PSA
StationArena

BLUETTI · EP series

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 8×B500

A 39.7 kWh LiFePO4 station with 18,000 W of output, rated for 6,000 cycles. What it sells for, what it runs, how it fared in 6 written head-to-heads, and what owners report.

39.7 kWh · 18,000 W · 1178 lb · 6,000 cycles · 6 head-to-heads

27,317

Power Score · Grid-Independent

BLUETTI 2*EP900 + 8*B500
39.7 kWh
capacity
18,000 W
output
1178 lb
weight
6,000
rated cycles

Should you buy it right now?

2×EP900 + 8×B500: 39,680Wh, clears 6 of 6 real-world jobs, wins 0 of 6 matchups.

Gunner Gustafson

Verdicts by Gunner Gustafson and the Test Desk·Figures computed 2026

01 · Six real-world jobs

What the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 actually runs

The load profiles every comparison on the site is scored on, computed for this unit alone: energy needed against the usable tank after inverter losses, and whether the inverter holds and starts the biggest single load.

  • Weekend Camping

    Clears it

    2 nights · Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

    2,100Wh needed · 6% of the tank · 31,628Wh spare

    Peak 75W: starts and holds

  • 8-Hour Blackout

    Clears it

    8 hours · Keep the essentials running through a night without power

    1,645Wh needed · 5% of the tank · 32,083Wh spare

    Peak 150W: starts and holds

  • CPAP Overnight

    Clears it

    8 hours · Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

    320Wh needed · 1% of the tank · 33,408Wh spare

    Peak 40W: starts and holds

  • Remote Workday

    Clears it

    8 hours · Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

    910Wh needed · 3% of the tank · 32,818Wh spare

    Peak 60W: starts and holds

  • Tailgate Party

    Clears it

    4 hours · Game day power for the crew

    670Wh needed · 2% of the tank · 33,058Wh spare

    Peak 400W: starts and holds

  • Van Life Daily

    Clears it

    24 hours · A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

    4,685Wh needed · 14% of the tank · 29,043Wh spare

    Peak 150W: starts and holds

03 · From the verdicts

Who it is for, and when a rival won instead

Each line is lifted from a written matchup where it decided the verdict, and links to the page it came from. Repeated across many matchups means it is the unit’s signature, not one author’s opinion.

Buy the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 if…

  • The homeowner backing up a whole panel, well pump, furnace blower, fridge, lights, through multi-day outages, who's already committed to an electrician and a permit. This is the load the 39,680Wh stack is built for and the C1000 can't touch.

    read one →

  • The off-grid or heavy-solar build pairing serious arrays with 18,000W of solar input and 39,680Wh of storage. If that's the project, the C1000 was never a candidate.

    read one →

  • Buy the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 only if you're commissioning whole-home backup and mean it: 39,680Wh and 18,000W wired into your electrical panel by an electrician, meant to carry the house through multi-day outages and warranted 10 years to do it. This is a homeowner with a permitted solar-backup project and a $35,196 budget already in hand, not someone cross-shopping portable power stations.

    read one →

  • You own the home, have an electrician lined up, and want whole-home backup wired into a subpanel — 39,680Wh and an 18,000W inverter that feeds household circuits, not just a device or two.

    read one →

A rival won when…

  • The camper, tailgater, or anyone who needs power where there's no outlet: at 41.7 lbs it actually goes, and it covers a 670Wh tailgate with 1,071Wh to spare.

    Decided 2 matchups · read one →

  • The renter or apartment dweller who wants outage insurance for the fridge, the phones, and a CPAP overnight, without an electrician, a permit, or a five-figure budget.

    Decided 2 matchups · read one →

  • Anyone whose real ceiling is about a kilowatt-hour at a time, which is the common reason these two names end up in the same search box.

    read one →

  • Buy the C1000 if you want one box you can actually carry and use: a tailgate, a road trip, car camping, or a CPAP or fridge through a short outage on an extension cord. It's the first power station for someone who wants $450, 28 pounds, and enough output for anything short of central AC or an electric dryer [A4]. If you're unsure how much power station you need, this is the low-regret amount.

    read one →

05 · Voices

What owners and reviewers say

Owner reports are paraphrased from public YouTube comments and each links to its source; reviewer consensus is counted from cited excerpts, never quoted; our own verdicts are quoted. Specs on this page never come from any of them.

Reviewer consensus

3/11 positive excerpts, 2 sources

Prospective buyers are drawn to the modular multi-EP900/B500 stacking concept for whole-home backup but express skepticism about real-world reliability versus marketing claims, especially in temperature extremes.

diysolarforum.com · community.bluettipower.com · researched 2026-07-15

From the test desk

06 · Where each number comes from

Spec sheet, in four cards

Every field carries its source: green is the manufacturer’s own document, blue was adjudicated after sources disagreed, grey is the catalogue as imported. Then compare it line by line with the units people actually weigh it against.

Battery

39680

Capacity (Wh)

  • ChemistryLiFePO4
  • Charging Cycles6000
  • Battery Expansion FeasibilityNo

Power out

18000

Output (W)

  • Surge PeakNot Specified
  • AC OutletsHardwired
  • 240V OutletsHardwired
  • 30A RV Outlets0
  • 12V Car Outlets0
  • USB-C Ports0
  • USB-A Ports0

Charging

18000

Solar Input (W)

  • Solar Input TypeMC4

Living with it

1178

Weight (lbs)

  • Noise Level (db)<50
  • UPSYes (<10ms)
  • App ControlYes
  • Warranty (Years)10

Compare it with

2×EP900 + 8×B500 vs

leads on 5 · trails on 4

Spec2×EP900 + 8×B500SOLIX C1000 Gen 2Gap
Usual price$35,196$530+$34,666
Capacity (Wh)396801024+38656
Output (W)180002000+16000
Surge (W)Not Specified3000W
Rated cycles60004000+2000
Solar input (W)18000600+17400
Weight (lb)117824.9+1153.1
Noise (dB)<50<35+15
AC outletsHardwired6
USB-C ports02-2
Warranty (yr)105+5
ChemistryLiFePO4LiFePO4
UPSYes (<10ms)Yes (<10ms)

● marks the better figure where direction is clear. Price is each unit’s usual price.

Read the full verdict →

08 · At its usual price

Cost of ownership

Cycle life is the manufacturer’s rating to 80% capacity; the lifetime figure is that rating times the nameplate capacity.

$0.89

per Wh

at $35,196

$0.15

per lifetime kWh

238,080 kWh over 6,000 cycles

16.4 yr

if cycled daily

58 yr at weekends only

10 yr

warranty

$3,520 per covered year