BLUETTI · EP series
BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500
A 19.8 kWh LiFePO4 station with 15,200 W of output, rated for 6,000 cycles. What it sells for, what it runs, how it fared in 3 written head-to-heads, and what owners report.
19.8 kWh · 15,200 W · 686 lb · 6,000 cycles · 3 head-to-heads
17,551
Power Score · Whole-Home Capable

- 19.8 kWh
- capacity
- 15,200 W
- output
- 686 lb
- weight
- 6,000
- rated cycles
Should you buy it right now?
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 19,840Wh, clears 6 of 6 real-world jobs, wins 2 of 3 matchups.
Verdicts by Gunner Gustafson and the Test Desk·Figures computed 2026
01 · Six real-world jobs
What the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 actually runs
The load profiles every comparison on the site is scored on, computed for this unit alone: energy needed against the usable tank after inverter losses, and whether the inverter holds and starts the biggest single load.
Weekend Camping
Clears it2 nights · Two nights off-grid with essential comfort
2,100Wh needed · 12% of the tank · 14,764Wh spare
Peak 75W: starts and holds
8-Hour Blackout
Clears it8 hours · Keep the essentials running through a night without power
1,645Wh needed · 10% of the tank · 15,219Wh spare
Peak 150W: starts and holds
CPAP Overnight
Clears it8 hours · Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case
320Wh needed · 2% of the tank · 16,544Wh spare
Peak 40W: starts and holds
Remote Workday
Clears it8 hours · Full work day off-grid without power anxiety
910Wh needed · 5% of the tank · 15,954Wh spare
Peak 60W: starts and holds
Tailgate Party
Clears it4 hours · Game day power for the crew
670Wh needed · 4% of the tank · 16,194Wh spare
Peak 400W: starts and holds
Van Life Daily
Clears it24 hours · A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test
4,685Wh needed · 28% of the tank · 12,179Wh spare
Peak 150W: starts and holds
02 · Head-to-head record
2 wins in 3 written matchups
Every matchup is a full verdict scored on the six jobs above plus price, longevity and portability. This is the set shoppers search for, not a random sample.
Win share
2–1
- vs BLUETTI2–1
03 · From the verdicts
Who it is for, and when a rival won instead
Each line is lifted from a written matchup where it decided the verdict, and links to the page it came from. Repeated across many matchups means it is the unit’s signature, not one author’s opinion.
Buy the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 if…
Almost everyone doing whole-home backup on a grid-tied house. 19,840Wh covers every standard outage with room to spare, and you get it for $3,402 less, at 6,000 cycles, with a 10-year warranty and a 10ms transfer, the same 15,200W the EP800 runs, minus the capacity you were not going to use.
The buyer who might grow later. Start here, add two B500 modules when you need them, and you land on a system that matches the EP800's capacity and, on this platform, beats it on output.
Buyers whose entry budget caps at roughly $20,000 and want a complete, expandable whole-home system rather than a smaller-brand compromise.
Homes with continuous loads comfortably under 15,200W that don't need the larger stack's extra power ceiling.
A rival won when…
The off-grid or extended-outage buyer whose house runs entirely off the battery for days at a stretch. This is the only one of the two with 29,760Wh, and if your worst case actually drains a 19,840Wh bank, the extra 9,920Wh is the whole reason to buy, and at $0.81 per nameplate watt-hour it is the cheaper way to get there.
The buyer who wants maximum capacity now and does not want to add batteries later. You will pay $3,402 more and give up cycle life and warranty for it, but you start at the higher storage ceiling.
Buyers who can absorb the extra $7,000 up front and expect to cycle the system daily enough to collect on its better per-kWh rate.
Homes with real continuous-load headroom needs — multiple large appliances running together — where the 2,800W higher ceiling matters.
05 · Voices
What owners and reviewers say
Owner reports are paraphrased from public YouTube comments and each links to its source; reviewer consensus is counted from cited excerpts, never quoted; our own verdicts are quoted. Specs on this page never come from any of them.
Reviewer consensus
3/11 positive excerpts, 4 sources
Prospective buyers express hope but uncertainty about real-world reliability and Bluetti's tech support quality before committing to purchase, rather than reporting post-purchase experience.
diysolarforum.com · ecopowerit.com · lifenhancer.com · bestgeneratorsolar.com · researched 2026-07-15
From the test desk
“The 2*EP900 + 6*B500 costs $27,596 against $20,596 for the 4-battery stack, but the lifetime math flips the intuition: $0.15 per lifetime kWh against $0.17, and $2,760 per warranty-year against $2,060.”
“Buy the 2xEP900 + 4xB500 unless you genuinely need more than 19,840Wh of storage.”
“The 4-battery stack covers the job people buy a whole-home ESS for — every short outage, plus roughly three and a half days of off-grid autonomy — for $14,000 less than the 8, and its 15,200W already clears a fully…”
06 · Where each number comes from
Spec sheet, in four cards
Every field carries its source: green is the manufacturer’s own document, blue was adjudicated after sources disagreed, grey is the catalogue as imported. Then compare it line by line with the units people actually weigh it against.
Battery
19840
Capacity (Wh)
- ChemistryLiFePO4
- Charging Cycles6000
- Battery Expansion FeasibilityYes
Power out
15200
Output (W)
- Surge PeakNot Specified
- AC OutletsHardwired
- 240V OutletsHardwired
- 30A RV Outlets0
- 12V Car Outlets0
- USB-C Ports0
- USB-A Ports0
Charging
18000
Solar Input (W)
- Solar Input TypeMC4
Living with it
686
Weight (lbs)
- Noise Level (db)<50
- UPSYes (<10ms)
- App ControlYes
- Warranty (Years)10
Compare it with
2×EP900 + 4×B500 vs
leads on 2 · trails on 2
| Spec | 2×EP900 + 4×B500 | 2×EP900 + 6×B500 | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usual price | $21,196 ● | $28,196 | $-7,000 |
| Capacity (Wh) | 19840 | 29760 ● | -9920 |
| Output (W) | 15200 | 18000 ● | -2800 |
| Surge (W) | Not Specified | Not Specified | |
| Rated cycles | 6000 | 6000 | 0 |
| Solar input (W) | 18000 | 18000 | 0 |
| Weight (lb) | 686 ● | 932 | -246 |
| Noise (dB) | <50 | <50 | 0 |
| AC outlets | Hardwired | Hardwired | |
| USB-C ports | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Warranty (yr) | 10 | 10 | 0 |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 | |
| UPS | Yes (<10ms) | Yes (<10ms) |
● marks the better figure where direction is clear. Price is each unit’s usual price.
Read the full verdict →07 · BLUETTI EP line
Where it sits in the line
Capacity bars are to scale across the line; prices are each unit’s usual price, not today’s.

EP500
5.1 kWh · $2,999

EP500Pro
5.1 kWh · $3,499

EP800 + 2×B500
9.9 kWh · $6,999

EP900 + 2×B500
9.9 kWh · $10,298

EP800 + 3×B500
14.9 kWh · $6,299

EP900 + 3×B500
14.9 kWh · $13,798

EP800 + 4×B500
19.8 kWh · $7,999

2×EP800 + 4×B500
19.8 kWh · $17,999

EP900 + 4×B500
19.8 kWh · $17,298

2×EP900 + 4×B500
19.8 kWh · $21,196

2×EP800 + 6×B500
29.8 kWh · $23,998

2×EP900 + 6×B500
29.8 kWh · $28,196

2×EP800 + 8×B500
39.7 kWh · $29,998

2×EP900 + 8×B500
39.7 kWh · $35,196
08 · At its usual price
Cost of ownership
Cycle life is the manufacturer’s rating to 80% capacity; the lifetime figure is that rating times the nameplate capacity.
$1.07
per Wh
at $21,196
$0.18
per lifetime kWh
119,040 kWh over 6,000 cycles
16.4 yr
if cycled daily
58 yr at weekends only
10 yr
warranty
$2,120 per covered year