PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

DJI Power 2000 vs Jackery Explorer 3000 v2

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
DJI Power 2000 Portable Power Station

DJI

Power 2000

2,048Wh3,000W48.5 lb

4,017Power Score · Appliance Class

Check current price

$1,299.00 · direct from DJI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Jackery Explorer 3000 v2 Portable Power Station

Jackery

Explorer 3000 v2

3,072Wh3,600W59.5 lb

4,202Power Score · Appliance Class

Check current price

$2,499.00 · direct from Jackery

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
2,048Wh
3,072Wh
Output
3,000W
3,600W
Weight
48.5 lb
59.5 lb
Typical price
$1,299
$2,499
Cost / Wh
$0.63
$0.81
Cycle life
4,000
matched
4,000
Solar input
1,800W
1,000W
01

The DJI Power 2000 (2,048Wh) and Jackery Explorer 3000 v2 (3,072Wh) sit in different weight classes. The real question: do your power needs justify the larger unit, or would you be overpaying for capacity that sits unused? Neither unit pulls ahead clearly. That means your specific use case decides this one.

What the spec gap means in practice: the Explorer 3000 v2's 3,600W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The Power 2000's 3,000W inverter still runs most single appliances; the Explorer 3000 v2's real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the Explorer 3000 v2 keeps a fridge alive for roughly 17 hours vs the Power 2000's 12 hours.

Both handle weekend camping, tailgating, and emergency preparedness. Your call is whether saving $1,200 (Power 2000) matters more than the Explorer 3000 v2's specific advantages. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the Power 2000 works out to about $0.16/kWh against the Explorer 3000 v2's $0.2, a gap that compounds in the Power 2000's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

DJI Power 2000

With a massive 3,000W output (and 0W surge), the Power 2000 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping.

Strengths

  • +Costs $1,200 less
  • +Lighter by 11 lb
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • Weaker inverter (-600W) limits appliance compatibility.

Jackery Explorer 3000 v2

With a massive 3,600W output (and 7,200W surge), the Explorer 3000 v2 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 59.5 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output

Trade-offs

  • Substantially more expensive (+$1,200) than the Power 2000.
  • Significantly heavier (+11 lbs), making it harder to move.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Explorer 3000 v2

The Power 2000 doesn't finish — 1,741Wh usable against the 2,100Wh this needs leaves it 359Wh short, about 83% of the scenario covered. The Explorer 3000 v2 covers it with 511Wh to spare.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Explorer 3000 v2

Both survive the night. The Explorer 3000 v2 finishes at 63% used with 966Wh left — 59% of a second night. The Power 2000 finishes at 94% with 96Wh, 6% of a second night. If your outages tend to run past one evening, that difference is the whole argument between them.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but Explorer 3000 v2 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Explorer 3000 v2

The Explorer 3000 v2 clears the workday at 35% used, banking 1,701Wh — late work, extra calls, or a second laptop charge without arithmetic. The Power 2000 at 52% also finishes, with 831Wh of slack for the unplanned.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Explorer 3000 v2

Both handle game day; the Explorer 3000 v2 keeps more in reserve (26% used vs 38%). Tailgating is a light load, though, so the number you'll feel is weight: 48.5 lbs for the Power 2000 against 59.5 lbs for the Explorer 3000 v2, from the trunk to the setup spot.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Neither unit covers this scenario's 4,685Wh: the Power 2000 comes up 2,944Wh short (about 37% covered), the Explorer 3000 v2 2,074Wh (56%). Treat this as partial cover — enough for the essentials in it, not the whole list.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

Power 20008.5h
94% of usable battery in 8h
Explorer 3000 v212.7h
63% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: Explorer 3000 v2 runs 12.7h vs 8.5h.

Check Explorer 3000 v2 price →

$2,499 list · direct from Jackery

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–174.1h
AppliancePower 2000Explorer 3000 v2
CPAP Machine40W draw
Power 2000: 43.5h5 full nights
Explorer 3000 v2: 65.3h8 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
Power 2000: 116.1h
Explorer 3000 v2: 174.1h
Router + Modem20W draw
Power 2000: 87h
Explorer 3000 v2: 130.6h
Starlink75W draw
Power 2000: 23.2h
Explorer 3000 v2: 34.8h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
Power 2000: 43.5h
Explorer 3000 v2: 65.3h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
Power 2000: 29h
Explorer 3000 v2: 43.5h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–34.8h
AppliancePower 2000Explorer 3000 v2
Box Fan75W draw
Power 2000: 23.2h
Explorer 3000 v2: 34.8h
LED TV (55")80W draw
Power 2000: 21.8h
Explorer 3000 v2: 32.6h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
Power 2000: 11.6h
Explorer 3000 v2: 17.4h
Electric Blanket200W draw
Power 2000: 8.7h1 full night
Explorer 3000 v2: 13.1h1 full night

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–2.6h
AppliancePower 2000Explorer 3000 v2
Coffee Maker1000W draw
Power 2000: 1.7h
Explorer 3000 v2: 2.6h
Microwave1200W draw
Power 2000: 1.5h
Explorer 3000 v2: 2.2h
Space Heater1500W draw
Power 2000: 1.2h
Explorer 3000 v2: 1.7h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: evenly matched

These two units are evenly matched. The Power 2000 is lighter by 11 lbs, while the price difference is only $1,200. Your choice comes down to brand preference mostly.

Overall score margin: 4,017 vs 4,202 (−4.6%)

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

Power 2000Explorer 3000 v2
Overall Power Score
4,017
4,202
UPSResponse & Reliability
3,912
3,238
RV LivingEnergy Density & Output
3,920
4,046
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
4,145
4,146
Solar GeneratorSolar Input & Efficiency
3,690
3,563
TailgatingOutlets & Portability
3,243
3,485
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
3,896
4,154
Apartment BalconyCompact Solar Living
3,664
3,495

Not rated for both units (minimum threshold unmet): CPAP, Camping.

Full specifications

Power 2000
$1,299
See live price →
Explorer 3000 v2
$2,499
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
2048
3072
Output (W)
3000
3600
Surge Peak
Not Specified
7200W
AC Outlets
4
5
USB-C Charging Outputs
140W
100W
Solar Input (W)
1800
1000

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, Power 2000 rates 4.4/5 (67th percentile of 25 Large-class units), and Explorer 3000 v2 rates 3.9/5 (33rd percentile of 25 Large-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[NOTE]

Explorer 3000 v2: Fixed Capacity

The Explorer 3000 v2 is sealed at 3,072Wh — a complete unit, and already larger than the Power 2000's 2,048Wh. By contrast the Power 2000 can add expansion batteries, but that only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 3,072Wh.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤10ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The Power 2000 is rated ≤10ms — quick enough on paper that desktop PCs and routers should ride through, treating that as the rating it is. The Explorer 3000 v2 is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

Warranty: No Difference

Both units carry the same 5-year warranty, so coverage isn't a tiebreaker here. Worth saying because the per-dollar framing can suggest otherwise: the Power 2000 works out at 3.8 years of cover per $1,000 spent against the Explorer 3000 v2's 2, but that spread is the price gap, not the terms.

[CAUTION]

Explorer 3000 v2: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The Power 2000 publishes its noise level (30dB); the Explorer 3000 v2 doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the Explorer 3000 v2 is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the Power 2000's 30dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the Explorer 3000 v2 before deciding.

05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

Power 2000Explorer 3000 v2

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

Power 2000
Explorer 3000 v2
Purchase price
$1,299.00
$2,499.00
Lifetime energy delivered
8,192 kWh
12,288 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.16
$0.20
Cost per warranty year
$260/yr
$500/yr
Battery lifespan
11yr daily · 38.5yr weekend · 76.9yr weekly
11yr daily · 38.5yr weekend · 76.9yr weekly

Analyst note

The Power 2000 wins on both sticker price and long-term value. At $0.16/kWh over its lifetime, it's meaningfully cheaper to own. Clear value winner. One thing to know reading the table: both carry the same 4,000-cycle rating, so the lifetime rows are sticker price and capacity in disguise — the wear horizon is identical and decides nothing here.

Brand trust

DJI

Ecosystem

New entrant (2024) — five power station models to date: Power 500, Power 1000 (since superseded by the V2 but still sold), Power 1000 V2, Power 1000 Mini, Power 2000. Buying a "Power 1000" listing? Check which revision it actually ships.

Support

Leveraging DJI's established global support and repair center network from the drone business. Generally positive reputation inherited from drone operations, but limited power-station-specific track record.

Community

No dedicated power station community yet. Discussions happen within r/dji (~250K members, mostly drone users). Very small power-specific presence on Facebook and forums.

App experience

Rated 3.5/5 iOS and Android (DJI Home app ratings reflect entire DJI ecosystem including drones/cameras, not power-station-specific). Users report the on-device screen is more reliable than the app.

Unique strength

Runs quiet — 23-30dB published across the line (manufacturer best-case figures), at the quiet end of the category. Fast wall charging, quickest on the Power 1000 V2 at ~56 min — that figure is the V2's, not the whole line's. 700+ battery patents from drone R&D. SDC ports for ultra-fast DJI drone charging. Premium industrial design and build quality. LFP batteries rated for 4,000+ cycles.

Worth knowing

A recent entrant to power stations, arriving long after the established players, so there is less long-term field data than for EcoFlow, Jackery or BLUETTI — though DJI brings a deep hardware track record from drones. No built-in solar charge controller (requires a separate proprietary adapter). SDC ports are proprietary to the DJI ecosystem, so their fast-charging advantage mostly benefits people who already own DJI gear. Battery expansion is available on the newer Power 2000 and Power 1000 V2, but not on the earlier Power 1000 or Power 500 — check the specific model.

All DJI power stations tested →

Jackery

Ecosystem

12-15+ models across Explorer (portable) and HomePower (home backup) series, plus SolarSaga panel ecosystem and innovative form factors

Support

US-based support but widely criticized. Reddit reports describe slow/dismissive responses, scripted AI agents, strict receipt requirements for warranty claims, and refurbished replacements for clearly defective units. Strongly recommended: buy from Costco or Amazon for return protection.

Community

Smallest community of the major brands — Reddit r/Jackery has ~2,000 members. YouTube presence is solid due to brand recognition.

App experience

Rated 2.3-3.3/5 iOS and Android — the weakest app experience of the major brands. Multiple confusing apps (Jackery app vs Jackery Home) and mandatory login even offline.

Unique strength

Highest brand recognition and widest retail distribution (Costco, Home Depot, Best Buy, Amazon). The "Toyota" of power stations — dependable, proven, wide availability. Innovative form factors like the Solar Gazebo and Solar Mars Bot.

Worth knowing

A couple of older models still ship NMC chemistry with a shorter rated lifespan, so check the cycle rating on the specific unit — though most of the current line has moved to LFP. Generally perceived as overpriced for the specs offered compared to newer competitors. App experience is significantly behind rivals.

All Jackery power stations tested →

Analyst note

DJI and Jackery are close competitors. Both have established support channels and growing ecosystems. Compare their specific warranty terms and community size for your peace of mind.

Growth path

Power 2000

EXPANDABLE

Supports DJI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 2,048Wh.

Accepts up to 1,800W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Generous port selection supports complex multi-device setups.

Expansion batteries are DJI-specific. You're investing in the DJI ecosystem.

Explorer 3000 v2

FIXED CAPACITY

Fixed at 3,072Wh — a sealed, complete system rather than a starting point. There's no expansion port, so that figure is the ceiling: check it against your longest unplugged stretch before you buy.

Accepts up to 1,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Power 2000Explorer 3000 v2

Analyst note

Don't read the Power 2000's expandability as a straight win here: it starts at 2,048Wh, below the Explorer 3000 v2's 3,072Wh, so a first expansion battery largely buys back capacity the Explorer 3000 v2 already includes. It only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 3,072Wh — short of that, the Explorer 3000 v2's larger fixed capacity is the simpler value.

06

The Bottom Line

These two LiFePO4 portable power stations are genuinely close. After comparing capacity, output, portability, price, and real-world runtime, neither has a decisive advantage. If budget is the deciding factor, the Power 2000 saves you $1,200. If you need the extra 1,024Wh of capacity, the Explorer 3000 v2 justifies the spend.

If neither the Power 2000 nor the Explorer 3000 v2 feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both DJI and Jackery discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the Explorer 3000 v2 worth $1,200 more than the Power 2000?

The short answer: yes, if you'll actually use the extra capability. The Explorer 3000 v2 costs $1,200 more, but that premium buys you 1,024Wh more battery capacity (that's 6 extra hours of running a mini-fridge); 600W higher AC output (opening the door to more demanding appliances). On a cost-per-watt-hour basis, you're paying $0.81/Wh vs $0.63/Wh. For regular use, we'd pay the premium.

How does the 1,024Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The Explorer 3000 v2's 3,072Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 17 hours vs the Power 2000's 12 hours. Both can handle a full 8-hour blackout setup (fridge + router + lights + phone charging ≈ 1,645Wh), but the Explorer 3000 v2 finishes with significantly more margin. That matters if conditions aren't ideal or the outage runs long. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The Explorer 3000 v2's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the Explorer 3000 v2, or is the Power 2000 the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The Power 2000 (48.5 lbs) and the Explorer 3000 v2 (59.5 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 11-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the Power 2000 accepts 1,800W vs the Explorer 3000 v2's 1,000W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 1.6 hours for the Power 2000 and 4.4 hours for the Explorer 3000 v2. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the Power 2000's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the Power 2000's advantage is substantial.

Does the Power 2000's expandability make it the safer long-term buy?

Not necessarily. The Power 2000 can add DJI batteries, but it starts at 2,048Wh — below the Explorer 3000 v2's sealed 3,072Wh. A first expansion battery mostly buys back capacity the Explorer 3000 v2 already gives you out of the box; expandability only pulls ahead if you expect to grow past 3,072Wh. If you don't, the Explorer 3000 v2's larger fixed capacity is the simpler, complete package — not a dead end, just already the bigger battery.

Is DJI or Jackery more reliable for long-term ownership?

Both brands have strengths and trade-offs. DJI: 3-5 years depending on model. DJI has a reasonable track record from drone products. Too early for comprehensive power station warranty data. Jackery: 2-5 years depending on model (premium models like 5000 Plus get 5 years, budget models get 2 years). Registration required for extension. Claims process can be frustrating. One piece of advice from the power station community: regardless of brand, buy from Costco or Amazon. Their return policies provide a safety net that manufacturer warranties alone can't match, especially for a product you'll rely on in emergencies. Both brands use LFP (lithium iron phosphate) batteries in their current lineup, the most proven chemistry for longevity and safety.

Where to buy

Power 2000

DJI Power 2000

$1,299.00

Check current price

$1,299.00 · direct from DJI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Explorer 3000 v2

Jackery Explorer 3000 v2

$2,499.00

Check current price

$2,499.00 · direct from Jackery

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.