PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI AC500 + 2×B300K vs BLUETTI Apex 300 + 2×B300K

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI AC500 + 2×B300K Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

AC500 + 2×B300K

5,530Wh5,000W196.1 lb

5,894Power Score · The AC & Fridge Zone

Check price →

$3,948.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 22 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI Apex 300 + 2×B300K Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

Apex 300 + 2×B300K

8,294.4Wh3,840W213.9 lb

7,338Power Score · The AC & Fridge Zone

Check price →

$3,899.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
5,530Wh
8,294.4Wh
Output
5,000W
3,840W
Weight
196.1 lb
213.9 lb
Typical price
$3,948
$3,899
Cost / Wh
$0.71
$0.47
Cycle life
3,500
matched
3,500
Solar input
3,000W
2,400W
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The AC500 + 2×B300K (5,530Wh, 5,000W) and the Apex 300 + 2×B300K (8,294Wh, 3,840W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities. We'd buy the Apex 300 + 2×B300K.

What the spec gap means in practice: the Apex 300 + 2×B300K's 3,840W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The AC500 + 2×B300K's 5,000W inverter still runs most single appliances; the Apex 300 + 2×B300K's real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the Apex 300 + 2×B300K keeps a fridge alive for roughly 47 hours vs the AC500 + 2×B300K's 31 hours.

Pick the Apex 300 + 2×B300K if your primary use is 8-hour blackout or van life daily. Go with the AC500 + 2×B300K if you want the option to add expansion batteries later. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the Apex 300 + 2×B300K works out to about $0.13/kWh against the AC500 + 2×B300K's $0.2, a gap that compounds in the Apex 300 + 2×B300K's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI AC500 + 2×B300K

With a massive 5,000W output (and 10,000W surge), the AC500 + 2×B300K can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 196.1 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Lighter by 17.8 lb
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.

BLUETTI Apex 300 + 2×B300K

With a massive 3,840W output (and 7,680W surge), the Apex 300 + 2×B300K can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 213.9 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion. A standout feature is the value proposition: at roughly $0.47 per watt-hour, it's one of the most cost-effective options on the market.

Strengths

  • +Costs $49 less
  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Longer warranty

Trade-offs

  • Significantly heavier (+17.8 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Weaker inverter (-1,160W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: the AC500 + 2×B300K at 196 lbs is not a take-along — it rolls off a truck bed if it travels at all, and the Apex 300 + 2×B300K at 214 lbs is not a take-along — it rolls off a truck bed if it travels at all. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Apex 300 + 2×B300K

Both survive the night. The Apex 300 + 2×B300K finishes at 23% used with 5,405Wh left — 3.3 more nights like it. The AC500 + 2×B300K finishes at 35% with 3,056Wh, 1.9 more nights like it. If your outages tend to run past one evening, that difference is the whole argument between them.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but AC500 + 2×B300K doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain, and their USB-C output is a wash — pick on weight, ports, or price.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: the AC500 + 2×B300K at 196 lbs is not a take-along — it rolls off a truck bed if it travels at all, and the Apex 300 + 2×B300K at 214 lbs is not a take-along — it rolls off a truck bed if it travels at all. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Apex 300 + 2×B300K

The AC500 + 2×B300K uses 100% of its battery on a full day, leaving 16Wh — miss a solar day and that is the entire cushion. The Apex 300 + 2×B300K at 66% keeps 2,365Wh in hand, a far more forgiving rhythm for full-time living.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

AC500 + 2×B300K22.9h
35% of usable battery in 8h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K34.4h
23% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: Apex 300 + 2×B300K runs 34.4h vs 22.9h.

Check Apex 300 + 2×B300K price →

$3,899 list · direct from BLUETTI

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–470h
ApplianceAC500 + 2×B300KApex 300 + 2×B300K
CPAP Machine40W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 117.5h14 full nights
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 176.3h22 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 313.4h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 470h
Router + Modem20W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 235h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 352.5h
Starlink75W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 62.7h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 94h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 117.5h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 176.3h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 78.3h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 117.5h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–94h
ApplianceAC500 + 2×B300KApex 300 + 2×B300K
Box Fan75W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 62.7h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 94h
LED TV (55")80W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 58.8h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 88.1h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 31.3h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 47h
Electric Blanket200W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 23.5h2 full nights
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 35.3h4 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–7.1h
ApplianceAC500 + 2×B300KApex 300 + 2×B300K
Coffee Maker1000W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 4.7h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 7.1h
Microwave1200W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 3.9h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 5.9h
Space Heater1500W draw
AC500 + 2×B300K: 3.1h
Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 4.7h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the Apex 300 + 2×B300K

The Apex 300 + 2×B300K takes the lead. It packs 2,764.4Wh more capacity than the AC500 + 2×B300K. With a price tag that is $49 lower, it provides significantly better value.

Overall score margin: 5,894 vs 7,338 (−24.5%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check Apex 300 + 2×B300K price

$3,899.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the AC500 + 2×B300K price$3,948.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

AC500 + 2×B300KApex 300 + 2×B300K
Overall Power Score
5,894
7,338
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
6,090
7,663
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
5,711
6,718

Full specifications

AC500 + 2×B300K
$3,948
See live price →
Apex 300 + 2×B300K
$3,899★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
5530
8294.4
Output (W)
5000
3840
Surge Peak
10000W
7680W
AC Outlets
Not Specified
6
USB-C Charging Outputs
100W
100W
Solar Input (W)
3000
2400

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, AC500 + 2×B300K rates 4.1/5 (47th percentile of 16 Home Backup-class units), and Apex 300 + 2×B300K rates 3.4/5 (7th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The AC500 + 2×B300K (196.1 lbs) is a two-person lift. The Apex 300 + 2×B300K (213.9 lbs) is firmly a two-person lift. It goes where you put it and stays there. That's a 18 lb difference.

[NOTE]

Apex 300 + 2×B300K: 45dB Under Load

45dB is about as loud as a running refrigerator. The AC500 + 2×B300K publishes no figure to compare it against, which cuts both ways. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤10ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The Apex 300 + 2×B300K is rated ≤10ms — quick enough on paper that desktop PCs and routers should ride through, treating that as the rating it is. The AC500 + 2×B300K is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[CAUTION]

AC500 + 2×B300K: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The Apex 300 + 2×B300K publishes its noise level (45dB); the AC500 + 2×B300K doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the AC500 + 2×B300K is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the Apex 300 + 2×B300K's 45dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the AC500 + 2×B300K before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the Apex 300 + 2×B300K.

Check Apex 300 + 2×B300K price →or check the AC500 + 2×B300K price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

AC500 + 2×B300KApex 300 + 2×B300K

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

AC500 + 2×B300K
Apex 300 + 2×B300K
Purchase price
$3,948.00
$3,899.00
Lifetime energy delivered
19,355 kWh
29,030 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.20
$0.13
Cost per warranty year
$∞/yr
$780/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly

Analyst note

The Apex 300 + 2×B300K wins on both sticker price and long-term value. At $0.13/kWh over its lifetime, it's meaningfully cheaper to own. Clear value winner. One thing to know reading the table: both carry the same 3,500-cycle rating, so the lifetime rows are sticker price and capacity in disguise — the wear horizon is identical and decides nothing here.

Growth path

AC500 + 2×B300K

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 5,530Wh.

Accepts up to 3,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

Apex 300 + 2×B300K

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 8,294Wh.

Accepts up to 2,400W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Generous port selection supports complex multi-device setups.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

AC500 + 2×B300KApex 300 + 2×B300K

Analyst note

Both expand, so neither locks you out of growth — decide on capacity, price, and the rest, not the expansion checkbox.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The Apex 300 + 2×B300K edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the AC500 + 2×B300K wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the AC500 + 2×B300K nor the Apex 300 + 2×B300K feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

How does the 2,764.4Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The Apex 300 + 2×B300K's 8,294.4Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 47 hours vs the AC500 + 2×B300K's 31 hours. Both can handle a full 8-hour blackout setup (fridge + router + lights + phone charging ≈ 1,645Wh), but the Apex 300 + 2×B300K finishes with significantly more margin. That matters if conditions aren't ideal or the outage runs long. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The Apex 300 + 2×B300K's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the Apex 300 + 2×B300K, or is the AC500 + 2×B300K the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The AC500 + 2×B300K (196.1 lbs) and the Apex 300 + 2×B300K (213.9 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 17.8-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the AC500 + 2×B300K accepts 3,000W vs the Apex 300 + 2×B300K's 2,400W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 2.6 hours for the AC500 + 2×B300K and 4.9 hours for the Apex 300 + 2×B300K. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the AC500 + 2×B300K's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the AC500 + 2×B300K's advantage is substantial.

Bottom line: should I buy the AC500 + 2×B300K or the Apex 300 + 2×B300K?

We'd buy the Apex 300 + 2×B300K. Cheaper and more capable. That combination is rare. The AC500 + 2×B300K doesn't offer a compelling reason to spend more unless you specifically need a feature unique to the BLUETTI ecosystem (expansion batteries, app integrations). Otherwise, clear call.

Check Apex 300 + 2×B300K price →

Where to buy

AC500 + 2×B300K

BLUETTI AC500 + 2×B300K

$3,948.00

Check current price

$3,948.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 22 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Apex 300 + 2×B300K

BLUETTI Apex 300 + 2×B300KPick

$3,899.00

Check current price

$3,899.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.