PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

DJI Power 1000 vs DJI Power 1000 V2

Same $699, same 1,024Wh battery — the V2 spends the redesign on output, a 10ms UPS twice as fast, more solar and an expansion port, then leaves the two boxes the original fills in, warranty and noise, blank.

Written by Ian SchneiderUpdated

Solar & Off-Grid Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
RetiredDJI Power 1000 Portable Power Station

DJI

Power 1000

1,024Wh2,200W28.7 lb

2,893Power Score · Appliance Class

Superseded — buy the V2

DJI has superseded the Power 1000 with the Power 1000 V2 — same $699, with 2,600W output against 2,200W. The original may still be purchasable while stock lasts, but unless it is meaningfully discounted, buy the V2.

Power 1000 V2 · $699.00
DJI Power 1000 V2 Portable Power Station

DJI

Power 1000 V2

1,024Wh2,600W31.3 lb

3,073Power Score · Appliance Class

Check price →

$699.00 · direct from DJI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
1,024Wh
matched
1,024Wh
Output
2,200W
2,600W
Weight
28.7 lb
31.3 lb
Typical price
$699
matched
$699
Cost / Wh
$0.68
matched
$0.68
Cycle life
4,000
matched
4,000
Solar input
800W
1,200W
01

At the same $699, the Power 1000 V2 is the better box. DJI kept the 1,024Wh LFP battery, the 4,000-cycle rating and the price, then spent the redesign on everything wrapped around the cells: the inverter climbs from 2,200W to 2,600W, the UPS switchover halves from 20ms to 10msB9, solar input jumps from 800W to 1,200W, and the sealed original grows a battery-expansion port it never had.

The trade-offs aren't absent, just quiet. The V2 is 2.6 lb heavier at 31.3 lb, and reviewers found its side-mounted handles make a one-handed lift feel unbalancedB11. DJI also left two boxes empty on the V2's spec sheet that the original fills in: the noise rating and the warranty term. The first is cosmetic, since testers still measured the V2 nearly silent even fast-chargingB1. The second isn't — the original ships with a documented five-year warranty, and our cost model counts that as real money.

That warranty line is why the lifetime model still calls the original the cheaper unit to own, even though both cost the same today and return the identical $0.17 per lifetime kilowatt-hour. So the call splits cleanly. Find the original on clearance, or want the five-year coverage and the lighter carry more than output and expansion, and it's the one to hold. Pay $699 either way, as most people will, and the V2 is the upgrade you buy on price alone.

02

What the Numbers Reveal

Each conclusion stated first — the numbers behind it on one line, the full analysis below.

F1

Reviewers single the switchover out as the V2's clearest hardware win, calling it ideal for home offices, computers and networking gearB9 — precisely the loads a 20ms standby cutover is least sure of.

DJI Power 1000 V2 switchover: 10ms, line-interactiveOriginal Power 1000 switchover: 20ms, standbyThe V2's 10ms is twice as fast as the originalB9

Why it mattersIf the unit's real job is backing up a desk, the V2's faster handoff outweighs anything on the original's sheet.

F2

The V2 hands you more inverter, more solar and an expansion port, then asks you to accept a blank warranty box in return — and the model reads that blank as risk, which is why the original still wins the cost-to-own line it has no business winning.

Both units: $699, 1,024Wh, 4,000 cycles, $0.17 per lifetime kWhOriginal: five-year warranty; V2: no warranty term listedThe lifetime-cost model tags the original as cheaper to own

Why it mattersWarranty-minded buyers, and anyone who spots the original on sale, have a concrete reason to pass on the newer box.

F3

continuous output

For a buyer whose needs might drift toward partial-home backup, the original is a dead end and the V2 is a starting point — and the extra 400W of solar means the bigger bank the V2 can grow into also refills faster.

V2 continuous output: 2,600W vs the original's 2,200WV2 accepts DJI expansion batteries; the original is sealed at 1,024WhV2 solar input: 1,200W vs 800W

Why it mattersAnyone who might outgrow a kilowatt-hour should treat the sealed original as disqualified, whatever the discount.

F4

The reviewer evidence closes the gap the spec sheet opened — testers found the V2 as hushed as the family's reputation, audible less by sound than by a faint warm smell when the fans finally spinB2 — so the blank is a documentation lapse, not a regression.

DJI markets the line as the quietest in the categoryThe original prints a 23dB noise rating; the V2's noise spec reads 'Not Specified'Reviewers measured the V2 nearly silent even fast-charging at 1,400 to 1,450WB1

Why it mattersLight sleepers get the quiet from either unit; only the spec-sheet sticklers will miss the printed figure the original still carries.

The specific dimensions that decide these two units — everything else is a tie.

Lifetime Value

Selected because: Same price, same $/kWh, same lifetime energy — the warranty blank is the only economic separator and the reason cheaperToOwn computes to the original. Honesty backbone.

The lifetime table refuses to take sides: the same 4,096 kWh out of each battery, the same eleven years of daily cycling, the same nickel a day at weekend pace. Two model years, one economic profile. The tiebreak isn't in the energy, it's in the paperwork — five documented years on the original against a warranty term the V2's sheet leaves empty. That single blank is the whole reason the model rates the older unit cheaper to own, and it's a fair call: coverage you can point to is worth more than coverage you have to go ask about.

Growth Path

Selected because: Expandable V2 vs sealed original is the structural difference; expansion gotcha fires against the original.

solar input

This is the one structural line between two otherwise-identical boxes. The V2 takes DJI expansion batteries; the original is a sealed 1,024Wh and stays that way. If a kilowatt-hour covers you for good, the gap is theoretical and you can pocket the weight savings. If there's any real chance your loads climb toward partial-home backup, the original hands you a wall and the V2 hands you a door.

The honest asterisk sits on the V2's own growth: reviewers note it offers only two SDC ports, so an expansion battery and a solar accessory can occupy both and leave nothing for a 12-volt outletB7. It's room to grow down a fairly narrow hallway — but a narrow hallway still beats a wall.

What the Specs Don't Tell You

Selected because: Four cards fire (expansion, surgeRatio, ups, noiseDisclosure) with mixed directions — richest section on the page.

Four cards fire here and they don't all point the same way. The UPS card and the expansion card favor the V2: a 10ms line-interactive cutover against 20ms standby, and a growth path the original lacks. The noise card is a warning aimed at the V2, for a blank it had no reason to leave.

The surge card is the quiet contrarian. Both units peak at the same 4,400W, but against their continuous ratings that peak is a full 2x on the original and about 1.7x on the V2 — not because the V2 surges any less, but because it idles higher, at 2,600W. Same ceiling, more floor. For a hard-starting compressor stacked on a steady load, the original keeps proportionally more instant headroom in reserve; for everything else, the V2's higher continuous rating is the number that matters.

PowerScore Breakdown

Selected because: 3,328 vs 3,099 quantifies the upgrade as the sum of the visible gains.

overall power score

Our PowerScore puts the V2 at 3,328 against the original's 3,099, and for once the composite is easy to read: it's the sum of the upgrades you can already see. More continuous output, a faster switchover, more solar input, an expansion path. The 229-point gap isn't a new argument, it's the same four arguments totaled up. Don't buy the number — buy the four things it's counting, and only if you'd have paid for them separately.

Portability & Form Factor

Selected because: 2.6 lb heavier plus side-handle imbalance is the felt cost of the redesign.

weight

The upgrade has a weight, literally: 31.3 lb against 28.7, up 2.6. Neither is a two-person lift, but the V2 mounts its handles on the sides, and reviewers found that makes a one-handed carry feel unbalancedB11. So the heavier unit is also the more awkward one to grab off a tailgate with a cooler in the other hand. If the box mostly sits under a desk, ignore this entirely. If it rides with you, the lighter original earns back a little of what it conceded on output.

Strengths & trade-offs

DJI Power 1000

Strengths

  • +Lighter by 2.6 lb
  • +Longer warranty

Trade-offs

  • Sealed capacity — the Power 1000 V2 can add batteries to grow past 1,024Wh; this one can't.

DJI Power 1000 V2

Strengths

  • +Higher AC output
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • No major technical downsides compared to rival.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Neither unit covers this scenario's 2,100Wh: the Power 1000 comes up 1,230Wh short (about 41% covered), the Power 1000 V2 1,230Wh (41%). Treat this as partial cover — enough for the essentials in it, not the whole list.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Neither unit

Neither unit covers this scenario's 1,645Wh: the Power 1000 comes up 775Wh short (about 53% covered), the Power 1000 V2 775Wh (53%). Either gets you most of the way, so this is a scenario you plan around rather than one you should rule them out for.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A 320Wh night leaves roughly two-thirds of either battery untouched, so both pass easily and the tiebreak moves to the nightstand. Both run near-silent; the only real difference is that the original prints a 23dB rating while the V2 leaves the box blank. Same sleep, one fewer number on the page.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Neither unit

This scenario needs 910Wh and neither unit quite finishes it. Both land within 5% of it — close enough that trimming one appliance, or accepting a shorter evening, gets you there on the day.

UPS & desk backup guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Either unit

Both handle game day easily. Since capacity isn't the deciding factor, weight is: at 28.7 lbs the Power 1000 is the one you'll be glad you brought. Fan noise under load is worth a listen too — it's audible in the lulls between songs.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

A 4,685Wh day is more than five times what either 1,024Wh unit holds, so on its own neither belongs in the van. The split is what happens next: the original is finished at 1,024Wh, while the V2 can stack expansion batteries toward a number that actually fits the day. Identical starting capacity, one growth path.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

Power 10004.2h
dead in 4.2h — before your 8h window ends
Power 1000 V24.2h
dead in 4.2h — before your 8h window ends

Dead heat — both run this 205W load for roughly 4.2h. Pick on price, weight, or ports.

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–58h
AppliancePower 1000Power 1000 V2
CPAP Machine40W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 21.8h · same2 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 58h · same
Router + Modem20W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 43.5h · same
Starlink75W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 11.6h · same
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 21.8h · same
Laptop (Working)60W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 14.5h · same

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–11.6h
AppliancePower 1000Power 1000 V2
Box Fan75W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 11.6h · same
LED TV (55")80W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 10.9h · same
Mini-Fridge150W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 5.8h · same
Electric Blanket200W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 4.4h · same0 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–0.9h
AppliancePower 1000Power 1000 V2
Coffee Maker1000W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 0.9h · same
Microwave1200W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 0.7h · same
Space Heater1500W draw
Power 1000 & Power 1000 V2: 0.6h · same

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 18, 2026

Verdict: the Power 1000 V2

At an identical $699 the V2 out-specs the original on the parts you feel: 2,600W of continuous output against 2,200W, a 10ms line-interactive UPS against the original's 20ms standbyB9, 1,200W of solar against 800W, and a battery-expansion port the sealed original never had. Reviewers confirm the family's signature near-silence survives the redesign, with the fan barely audible even fast-chargingB1. The honest catches are real but narrow: the V2 is 2.6 lb heavier, its noise spec reads 'Not Specified' where the original prints 23dB, and our sheet lists no warranty term for the V2 where the original shows five years — which is exactly why the lifetime-cost model still tags the original as cheaper to own. Find the original discounted, or value the documented warranty and the lighter carry over output and growth, and it's the smart hold. Pay the same money for both, as most buyers will, and take the V2.

Continuous outputPower 1000 V22,600W vs 2,200W
PortabilityPower 100028.7 vs 31.3 lb
Solar inputPower 1000 V21,200W vs 800W
ExpansionPower 1000 V2expandable vs closed system
■■■■■■■□□□7/10

Editor-assigned confidence, based on cited owner research and spec analysis.

List prices as of July 18, 2026. The links below open DJI's current price.

Check Power 1000 V2 price

$699.00 · direct from DJI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the Power 1000 price$699.00 list

Written by Ian Schneider, Solar & Off-Grid Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 18, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

Power 1000Power 1000 V2
Overall Power Score
2,893
3,073
UPSResponse & Reliability
2,760
3,264
RV LivingEnergy Density & Output
2,688
2,925
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
2,867
3,266
CPAPSleep Therapy Reliability
3,040
3,045
Solar GeneratorSolar Input & Efficiency
2,587
2,793
TailgatingOutlets & Portability
2,708
2,621
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
2,668
2,936
Apartment BalconyCompact Solar Living
2,864
2,717
CampingLightweight & Versatile
2,698
2,435

Full specifications

Power 1000
$699
See live price →
Power 1000 V2
$699★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
1024
1024
Output (W)
2200
2600
Surge Peak
4400W
4400W
AC Outlets
2
2
USB-C Charging Outputs
140W
140W
Solar Input (W)
800
1200

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews — see Sources & Research Notes below.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, Power 1000 rates 4.0/5 (43rd percentile of 24 Everyday-class units), and Power 1000 V2 rates 4.8/5 (87th percentile of 24 Everyday-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[NOTE]

The original's ceiling is welded on

The original Power 1000 is sealed at 1,024Wh — what you buy is what you own, permanently. The V2 accepts DJI expansion batteries, so its capacity is a starting point rather than a limit. The catch, in fairness: the V2 offers only two expansion ports, and a battery plus a solar accessory can claim both. Room to grow, down a narrow hallway.

[NOTE]

Surge Power: Same Ceiling, Different Ratio

Both units surge to the same 4,400W. The Power 1000 shows a higher surge-to-continuous ratio (2× vs 1.7×) only because its continuous rating is lower — the ratio is the same ceiling divided by a smaller number, not extra starting ability. On what either can actually start, they are identical; the difference is what they can hold afterwards.

[NOTE]

10ms line-interactive vs 20ms standby

The V2 hands off to battery in 10ms, twice as fast as the original's 20ms, and it's the upgrade you're most likely to feel. Both are quick enough for a fridge or a router; the faster cutover is what keeps a desktop from noticing the grid dropped mid-save. If the unit's job is backing up a workstation, this line alone justifies the newer model.

[CAUTION]

The quiet unit that skipped the quiet spec

DJI sells this whole line on silence, then shipped the V2 with its noise rating listed as 'Not Specified' — the one number the marketing leans on hardest. Independent reviewers fill the gap, measuring it nearly silent even at full-speed charging, so it's almost certainly as hushed as its predecessor. But if you compare on printed specs, the original gives you the figure and the V2 asks you to trust the reviews.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the Power 1000 V2.

Check Power 1000 V2 price →or check the Power 1000 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

Power 1000Power 1000 V2

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

Power 1000
Power 1000 V2
Purchase price
$699.00
$699.00
Lifetime energy delivered
4,096 kWh
4,096 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.17
$0.17
Cost per warranty year
$140/yr
$∞/yr
Battery lifespan
11yr daily · 38.5yr weekend · 76.9yr weekly
11yr daily · 38.5yr weekend · 76.9yr weekly

Analyst note

Both units cost the same to own over their rated lives — $0.17/kWh each. Lifetime cost can't separate them, so decide on the sticker price and everything else. One thing to know reading the table: both carry the same 4,000-cycle rating, so the lifetime rows are sticker price and capacity in disguise — the wear horizon is identical and decides nothing here.

Growth path

Power 1000

FIXED CAPACITY

Fixed at 1,024Wh, with no expansion — so size it for your needs up front rather than planning to add capacity later.

Accepts up to 800W of solar. Suitable for a 1-2 panel setup.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Power 1000 V2

EXPANDABLE

Supports DJI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 1,024Wh.

Accepts up to 1,200W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Expansion batteries are DJI-specific. You're investing in the DJI ecosystem.

Power 1000Power 1000 V2

Analyst note

The Power 1000 is sealed at 1,024Wh, which is fine if that covers you. The Power 1000 V2 starts at 1,024Wh and can grow beyond it with DJI expansion batteries — though at this size expansion means longer runtimes on the same loads, not a path to home backup. More hours, not more house.

06

What Owners Report

Patterns from published owner reports and long-term reviews — every claim cited to its source below.

DJI Power 1000

The original's reputation rests on one word: quiet. Independent reviews call it one of the quietest units in its class, nearly silent under normal loads, with only a soft whoosh past 1,500W where an EcoFlow or BLUETTI would whirA1. One test pushed it to 2,400W, above its 2,200W rating, for twenty minutes with no shutdown and no racketA2, and even a full-speed wall charge leaves the fan barely audibleA3. A week-long camping trip on a 45W compressor fridge, phones, laptops and lights is on record, and drone pilots keep it around for fast-charging flight batteries while everything else stays poweredA4. It is, above all, a known quantity — which is most of its case against its own successor.

Whisper-quiet operation — one of the quietest power stations in its class, nearly silent under normal loads; sound only becomes noticeable past 1,500W, and even then it's a soft whoosh rather than the high-pitched whirring you'd get from BLUETTI or EcoFlow.
thesolarlab.com / trailandkale.com — DJI Power 1000 review, 2026

Sources

thesolarlab.com · trailandkale.com · offgridbenchmark.com · superfashion.us · dronexl.co

DJI Power 1000 V2

Reviewers frame the V2 as a genuine upgrade rather than a refresh, and they point at the switchover first: 10ms, twice as quick as the original, which testers call ideal for home offices and networking gearB9. The signature quiet survives the redesign, with the fan barely registering even fast-charging around 1,400 to 1,450WB1, though a couple of testers noticed the fans more by a faint, warm, plasticky smell than by any soundB2. Charging is quick, empty to full in about 56 minutesB4, and the build reads premium enough to sit in an office or studio without looking out of placeB3.

The catches are real but small. The V2 uses a non-standard C19 charging cable that's easy to lose and hard to replace on the roadB5, draws about 18W at idle — enough to flatten itself in roughly two and a half days if left plugged into nothingB8, and its two SDC expansion ports fill up fast once a battery and a solar accessory are attachedB7. One honest limit on all of it: the V2's field record is professional-tester coverage over about six months, not years of owner reports, so read it as expert hands-on rather than long-haul crowd wisdom.

The fan barely makes a sound even during full-speed charging around 1,400-1,450W — one of the quietest power stations in its class, nearly silent under normal loads.
DroneXL / Haye Kesteloo (Medium mirror) — DJI Power 1000 V2 Review: 2,600W Output In A Package That Won't Wake The Neighbors, 2026-01

Sources & Research Notes

Every owner claim in this report is traceable to a published source. The bracketed references above resolve here.

Recurring owner themes

  • Standout quiet operation (quieter than EcoFlow/BLUETTI), robust real-world output above its rating, and appeal to drone pilots and campers are the consistent themes. [Power 1000 · 3 entries]
  • Quiet operation is the standout, consistently praised across independent reviewers, though a couple of testers separately noticed a faint smell when the fans do spin up. [Power 1000 V2 · 2 entries]
  • Charging is dramatically faster than the original Power 1000, but real-world charging setups bring their own friction: a non-standard AC cable and, for solar, an expensive proprietary adapter with limited throughput. [Power 1000 V2 · 3 entries]
  • The two shared SDC expansion ports are a recurring bottleneck — using them for an expansion battery or solar accessory can leave no capacity for other add-ons. [Power 1000 V2 · 2 entries]
  • UPS switchover speed and overall build quality are the two things independent reviewers most directly credit as concrete improvements over the original Power 1000. [Power 1000 V2 · 2 entries]
  • A1

    Whisper-quiet operation — one of the quietest power stations in its class, nearly silent under normal loads; sound only becomes noticeable past 1,500W, and even then it's a soft whoosh rather than the high-pitched whirring you'd get from BLUETTI or EcoFlow.

    thesolarlab.com / trailandkale.com — DJI Power 1000 review · 2026 · [positive]

  • A2

    Tested at 2,400W — slightly above its 2,200W output rating — for 20 minutes and handled it without loud noise or automatic shut-offs.

    offgridbenchmark.com / superfashion.us — DJI Power 1000 review · 2026 · [positive]

  • A3

    AC charging takes about 70 minutes from 0% to 100% (about 50 minutes to 80%), and during full-speed charging the fan barely makes a sound.

    thesolarlab.com — DJI Power 1000 review · 2026 · [positive]

  • A4

    Over a week-long camping trip it powered a 45W compressor fridge, phones, laptops, and LED lights; it's also a favorite of drone pilots for fast-charging DJI batteries while running other devices.

    offgridbenchmark.com / dronexl.co — DJI Power 1000 review · 2026 · [positive]

  • B1

    The fan barely makes a sound even during full-speed charging around 1,400-1,450W — one of the quietest power stations in its class, nearly silent under normal loads.

    DroneXL / Haye Kesteloo (Medium mirror) — DJI Power 1000 V2 Review: 2,600W Output In A Package That Won't Wake The Neighbors · 2026-01 · [positive]

  • B2

    It's easier to notice when the fans are on by a faint, warm, plasticky smell rather than by sound; a separate reviewer likewise noted an unusual electronics smell on first use but confirmed via the app that internal temperature stayed normal.

    T3 — I tested the DJI Power 1000 v2, and it's the best power station upgrade you shouldn't ignore (month-long test) / corroborated by Android Authority — DJI Power 1000 V2 review · 2026 · [mixed]

  • B3

    DJI gear tends to feel really premium — nothing feels cheap or fragile, and it wouldn't look out of place in an office or studio.

    T3 — I tested the DJI Power 1000 v2, and it's the best power station upgrade you shouldn't ignore · 2026 · [positive]

  • B4

    Can be recharged from empty to full in 56 minutes — your lunch break, or maybe while cooking dinner.

    GadgetGuy (Australia) — DJI Power 1000 V2 power station review · 2026 · [positive]

  • B5

    The non-standard C19 AC charging cable is just asking to get lost, since most people won't have a spare on hand the way they would for a common C13 cable.

    Android Authority — DJI Power 1000 V2 review: Mobile power for drone lovers and more · 2026 · [negative]

  • B7

    You only get two SDC expansion ports, and if both are occupied (e.g. an expansion battery plus an MPPT solar accessory) that leaves no spare socket for something like the 12-volt cigarette outlet — described as really odd and potentially annoying in real-world use.

    TheSolarLab — DJI Power 1000 V2 Review: A Quieter, Faster Upgrade? · 2026 · [negative]

  • B8

    Idle/standby consumption was measured at roughly 18 watts in testing, enough to drain the battery in about two and a half days if left connected with nothing else drawing power.

    TheSolarLab — DJI Power 1000 V2 Review: A Quieter, Faster Upgrade? · 2026 · [mixed]

  • B9

    The 10ms switchover is twice as fast as the original Power 1000, making it ideal for home offices, computers, networking gear, and studio setups.

    DroneXL / Haye Kesteloo (Medium mirror) — DJI Power 1000 V2 Review: 2,600W Output In A Package That Won't Wake The Neighbors · 2026-01 · [positive]

  • B11

    Side-positioned handles make one-handed carrying feel very unbalanced at just over 31 lbs.

    Android Authority — DJI Power 1000 V2 review: Mobile power for drone lovers and more · 2026 · [negative]

Research compiled July 18, 2026.

07

Who Should Buy Which

Buy the Power 1000 if you…

  • The discount-hunter: if a retailer is clearing the original below $699, you're buying the same battery plus a documented five-year warranty for less.
  • The warranty-first buyer: five printed years against a V2 sheet that lists none.
  • The one-hand carrier: 28.7 lb, and the lighter, less awkward grab of the two.
  • The pure-quiet camper or drone pilot: a documented 23dB and a proven habit of fast-charging DJI batteries in the fieldA4.

This is you — check the Power 1000 price

Buy the Power 1000 V2 if you…

  • Desk and studio backup: a 10ms line-interactive handoff is the spec that keeps a workstation alive when the grid blinksB9.
  • Anyone who might outgrow 1,024Wh: only the V2 accepts expansion batteries.
  • Heavier continuous loads: 2,600W of steady output keeps more room over a running appliance than 2,200W does.
  • Solar-leaning users: 1,200W of input refills faster and feeds a bigger bank as it grows.

This is you — check the Power 1000 V2 price

If neither fits

If your real need is a full weekend's 2,100Wh or an 8-hour blackout's 1,645Wh, neither 1,024Wh box covers it on its own — you're either stacking a V2 expansion battery from day one or shopping the 2kWh class outright.

08

The Bottom Line

Strip the badges and you're looking at one battery sold as two model years at one price. The V2 turns that sameness into a win on the parts you touch: 2,600W of output, a 10ms UPS twice as fast as beforeB9, more solar, and the first DJI expansion path in this size. The original answers with the two things the V2's sheet leaves blank — a printed five-year warranty and a documented noise figure — plus 2.6 fewer pounds in your hand.

So it's the rare upgrade you can buy on price alone: same $699, more unit. Take the V2 unless the warranty line or the lighter carry is the reason you came, or unless you just found the original on sale, in which case buy it and don't look back.

09

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the DJI Power 1000 V2 worth it over the original at the same price?

At an identical $699, yes for most buyers. The V2 adds 400W of continuous output, a UPS switchover twice as fast, 400W more solar input, and an expansion port the sealed original doesn't have. The reasons to keep the original are specific rather than general: a documented five-year warranty, 2.6 lb less to carry, and a printed noise figure.

Does the DJI Power 1000 V2 come with a warranty?

Our spec sheet lists no warranty term for the V2, where the original shows five years — which is the reason our lifetime-cost model rates the original as cheaper to own. DJI may well cover the V2 in practice, so confirm the current term with DJI or the retailer before you buy. Don't assume it matches the original's five years.

Is the V2 quieter than the original Power 1000?

Effectively they're the same near-silent, but only one prints the number. The original documents 23dB; the V2's noise spec reads 'Not Specified,' though reviewers measured it nearly silent even fast-charging. If you need the figure on paper, the original is the one that hands it to you.

Can I add an expansion battery to the original DJI Power 1000?

No. The original is sealed at 1,024Wh with no expansion path. The V2 accepts DJI expansion batteries, though reviewers note it has only two SDC ports, so an expansion battery plus a solar accessory can claim both at once. If growth matters at all, the V2 is the only one of the two that allows it.

How much faster does the V2 charge and switch over?

The V2 recharges empty to full in about 56 minutes and switches to battery in 10ms, half the original's 20ms. Both are quick, but the switchover gap is the one you'd actually feel — it's the difference between a desktop noticing an outage and sleeping through it.

Check Power 1000 V2 price →

Where to buy

Power 1000

DJI Power 1000

$699.00

Check current price

$699.00 · direct from DJI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Power 1000 V2

DJI Power 1000 V2Pick

$699.00

Check current price

$699.00 · direct from DJI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.

Power 1000Check price →