PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

DJI Power 2000 vs Goal Zero Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: DJI Power 2000 → · Goal Zero Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) →

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)

Spec deltas

Capacity
2,048Wh
7,988Wh
Output
3,000W
3,600W
Weight
48.5 lb
196 lb
Typical price
$1,299
$5,999
Cost / Wh
$0.63
$0.75
Cycle life
4,000
matched
4,000
Solar input
1,800W
3,000W
01

The DJI Power 2000 (2,048Wh) and Goal Zero Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) (7,988Wh) sit in different weight classes. The real question: do your power needs justify the larger unit, or would you be overpaying for capacity that sits unused? The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) has a slight edge, but the margin is close enough that your use case should break the tie.

What the spec gap means in practice: the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s 3,600W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The Power 2000's 3,000W inverter still runs most single appliances; the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) keeps a fridge alive for roughly 45 hours vs the Power 2000's 12 hours. The cost? Portability. At 196 lbs, the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) is spread across boxes you site once and leave. The Power 2000 at 48.5 lbs is something one person can actually carry.

Pick the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) if your primary use is 8-hour blackout or remote workday. Go with the Power 2000 if you primarily need it for tailgate party. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the Power 2000 works out to about $0.16/kWh against the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s $0.19, a gap that compounds in the Power 2000's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

DJI Power 2000

With a massive 3,000W output, the Power 2000 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping.

Strengths

  • +Costs $4,700 less
  • +Lighter by 147.5 lb

Trade-offs

  • –Weaker inverter (-600W) limits appliance compatibility.

Goal Zero Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)

With a massive 3,600W output (and 7,200W surge), the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 196 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • –Substantially more expensive (+$4,700) than the Power 2000.
  • –Significantly heavier (+147.5 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • –Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered weekend: the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) has the energy but doesn't travel, and the Power 2000 covers about 83% of the 2,100Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

Camping power station guide →

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)

Both survive the night. The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) finishes at 24% used with 5,145Wh left — 3.1 more nights like it. The Power 2000 finishes at 94% with 96Wh, 6% of a second night. If your outages tend to run past one evening, that difference is the whole argument between them.

Emergency blackout power guide →

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both of these cover the night several times over — capacity isn't the question here. What would separate them is fan noise, but Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)

The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) clears the workday at 13% used, banking 5,880Wh — late work, extra calls, or a second laptop charge without arithmetic. The Power 2000 at 52% also finishes, with 831Wh of slack for the unplanned.

UPS & desk backup guide →

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Power 2000

The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) at 196 lbs is not a take-along — it rolls off a truck bed if it travels at all, so this scenario belongs to the Power 2000 by default — and it earns it, covering the 670Wh with 1,071Wh to spare. Capacity was never the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s problem here; getting to a tailgate was.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)

The Power 2000 doesn't finish — 1,741Wh usable against the 4,685Wh this needs leaves it 2,944Wh short, about 37% of the scenario covered. The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) covers it with 2,105Wh to spare.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

Power 20008.5h
94% of usable battery in 8h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)33.1h
24% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) runs 33.1h vs 8.5h.

Planning for more than this? Describe your whole setup and get it sized →

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–452.7h
AppliancePower 2000Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)
CPAP Machine40W draw
Power 2000: 43.5h5 full nights
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 169.7h21 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
Power 2000: 116.1h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 452.7h
Router + Modem20W draw
Power 2000: 87h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 339.5h
Starlink75W draw
Power 2000: 23.2h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 90.5h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
Power 2000: 43.5h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 169.7h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
Power 2000: 29h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 113.2h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–90.5h
AppliancePower 2000Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)
Box Fan75W draw
Power 2000: 23.2h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 90.5h
LED TV (55")80W draw
Power 2000: 21.8h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 84.9h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
Power 2000: 11.6h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 45.3h
Electric Blanket200W draw
Power 2000: 8.7h1 full night
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 33.9h4 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–6.8h
AppliancePower 2000Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)
Coffee Maker1000W draw
Power 2000: 1.7h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 6.8h
Microwave1200W draw
Power 2000: 1.5h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 5.7h
Space Heater1500W draw
Power 2000: 1.2h
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 4.5h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000), on Power Score margin

These two units are closely matched on individual specs, but our Power Score analysis gives the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) the edge with a composite score of 6,834 vs 4,008.

Overall score margin: 4,008 vs 6,834 (−70.5%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open DJI's and Goal Zero's current prices.

Check Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) price

$5,998.95 · direct from Goal Zero

Last checked 28 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the Power 2000 price$1,299.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

Black Friday · 26 days out

Prices to beat:Power 2000 $1,299Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) $5,999

We have never seen either discounted, so any real cut would be a first.

Black Friday deals →
04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

Power 2000Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)
Overall Power Score
4,008
6,834
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
4,139
7,107
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
3,866
6,407

Not rated for both units (minimum threshold unmet): UPS, RV Living, CPAP, Solar Generator, Tailgating, Apartment Balcony, Camping.

Full specifications

Power 2000
$1,299
See live price →
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)
$5,998.95★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
2048
7988
Output (W)
3000
3600
Surge Peak
Not Specified
7200W
AC Outlets
3
4
240V Outlets
0
0
30A RV Outlets
1
1

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, Power 2000 rates 4.3/5 (62nd percentile of 27 Large-class units), and Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) rates 3.4/5 (4th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): 196 lbs Is a Commitment

At 196 lbs across its boxes, no one piece is the whole problem — but this is hardware you site, not hardware you carry. Once it's set up, you won't want to move it. It's a semi-permanent appliance. Pick your spot.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤10ms vs ≤15ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The Power 2000 is rated ≤10ms — quick enough on paper that desktop PCs and routers should ride through, treating that as the rating it is. The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) is rated ≤15ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

Warranty: No Difference

Both units carry the same 5-year warranty, so coverage isn't a tiebreaker here. The Power 2000's figure is a maximum rather than a guarantee — it depends on buying from DJI's own store, which is where the full five years is advertised. Worth saying because the per-dollar framing can suggest otherwise: the Power 2000 works out at 3.8 years of cover per $1,000 spent against the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s 0.8, but that spread is the price gap, not the terms.

[NOTE]

Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000): Noise Level Not Disclosed

The Power 2000 publishes its noise level (30dB); the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the Power 2000's 30dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000).

Check Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) price →or check the Power 2000 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

Power 2000Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

Power 2000
Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)
Purchase price
$1,299.00
$5,998.95
Lifetime energy delivered
8,192 kWh
31,952 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.16
$0.19
Cost per warranty year
$260/yr
$1,200/yr
Battery lifespan
11yr daily · 38.5yr weekends · 76.9yr weekly
11yr daily · 38.5yr weekends · 76.9yr weekly

Analyst note

Both units have similar long-term ownership costs ($0.16/kWh vs $0.19/kWh). The price difference is what you see on the sticker — neither is a hidden bargain or rip-off. One thing to know reading the table: both carry the same 4,000-cycle rating, so the lifetime rows are sticker price and capacity in disguise — the wear horizon is identical and decides nothing here.

Brand trust

DJI

Ecosystem

New entrant (2024) — five power station models to date: Power 500, Power 1000 (since superseded by the V2 but still sold), Power 1000 V2, Power 1000 Mini, Power 2000. Buying a "Power 1000" listing? Check which revision it actually ships.

Support

Leveraging DJI's established global support and repair center network from the drone business. Generally positive reputation inherited from drone operations, but limited power-station-specific track record.

Community

No dedicated power station community yet. Discussions happen within r/dji (~250K members, mostly drone users). Very small power-specific presence on Facebook and forums.

App experience

Rated 3.5/5 iOS and Android (DJI Home app ratings reflect entire DJI ecosystem including drones/cameras, not power-station-specific). Users report the on-device screen is more reliable than the app.

Unique strength

Runs quiet — 23-30dB published on most of the range (manufacturer best-case figures), at the quiet end of the category; our record carries no figure for the Power 1000 V2. Fast wall charging, quickest on the Power 1000 V2 at ~56 min — that figure is the V2's, not the whole line's. 700+ battery patents from drone R&D. SDC ports for ultra-fast DJI drone charging. Premium industrial design and build quality. LFP batteries rated for 4,000+ cycles.

Worth knowing

A recent entrant to power stations, arriving long after the established players, so there is less long-term field data than for EcoFlow, Jackery or BLUETTI — though DJI brings a deep hardware track record from drones. No built-in solar charge controller (requires a separate proprietary adapter). SDC ports are proprietary to the DJI ecosystem, so their fast-charging advantage mostly benefits people who already own DJI gear. Battery expansion is available on the newer Power 2000 and Power 1000 V2, but not on the earlier Power 1000 or Power 500 — check the specific model.

All DJI power stations tested →

Goal Zero

Ecosystem

Focused — a compact current line (6th-gen Yeti and Yeti Pro series), the previous-gen X series now out of stock across every model on Goal Zero's own store (checked 2026-09-13: 200X, 500X, 1000X, 1500X, 3000X, 6000X, some listed only as open-box), so buying one new means finding retailer stock, Sherpa power banks for the under-100Wh tier, plus Alta coolers, Nomad/Ranger solar panels, and vehicle integration kits

Support

US-based company (Salt Lake City, owned by NRG Energy). Historically considered premium support, but 2025-2026 reports describe long wait times, unresponsive email communication, and tickets going unaddressed for weeks. The "premium support justifies premium pricing" argument is weakening.

Community

Small but loyal — strong following in overlanding and preparedness communities. Official community forums were recently shuttered, frustrating long-time users.

App experience

Rated 4.4/5 iOS (~1,200 ratings) but recent reviews skew negative — recurring connectivity issues, crashes, and stability problems.

Unique strength

Pioneer of the portable power market — strongest brand heritage. US-based company with ruggedized, weather-resistant designs (IP ratings vary by model). Integrated "Yeti-Ready" ecosystem with coolers, lights, and vehicle kits.

Worth knowing

Typically the priciest brand per watt-hour — though individual pairings vary, and on some pages the Yeti is the cheaper energy. Support quality has declined from its "premium" standard. Perceived as competitively stagnant vs. faster-innovating Chinese competitors. Reliability reports on newer models are concerning.

All Goal Zero power stations tested →

Analyst note

DJI and Goal Zero are close competitors. Both have established support channels and growing ecosystems. Compare their specific warranty terms and community size for your peace of mind.

Growth path

Power 2000

EXPANDABLE

Supports DJI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 2,048Wh.

Accepts up to 1,800W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Generous port selection supports complex multi-device setups.

Expansion batteries are DJI-specific. You're investing in the DJI ecosystem.

Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)

EXPANDABLE

Supports Goal Zero expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 7,988Wh.

Accepts up to 3,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Generous port selection supports complex multi-device setups.

Expansion batteries are Goal Zero-specific. You're investing in the Goal Zero ecosystem.

Power 2000Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)

Analyst note

Both expand, but the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s higher solar ceiling (3,000W vs 1,800W) gives it the stronger off-grid growth path — more panels can feed a bigger bank as it grows.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the Power 2000 wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the Power 2000 nor the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both DJI and Goal Zero discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) worth $4,700 more than the Power 2000?

The short answer: yes, if you'll actually use the extra capability. The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) costs $4,700 more, but that premium buys you 5,940Wh more battery capacity (that's 34 extra hours of running a mini-fridge); 600W higher AC output (opening the door to more demanding appliances); 1,200W faster solar charging for quicker off-grid recovery. On a cost-per-watt-hour basis, you're paying $0.75/Wh vs $0.63/Wh. For regular use, we'd pay the premium.

How does the 5,940Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s 7,988Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 45 hours vs the Power 2000's 12 hours. Both can handle a full 8-hour blackout setup (fridge + router + lights + phone charging ≈ 1,645Wh), but the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) finishes with significantly more margin. That matters if conditions aren't ideal or the outage runs long. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000), or is the Power 2000 the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The Power 2000 (48.5 lbs) and the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) (196 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 147.5-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) accepts 3,000W vs the Power 2000's 1,800W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 3.8 hours for the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) and 1.6 hours for the Power 2000. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)'s advantage is substantial.

Is DJI or Goal Zero more reliable for long-term ownership?

Both brands have strengths and trade-offs. DJI: 3-5 years depending on model. DJI has a reasonable track record from drone products. Too early for comprehensive power station warranty data. Goal Zero: 5 years on LFP models, 2 years on older NMC models. Battery must be charged within 7 days of purchase and every 6 months to maintain warranty (strict). Product reliability concerns have increased — repeat "Battery Fault" errors reported even on newer Yeti Pro 4000. One piece of advice from the power station community: regardless of brand, buy from Costco or Amazon. Their return policies provide a safety net that manufacturer warranties alone can't match, especially for a product you'll rely on in emergencies. Both brands use LFP (lithium iron phosphate) batteries in their current lineup, the most proven chemistry for longevity and safety.

Bottom line: should I buy the Power 2000 or the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)?

We'd pay the premium for the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000). Yes, it costs more. The capability jump is real: you're stepping into a tier that handles appliances the base model can't start. The Power 2000 is still solid if budget is the priority, but the Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) will leave you less likely to wish you'd "gone bigger" six months from now. That regret costs more than the price difference.

Check Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000) price →

Where to buy

Power 2000

DJI Power 2000

$1,299.00

Check current price

$1,299.00 · direct from DJI

Last checked 28 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)

Goal Zero Yeti PRO 4000 + Tank PRO 4000 (Yeti PRO 8000)Pick

$5,998.95

Check current price

$5,998.95 · direct from Goal Zero

Last checked 28 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.