corpus.
- Failures, returns, support4 against · 2 for
- How it performs3 against · 3 for
- How it feels to use2 against · 3 for
By topic, against the BLUETTI norm
Bars count this unit’s reports; the tick is the share of positive reports for the same topic across every BLUETTI unit in the corpus.
- Support & warranty33% positive · brand 31%21
- Price & value1 measured67% positive · brand 69%12
- Durability & failures33% positive · brand 30%21
- Capacity & runtime50% positive · brand 66%11
- UPS switchover100% positive · brand 72%2
- General100% positive · brand 58%1
- Shipping & availability1 measured0% positive · brand 4%1
- Idle drain1 measured0% positive · brand 38%1
- Solar input0% positive · brand 52%1
left: negative · right: positive
When the reports were made
What owners compare it against
What owners praise
Price & valuemeasuredowner
$2,799 for 5,100Wh beat the DELTA Pro's $2,699 for 3,600Wh, and still does at list.
Silver Cymbalsource
UPS switchoverowner
Lets the owner choose between online and offline UPS modes, which they verified by testing bonding behavior.
DIY Solar Power with Will Prowse· 1 likessource
Support & warrantyowner
BLUETTI extended EP500 warranty from 3 to 5 years with on-site repairs: a game changer.
Silver Cymbalsource
What owners complain about
Durability & failuresowner · 12 mo
Screen stopped working about a year after the Indiegogo delivery.
HOBOTECH· 3 likessource
Shipping & availabilitymeasuredowner
Shipping quoted at $180 became $190, and promised August delivery slipped to October.
HOBOTECHsource
Idle drainmeasuredowner
A 65L fridge used 20% in 12 hours on AC, worse than his Jackery 2000; blames the inverter.
HOBOTECHsource
Reviewer consensus
5/9 positive excerpts, 2 sources
Weight (167 lbs) is the most consistently cited drawback of the EP500, flagged by multiple reviewers as making it a stay-at-home, non-portable unit.
greencitizen.com · techwalls.com · researched 2026-07-17
BLUETTI, brand-wide
50% positive across 1,100 reports. The brand-wide complaint is shipping & availability (96% negative); the brand-wide praise is ups switchover (72% positive).
From the test desk
“Buy the Elite 300 at $1,199 unless you specifically need 5,120Wh delivered from one box in one location.”
“Take the Apex 300 with the B300K.”
“The AC500 + 2*B300K is the modern, expandable evolution of BLUETTI's older sealed EP500, and against it the newer unit wins nearly everything that isn't the sticker.”
06 · Where each number comes from
Spec sheet, in four cards
Every field carries its source: green is the manufacturer’s own document, blue was adjudicated after sources disagreed, grey is the catalogue as imported. Then compare it line by line with the units people actually weigh it against.
Battery
5120
Capacity (Wh)
- ChemistryLiFePO4
- Charging Cycles3500
- Battery Expansion FeasibilityNo
Power out
2000
Output (W)
- Surge Peak4800W
- AC Outlets4
- 240V Outlets0
- 30A RV Outlets0
- 12V Car Outlets1
- USB-C Ports2
- USB-A Ports2
- USB-C Charging Outputs100W
Charging
1200
Solar Input (W)
- Solar Input TypeMPPT
Living with it
167
Weight (lbs)
- Noise Level (db)Not Specified
- UPSYes (20ms)
- App ControlYes
- Warranty (Years)Not Specified
Compare it with
EP500 vs
leads on 2 · trails on 4
| Spec | EP500 | Elite 300 | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usual price | $2,999 | $1,199 ● | +$1,800 |
| Capacity (Wh) | 5120 ● | 3014.4 | +2105.6 |
| Output (W) | 2000 | 2400 ● | -400 |
| Surge (W) | 4800W | 4800W | 0 |
| Rated cycles | 3500 | 6000 ● | -2500 |
| Solar input (W) | 1200 | 1200 | 0 |
| Weight (lb) | 167 | 58.0 ● | +109 |
| Noise (dB) | Not Specified | Not Specified | |
| AC outlets | 4 ● | 2 | +2 |
| USB-C ports | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Warranty (yr) | Not Specified | 5 | |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | |
| UPS | Yes (20ms) | Yes (≤10ms) |
● marks the better figure where direction is clear. Price is each unit’s usual price.
Read the full verdict →07 · BLUETTI EP line
Where it sits in the line
Capacity bars are to scale across the line; prices are each unit’s usual price, not today’s.

EP500
5.1 kWh · $2,999

EP500Pro
5.1 kWh · $3,499

EP800 + 2×B500
9.9 kWh · $6,999

EP900 + 2×B500
9.9 kWh · $10,298

EP800 + 3×B500
14.9 kWh · $6,299

EP900 + 3×B500
14.9 kWh · $13,798

EP800 + 4×B500
19.8 kWh · $7,999

2×EP800 + 4×B500
19.8 kWh · $17,999

EP900 + 4×B500
19.8 kWh · $17,298

2×EP900 + 4×B500
19.8 kWh · $21,196

2×EP800 + 6×B500
29.8 kWh · $23,998

2×EP900 + 6×B500
29.8 kWh · $28,196

2×EP800 + 8×B500
39.7 kWh · $29,998

2×EP900 + 8×B500
39.7 kWh · $35,196
08 · At its usual price
Cost of ownership
Cycle life is the manufacturer’s rating to 80% capacity; the lifetime figure is that rating times the nameplate capacity.
$0.59
per Wh
at $2,999
$0.17
per lifetime kWh
17,920 kWh over 3,500 cycles
9.6 yr
if cycled daily
34 yr at weekends only
—
warranty
09 · From the matchups
Questions people ask
Is the BLUETTI EP500 worth $1,800 more than the Elite 300?
Only if you need 5,120Wh from a single unit in a single location. Multiply capacity by rated cycles and both land near 18,000 kWh of lifetime energy, so the extra money isn't buying more power over the life of the product, just a bigger serving per charge. At $2,999 against $1,199 that's a steep price for portion size unless one circuit has to see all of it.
Which one lasts longer, the Elite 300 or the EP500?
The Elite, on paper. It's rated for 6,000 cycles against the EP500's 3,500, which the lifetime model turns into 16.4 years of daily cycling against 9.6. Both ratings describe the point where a pack drops toward 80% of its original capacity, not the point where it stops working. Neither unit has a long-horizon owner report behind it yet, so treat both numbers as manufacturer ratings [A1][A4][B1][B9].
Can you take the EP500 camping?
Physically yes, practically no. It's 167 lbs on our listing against the Elite 300's 58 lbs, and the one thing two independent reviews agree on is that the weight makes it a stay-put unit [B1][B9]. It also wins our weekend camping scenario on capacity, which is a neat illustration of why a scenario score isn't a recommendation.
Does the BLUETTI EP500 come with a warranty?
We can't tell you from our data. The Elite 300 carries five years on our record and the EP500's warranty field is empty, which means unknown rather than zero. Get the term from BLUETTI in writing before you buy, particularly since the EP500 is the shorter-cycle-life unit of the two at 3,500 against 6,000.
Can I add more battery to the Elite 300 or the EP500 later?
No, on both. Each is listed as sealed with no expansion port and no swappable pack, so whichever capacity you choose is permanent. That isn't a flaw in either unit, since each is a complete system rather than a starter kit, but it does mean the choice between 3,014Wh and 5,120Wh is one you make once. If growth is the worry, note that two Elite 300s at $1,199 each total $2,398, which is $601 less than the EP500's $2,999, though they'd remain two separate batteries rather than one larger one.
Some links are affiliate links; they never change the price you pay or which price we show. Owner reports are paraphrased from public comments and link to their source.



