PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500 vs BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500

Both put out the same 15,200W, so the EP800's extra $3,402 buys one thing and one thing only: 9,920Wh of capacity that every scenario short of true off-grid leaves untouched.

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP800 + 6×B500

29,760Wh15,200W976.8 lb

21,649Power Score · Grid-Independent

Check price →

$23,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP900 + 4×B500

19,840Wh15,200W686 lb

17,551Power Score · Whole-Home Capable

Check price →

$21,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 32 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
29,760Wh
19,840Wh
Output
15,200W
matched
15,200W
Weight
976.8 lb
686 lb
Typical price
$23,998
$21,196
Cost / Wh
$0.81
$1.07
Cycle life
3,500
6,000
Solar input
18,000W
matched
18,000W
01

These two put out identical power, 15,200W continuous from either stack, so this is not a strong-inverter-versus-weak-inverter fight. It is a capacity question wearing a price tag. The EP800 build carries 29,760Wh; the EP900 build here carries 19,840Wh.

That 9,920Wh of extra storage is the EP800's whole pitch, and it charges for it: $3,402 more up front, about 290 more pounds on your floor, and a 3,500-cycle rating against the EP900's 6,000. The EP900 stack is cheaper, lighter, longer-lived, faster to switch over at 10ms, and backed by a 10-year warranty the EP800 configuration does not list.

So the entire decision is whether you will use the extra 9,920Wh. Every standard scenario, from camping to a blackout to a remote workday and even the heavy Van Life daily draw, leaves the smaller 19,840Wh stack with the majority of its tank intact. If that is your life, the EP900 wins going away. The EP800 earns its price only when you are off-grid or riding out multi-day whole-home outages that genuinely bottom out a 20-kilowatt-hour bank.

02

What the Numbers Reveal

Each conclusion stated first — the numbers behind it on one line, the full analysis below.

F1

That collapses the usual reason to reach for the EP900: here it is not the more powerful system, it is the equally powerful one. With output tied, the two builds separate only on capacity, price, and lifespan, not on what they can run at once.

2xEP900 + 4xB500 outputs 15,200W, identical to the 2xEP800 + 6xB500on the EP900 platform, output scales with battery count; a lightly-populated pair cannot reach the platform's ceilingB8

Why it mattersDo not pay a mental premium for the EP900 platform expecting more watts in this configuration; you are getting the EP800's 15,200W either way.

F2

Capacity

The extra storage only earns its keep past the edge of these scenarios, genuine off-grid stretches or multi-day whole-home outages, and the EP900 stack costs $3,402 less while covering everything short of that line.

EP800 build holds 29,760Wh; EP900 build holds 19,840Wh, a 9,920Wh gapthe heaviest listed scenario, Van Life Daily, still leaves the 19,840Wh stack with most of its charge

Why it mattersSize to your worst realistic outage: if 19,840Wh clears it, the EP800's headroom is money spent on a margin you will not reach.

F3

rated cycles

The one column the EP800 wins is dollars per nameplate watt-hour, which is really just the discount for buying capacity in bulk; measured per lifetime kilowatt-hour delivered it flips to $0.23 against $0.17, so the cheaper capacity is the pricier energy.

EP900 + 4xB500 lists at $20,596; EP800 + 6xB500 at $23,998EP900 build is rated 6,000 cycles to the EP800's 3,500EP800 is cheaper per nameplate Wh, $0.81, than the EP900 build, $1.03

Why it mattersUnless you specifically need those extra watt-hours, there is no money argument left standing for the EP800; the EP900 stack is cheaper to buy and cheaper to run.

The specific dimensions that decide these two units — everything else is a tie.

Runtime: Will It Power Your Gear?

Selected because: Capacity is the whole matchup: 29,760 versus 19,840Wh, and whether you will ever use the difference.

The only spec that meaningfully separates these two is capacity: 29,760Wh in the EP800 build, 19,840Wh in the EP900 build, a 9,920Wh gap that comes from two extra B500 modules. Everything else the EP800 does, the EP900 stack does too, at the same 15,200W. So the runtime question is narrow and specific: will your loads ever ask for that extra 9,920Wh?

For everyday use the answer is almost always no, because the standard scenarios do not get close. The gap matters at the extremes: true off-grid living, or a multi-day outage where the house runs entirely off the battery for two or three days straight. If that is the plan, the EP800's headroom is real and worth buying. If your worst case is an overnight or a day without grid, you are paying for autonomy you will not reach.

Lifetime Value

Selected because: The EP900 stack is cheaper to buy and cheaper to own; the EP800 wins only per nameplate Wh.

cost / lifetime kWh

Here is the unusual part: the cheaper stack is also the one that lasts longer. The EP900 build lists at $20,596 to the EP800's $23,998, and it is rated for 6,000 cycles against 3,500. Run those together and it delivers energy at $0.17 per lifetime kilowatt-hour where the EP800 sits at $0.23. Lower price, longer life, cheaper energy, all three on the same side.

The EP800 wins exactly one money column: $0.81 per nameplate watt-hour against $1.03, because buying six batteries instead of four spreads the inverter cost over more storage. That is a real discount if capacity is what you are after. It is not a discount on the energy you will actually cycle, which is the number that follows you for a decade.

PowerScore Breakdown

Selected because: Output is tied at 15,200W here; dispel the EP900-equals-more-power assumption.

overall power score

The EP800 build scores higher here, 23,564 to 19,478, but read what that gap is measuring before you lean on it. It is almost entirely capacity; the two are tied on output at 15,200W. The EP900 platform can reach higher, yet only with a full battery bank behind it, so at four modules it makes exactly the EP800's powerB8.

So the higher PowerScore is not telling you the EP800 runs more at once; it cannot, they are even there. It is restating the extra 9,920Wh in a single number. Useful if capacity is your axis, irrelevant to what either can power simultaneously.

Growth Path

Selected because: Both expand, but the EP900+4 has the more attractive path: add two batteries to match capacity and unlock more output.

Both stacks take more BLUETTI batteries, so both can grow, but the EP900 build starts with the more interesting runway. Add two B500 modules to the EP900+4 and you do not just reach the EP800's 29,760Wh; on this platform a fuller battery bank also lifts the output ceiling, so you would land on a system that matches the EP800 on capacity and beats it on power.

The EP800 can expand too, from an already-higher 29,760Wh base. But if there is any real chance you will want to grow, buying the EP900+4 first and adding batteries later is the path that ends somewhere better than where the EP800 starts.

What the Specs Don't Tell You

Selected because: Weight gap is real now, about 290 lb, plus noise disclosure, UPS, and cycle life.

rated cycles

The weight flag means something different here than in most matchups, because the two are not close: 976.8 pounds for the EP800 stack against 686 for the EP900+4, a difference of about 290 pounds. That is the two extra batteries. Neither is portable, but the EP800 is meaningfully more system to site, support, and ventilate.

The rest of the flags favor the EP900 build quietly. It publishes a 50 dB noise figure where the EP800 configuration lists none, and its 10ms line-interactive transfer is the better UPS topology against the EP800's 20ms standby. On cycle life, the 6,000-versus-3,500 rating is the same longevity story the value section already told, worth knowing, already priced into the verdict.

Strengths & trade-offs

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity

Trade-offs

  • Significantly heavier (+290.8 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
  • Shorter-lived battery — rated for 3,500 charge cycles vs the 2×EP900 + 4×B500's 6,000, so it wears out sooner.

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500

Strengths

  • +Costs $2,802 less
  • +Lighter by 290.8 lb
  • +Longer warranty
  • +Rated for 6,000 charge cycles — much longer battery lifespan

Trade-offs

  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Either unit

Both ride out a blackout this length without strain, using only a small slice of either bank. Since neither is remotely stressed, the tiebreak moves to the things around the energy: the EP900 build catches the outage in 10ms to the EP800's 20ms, carries a 10-year warranty, and costs less. Unless the outage is going to run for days, the smaller stack is the easy call here.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but 2×EP800 + 6×B500 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain, and their USB-C output is a wash — pick on weight, ports, or price.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

This is the heaviest daily draw on the list, and even here the smaller EP900 + 4xB500 stack ends the day with most of its 19,840Wh still in reserve. That is the point of the whole comparison in one scenario: if this is your everyday load, the EP800's extra capacity never gets touched, and the cheaper, longer-lived EP900 build covers you with room to spare. Capacity only becomes the deciding factor past loads like this, run for days without a recharge.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP800 + 6×B500123.4h
6% of usable battery in 8h
2×EP900 + 4×B50082.3h
10% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: 2×EP800 + 6×B500 runs 123.4h vs 82.3h.

Check 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price →

$23,998 list · direct from BLUETTI

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–1686.4h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 4×B500
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 632.4h79 full nights
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 421.6h52 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 1686.4h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 1124.3h
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 1264.8h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 843.2h
Starlink75W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 337.3h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 224.9h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 632.4h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 421.6h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 421.6h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 281.1h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–337.3h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 4×B500
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 337.3h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 224.9h
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 316.2h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 210.8h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 168.6h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 112.4h
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 126.5h15 full nights
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 84.3h10 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–25.3h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 4×B500
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 25.3h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 16.9h
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 21.1h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 14.1h
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 16.9h
2×EP900 + 4×B500: 11.2h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 18, 2026

Verdict: the 2×EP900 + 4×B500

Buy the 2xEP900 + 4xB500 unless you genuinely need more than 19,840Wh of storage. It matches the EP800 build's 15,200W output exactly, costs $3,402 less, is rated for 6,000 cycles against 3,500, weighs about 290 pounds less, switches over in 10ms instead of 20, and carries a 10-year warranty where the EP800 configuration lists none, and it comes out cheaper to own at $0.17 per lifetime kilowatt-hour versus $0.23. The EP800's only advantage is 9,920Wh more capacity and a better price per nameplate watt-hour, $0.81 against $1.03, which matters solely if your worst-case outage actually drains a 19,840Wh bank. Field evidence for either exact stack is thin, so this rests on platform specs and split-phase install experience, not long-run owner mileageA5B1.

Cost to own2×EP900 + 4×B500$0.18 vs $0.23 /lifetime-kWh
Cycle life2×EP900 + 4×B5006,000 vs 3,500 cycles
Sticker price2×EP900 + 4×B500$21,196 vs $23,998
Portability2×EP900 + 4×B500686 vs 976.8 lb
■■■■■■□□□□6/10

Editor-assigned confidence, based on cited owner research and spec analysis.

List prices as of July 18, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check 2×EP900 + 4×B500 price

$21,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 32 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price$23,998.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 18, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 4×B500
Overall Power Score
21,649
17,551
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
22,348
17,900
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
19,729
16,530

Full specifications

2×EP800 + 6×B500
$23,998
See live price →
2×EP900 + 4×B500
$21,196★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
29760
19840
Output (W)
15200
15200
Surge Peak
Not Specified
Not Specified
AC Outlets
Hardwired (120/240V)
Hardwired
USB-C Charging Outputs
0
N/A
Solar Input (W)
18000
18000

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews — see Sources & Research Notes below.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP800 + 6×B500 rates 4.6/5 (75th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and 2×EP900 + 4×B500 rates 4.6/5 (79th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Two extra batteries, about 290 more pounds

The EP800 + 6xB500 stack weighs roughly 976.8 pounds to the EP900 + 4xB500's 686, and the gap is the two additional B500 modules, around 290 pounds. Neither travels once it is installed, but the EP800 is a noticeably larger thing to site and support. If floor loading or install space is tight, the lighter stack is easier to place.

[NOTE]

2×EP900 + 4×B500: 50dB Under Load

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 publishes no figure to compare it against, which cuts both ways. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤10ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The 2×EP900 + 4×B500 is rated ≤10ms — quick enough on paper that desktop PCs and routers should ride through, treating that as the rating it is. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

The cheaper stack is also the longer-lived one

The EP900 build is rated for 6,000 cycles against the EP800's 3,500, and it is the less expensive of the two. That is an unusual pairing; normally you pay more for longevity. Here the extra money buys capacity, not lifespan, so if you do not need the capacity you are paying more for a shorter-lived system.

[CAUTION]

Only the EP900 build states a noise level

BLUETTI rates the EP900 + 4xB500 at 50 dB under load; the EP800 configuration lists no figure here. It is not proof the EP800 is louder, just unmeasured in our data, but if the system lives anywhere near occupied space, having the number beats inferring it. The EP900 build at least tells you what to expect.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the 2×EP900 + 4×B500.

Check 2×EP900 + 4×B500 price →or check the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 4×B500

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

2×EP800 + 6×B500
2×EP900 + 4×B500
Purchase price
$23,998.00
$21,196.00
Lifetime energy delivered
104,160 kWh
119,040 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.23
$0.18
Cost per warranty year
$∞/yr
$2,120/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
16.4yr daily · 57.7yr weekend · 115.4yr weekly

Analyst note

The 2×EP900 + 4×B500 wins on both sticker price and long-term value. At $0.18/kWh over its lifetime, it's meaningfully cheaper to own. Clear value winner.

Growth path

2×EP800 + 6×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 29,760Wh.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP900 + 4×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 19,840Wh.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 4×B500

Analyst note

Both expand, so neither locks you out of growth — decide on capacity, price, and the rest, not the expansion checkbox.

06

What Owners Report

Patterns from published owner reports and long-term reviews — every claim cited to its source below.

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

The same caveat holds as anywhere for this build: no one has published an owner account of a dual-EP800 install, so this is platform-level evidence about the single EP800 and its B500 batteries, not this exact stack. The structural worry owners raise first is lock-in, because the batteries are proprietary to the inverter head, so if that head dies the entire bank is stranded, unusable with anything elseA4. On a bank this size, that is a lot of storage riding on one point of failure.

Setup friction shows up too. One owner wiring the CT clamps for load monitoring had them placed correctly yet still could not get the app to show home consumptionA6, the kind of commissioning snag that turns into a support ticket, and BLUETTI's support reputation is exactly what platform shoppers flag as the question mark, alongside a general sense that its marketing undersells how much house these really powerA3A5. For fan noise and idle draw on the EP800 itself, there is still no field data to cite.

Haven't run accross any tests on this yet, but given the Bluetti marketing proclivity of over simplifying what it takes and how much energy it takes to power a house I have some doubts.
DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread, 2024-06

Sources

solarquotes.com.au

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500

Genuine long-run reports on a dual-EP900 build are just as thin, and most of what exists is pre-purchase deliberation rather than lived experience. The recurring pre-buy tension is trust: owners call it a dream on paper while openly wondering how BLUETTI's tech support will hold upB1, though at least one reports a firmware issue on a sibling unit resolved by email in under a dayB2. The battery cabling earns specific approval, finally a connector system that is not a bulky cable sticking out a foot, even from a commenter who is generally wary of proprietary connectorsB3B4.

The skepticism clusters around the environment. Forum owners doubt the outdoor-enclosure story, warning that in desert heat or a stretch of sub-freezing, solar-less days they would not trust it installed outsideB5B7, and they wonder how much the system draws just idlingB6. And a practical note that cuts toward this comparison: BLUETTI's own materials confirm output on this platform scales with battery count, so a lightly-populated EP900 pair tops out lower than a fully-loaded oneB8, the exact reason this four-battery build lands at 15,200W.

on paper it's a dream but who knows with Bluetti tech support?
diysolarforum.com — 'Bluetti EP900' thread, 2023-04

Sources

diysolarforum.com · ecopowerit.com · lifenhancer.com · bestgeneratorsolar.com

Sources & Research Notes

Every owner claim in this report is traceable to a published source. The bracketed references above resolve here.

Recurring owner themes

  • Prospective buyers on DIY/solar forums consistently cite the EP800's price premium as the main barrier, even while acknowledging it's a strong product — a bigger spend still in a dual-inverter whole-home build. [2×EP800 + 6×B500 · 2 entries]
  • Forum members weighing a purchase voice skepticism about Bluetti's support reputation and the risk of proprietary battery lock-in if an inverter head unit ever fails. [2×EP800 + 6×B500 · 2 entries]
  • Prospective buyers express hope but uncertainty about real-world reliability and Bluetti's tech support quality before committing to purchase, rather than reporting post-purchase experience. [2×EP900 + 4×B500 · 2 entries]
  • Forum commenters are skeptical of Bluetti's outdoor-enclosure marketing claims, citing concerns about extreme heat/cold performance and self-consumption/idle drain that go unaddressed by the company. [2×EP900 + 4×B500 · 3 entries]
  • The system's heavy weight (97 lbs per EP900 unit) is repeatedly noted as making it effectively a professionally-installed, non-portable fixture rather than a movable power station. [2×EP900 + 4×B500 · 2 entries]
  • A3

    Reputation for support is not great.

    DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread · 2024-06 · [negative]

  • A4

    If the inverter fails, the batteries are unusable with any other Inverter.

    DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread · 2024-06 · [negative]

  • A5

    Haven't run accross any tests on this yet, but given the Bluetti marketing proclivity of over simplifying what it takes and how much energy it takes to power a house I have some doubts.

    DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread · 2024-06 · [mixed]

  • A6

    CT clamp was placed on L1 with the arrow pointing towards the grid, but the system did not show home consumption in the app.

    BLUETTI Community forum — EP800 CT clamp / load-monitoring thread · unknown · [negative]

  • B1

    on paper it's a dream but who knows with Bluetti tech support?

    diysolarforum.com — 'Bluetti EP900' thread · 2023-04 · [mixed]

  • B2

    Their email support is also very responsive, and last time it took less than 24 hours to resolve a firmware issue with my AC500.

    diysolarforum.com — 'Bluetti EP900' thread · 2023-04 · [positive]

  • B3

    Nice that Bluetti finally came up with a battery cable system between it's batteries that isn't a giant bulky obtrusive cable sticking a foot out. Well done.

    diysolarforum.com — 'Bluetti EP900 to Power your House' thread · 2023-04 · [positive]

  • B4

    Though I'm generally not for proprietary connectors.

    diysolarforum.com — 'Bluetti EP900 to Power your House' thread · 2023-04 · [negative]

  • B5

    Sunshine on it, it'll get hot. 110-118f las vegas or CA desert temps, good luck.

    diysolarforum.com — 'Bluetti EP900 to Power your House' thread · 2023-04 · [negative]

  • B6

    Imho, Bluetti marketing is quite unrealistic. I wonder what the units consume themselves.

    diysolarforum.com — 'Bluetti EP900 to Power your House' thread · 2023-04 · [negative]

  • B7

    It may have temperature protections, or even internal heat, but if you need to use it in real heat, or real cold for a string of near solar-less winter days I wouldn't count on it if it's installed outside.

    diysolarforum.com — 'Bluetti EP900 to Power your House' thread · 2023-04 · [negative]

  • B8

    Please note that when you combine 1 EP900 and 2 B500 units, the system can only provide a maximum of 7.6kW of power.

    ecopowerit.com — BLUETTI product FAQ page · unknown · [mixed]

Research compiled July 18, 2026.

07

Who Should Buy Which

Buy the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 if you…

  • The off-grid or extended-outage buyer whose house runs entirely off the battery for days at a stretch. This is the only one of the two with 29,760Wh, and if your worst case actually drains a 19,840Wh bank, the extra 9,920Wh is the whole reason to buy, and at $0.81 per nameplate watt-hour it is the cheaper way to get there.
  • The buyer who wants maximum capacity now and does not want to add batteries later. You will pay $3,402 more and give up cycle life and warranty for it, but you start at the higher storage ceiling.

This is you — check the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price

Buy the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 if you…

  • Almost everyone doing whole-home backup on a grid-tied house. 19,840Wh covers every standard outage with room to spare, and you get it for $3,402 less, at 6,000 cycles, with a 10-year warranty and a 10ms transfer, the same 15,200W the EP800 runs, minus the capacity you were not going to use.
  • The buyer who might grow later. Start here, add two B500 modules when you need them, and you land on a system that matches the EP800's capacity and, on this platform, beats it on output.

This is you — check the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 price

If neither fits

If your actual need is a fridge and a few circuits through the occasional storm, both of these are far more system than the job requires. You would be buying a five-figure, half-ton whole-home stack to cover a load a single portable handles. Get a 2 to 5kWh unit, save the difference, and come back to a dual-inverter build like this only when you are backing the whole house off-grid.

08

The Bottom Line

Take the 2xEP900 + 4xB500 unless you specifically need more than 19,840Wh. It runs the same 15,200W as the EP800 stack, costs $3,402 less, lasts 6,000 cycles to 3,500, weighs about 290 pounds less, and comes out cheaper to own at $0.17 per lifetime kilowatt-hour against $0.23. With output tied, the EP800's only real card is 9,920Wh of extra capacity, and every everyday scenario leaves the smaller bank mostly full.

That capacity does matter at the edges. If you are off-grid, or backing a whole house through multi-day outages that actually bottom out a 20-kilowatt-hour bank, the EP800's headroom is worth its price, and you buy those watt-hours more cheaply per nameplate unit. For everyone else, the EP900 stack is cheaper coming and going, and it does not ask you to carry capacity you will never spend.

09

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Should I get more batteries (EP800 + 6xB500) or the longer-lived EP900 + 4xB500?

Match it to your worst-case outage. The EP900 + 4xB500 holds 19,840Wh, costs $3,402 less, lasts 6,000 cycles to the EP800's 3,500, and puts out the same 15,200W, so if 19,840Wh covers your outages it is the better buy on nearly every axis. Choose the EP800 + 6xB500 only if you are off-grid or need to ride out multi-day outages that genuinely drain a 20-kilowatt-hour bank.

Do the EP800 and EP900 configurations put out the same power?

In this matchup, yes, both deliver 15,200W continuous. The EP900 platform can go higher, but only with a full battery bank; at four B500 modules it makes the same power as the six-battery EP800 build. If you want the EP900's higher output ceiling, you need to fill more battery slots, which also raises the price and the capacity.

Is the EP800 stack's extra capacity worth $3,402?

Only if you will use it. The EP800 build adds 9,920Wh over the EP900 + 4xB500, enough to matter for genuine off-grid use or a multi-day whole-home outage. For everyday backup, none of the standard scenarios come close to draining the smaller 19,840Wh bank, so the extra capacity sits unused while you have paid $3,402 more and taken on about 290 extra pounds and a shorter cycle rating.

How much do these weigh, and can one person move them?

No, these are professionally installed fixtures. The EP800 + 6xB500 stack runs about 976.8 pounds and the EP900 + 4xB500 about 686, so the difference between them, roughly 290 pounds, is itself two people's worth of lifting. They wire into your electrical panel and stay put; plan a permanent, ventilated location rather than a spot in the garage you can shuffle around.

Check 2×EP900 + 4×B500 price →

Where to buy

2×EP800 + 6×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

$23,998.00

Check current price

$23,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

2×EP900 + 4×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500Pick

$21,196.00

Check current price

$21,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 32 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.