PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI AC200MAX vs BLUETTI Apex 200

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared β€” which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: BLUETTI AC200MAX β†’ Β· BLUETTI Apex 200 β†’

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported β€” we may earn from links (details)

Spec deltas

Capacity
2,048Wh
2,560Wh
Output
2,200W
3,200W
Weight
61.9 lb
59.5 lb
Typical price
No longer sold
$1,099
Cost / Wh
β€”
$0.43
Cycle life
3,500
6,000
Solar input
900W
3,000W
01

Gunner’s take

Whole-Home Backup Tester

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The AC200MAX (2,048Wh, 2,200W) and the Apex 200 (2,560Wh, 3,200W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities. We'd buy the Apex 200.

What the spec gap means in practice: the Apex 200's 3,200W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The AC200MAX's 2,200W inverter still runs most single appliances; the Apex 200's real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the Apex 200 keeps a fridge alive for roughly 15 hours vs the AC200MAX's 12 hours.

Pick the Apex 200 if your primary use is weekend camping or 8-hour blackout. Go with the AC200MAX if you want the option to add expansion batteries later. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI AC200MAX

The 2,200W inverter handles most daily devices like laptops, blenders, and TVs, but will struggle with heating elements that require over 1500W. Weighing in at 61.9 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Longer warranty

Trade-offs

  • –Weaker inverter (-1,000W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • –Shorter-lived battery β€” rated for 3,500 charge cycles vs the Apex 200's 6,000, so it wears out sooner.

BLUETTI Apex 200

With a massive 3,200W output, the Apex 200 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 59.5 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion. A standout feature is the value proposition: at roughly $0.43 per watt-hour, it's one of the most cost-effective options on the market.

Strengths

  • +Lighter by 2.4 lb
  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Faster solar charging
  • +Rated for 6,000 charge cycles β€” much longer battery lifespan

Trade-offs

  • –No major technical downsides compared to rival.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 Β· 2 nights Β· needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Apex 200

The AC200MAX doesn't finish β€” 1,741Wh usable against the 2,100Wh this needs leaves it 359Wh short, about 83% of the scenario covered. The Apex 200 covers it with 76Wh to spare.

Camping power station guide β†’

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOADΒ Β Phone Charger 15WΓ—6h Β· LED Lights 40WΓ—8h Β· Box Fan 75WΓ—14h Β· CPAP Machine 40WΓ—16h

SCN-02 Β· 8 hours Β· needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Apex 200

Both survive the night. The Apex 200 finishes at 76% used with 531Wh left β€” 32% of a second night. The AC200MAX finishes at 94% with 96Wh, 6% of a second night. If your outages tend to run past one evening, that difference is the whole argument between them.

Emergency blackout power guide β†’

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOADΒ Β Fridge 150WΓ—8h Β· Router + Modem 20WΓ—8h Β· LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40WΓ—6h Β· Phone Charger 15WΓ—3h

SCN-03 Β· 8 hours Β· needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption β€” the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both of these cover the night several times over β€” capacity isn't the question here. What would separate them is fan noise, but Apex 200 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Only the Apex 200 is still sold, so for a new buy it takes this by default; the AC200MAX is worth weighing on weight and fan noise only if you already own one.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOADΒ Β CPAP Machine 40WΓ—8h

SCN-04 Β· 8 hours Β· needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Apex 200

The Apex 200 clears the workday at 42% used, banking 1,266Wh β€” late work, extra calls, or a second laptop charge without arithmetic. The AC200MAX at 52% also finishes, with 831Wh of slack for the unplanned.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOADΒ Β Laptop 60WΓ—8h Β· External Monitor 30WΓ—8h Β· Router + Modem 20WΓ—8h Β· Phone Charger 15WΓ—2h

SCN-05 Β· 4 hours Β· needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Either unit

Both handle game day easily. Since capacity isn't the deciding factor, weight is: at 59.5 lbs the Apex 200 is the one you'll be glad you brought. Fan noise under load is worth a listen too β€” it's audible in the lulls between songs.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOADΒ Β Blender 400WΓ—0.5h Β· LED TV (55") 80WΓ—4h Β· Bluetooth Speaker 15WΓ—4h Β· Phone Charger (Γ—3) 45WΓ—2h

SCN-06 Β· 24 hours Β· needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living β€” the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Neither unit covers this scenario's 4,685Wh: the AC200MAX comes up 2,944Wh short (about 37% covered), the Apex 200 2,509Wh (47%). Treat this as partial cover β€” enough for the essentials in it, not the whole list.

RV & van-life power guide β†’

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOADΒ Β Mini-Fridge 150WΓ—24h Β· Laptop 60WΓ—4h Β· Phone Charger 15WΓ—3h Β· LED Lights 40WΓ—5h Β· Fan 75WΓ—8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh Γ— 0.85) Γ· LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

AC200MAX8.5h
94% of usable battery in 8h
Apex 20010.6h
75% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: Apex 200 runs 10.6h vs 8.5h.

Check Apex 200 price β†’

$1,099 list Β· direct from BLUETTI

Planning for more than this? Describe your whole setup and get it sizedΒ β†’

Modeled from the spec record β€” same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.ΒΉ

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–145.1h
ApplianceAC200MAXApex 200
CPAP Machine40W draw
AC200MAX: 43.5h5 full nights
Apex 200: 54.4h6 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
AC200MAX: 116.1h
Apex 200: 145.1h
Router + Modem20W draw
AC200MAX: 87h
Apex 200: 108.8h
Starlink75W draw
AC200MAX: 23.2h
Apex 200: 29h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
AC200MAX: 43.5h
Apex 200: 54.4h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
AC200MAX: 29h
Apex 200: 36.3h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–29h
ApplianceAC200MAXApex 200
Box Fan75W draw
AC200MAX: 23.2h
Apex 200: 29h
LED TV (55")80W draw
AC200MAX: 21.8h
Apex 200: 27.2h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
AC200MAX: 11.6h
Apex 200: 14.5h
Electric Blanket200W draw
AC200MAX: 8.7h1 full night
Apex 200: 10.9h1 full night

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–2.2h
ApplianceAC200MAXApex 200
Coffee Maker1000W draw
AC200MAX: 1.7h
Apex 200: 2.2h
Microwave1200W draw
AC200MAX: 1.5h
Apex 200: 1.8h
Space Heater1500W draw
AC200MAX: 1.2h
Apex 200: 1.5h

ΒΉ Runtime = (capacity Γ— 0.85) Γ· appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads β€” see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the Apex 200

The Apex 200 takes the lead, with 512Wh more capacity and 1,000W more output than the AC200MAX. It is also 2.4 lbs lighter.

Cycle lifeApex 2006,000 vs 3,500 cycles
Continuous outputApex 2003,200W vs 2,200W
PortabilityApex 20059.5 vs 61.9 lb
Solar inputApex 2003,000W vs 900W

Overall score margin: 3,356 vs 4,726 (βˆ’40.8%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check Apex 200 price

$1,099.00 Β· direct from BLUETTI

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester Β· Station Arena Test Desk Β· Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

AC200MAXApex 200
Overall Power Score
3,356
4,726
RV LivingEnergy Density & Output
3,294
4,599
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
3,237
4,804
Solar GeneratorSolar Input & Efficiency
3,075
4,704
TailgatingOutlets & Portability
2,929
3,505
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
3,385
4,236
Apartment BalconyCompact Solar Living
3,014
4,485

Not rated for both units (minimum threshold unmet): UPS.

Full specifications

AC200MAX
No longer sold
Apex 200
$1,099β˜… our pick
See live price β†’
Capacity (Wh)
2048
2560
Output (W)
2200
3200
Surge Peak
4800W
Not Specified
AC Outlets
4
4
240V Outlets
0
0
30A RV Outlets
1
1

ᡈ Derived: price Γ· rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons β†’

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool β†’
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it β€” no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity Γ— 0.85 inverter efficiency) Γ· device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page β†’

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews β€” no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5β˜…. Here, AC200MAX rates 3.4/5 (7th percentile of 29 Large-class units), and Apex 200 rates 5.0/5 (99th percentile of 29 Large-class units).

How the class ranking is computed β†’

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[NOTE]

AC200MAX: 61.9 lbs Is a Commitment

At 61.9 lbs, this is manageable but not fun to move. That's heavier than a large checked suitcase. How much it costs you depends on whether it rolls β€” wheels and a telescoping handle change the job completely at this weight, and our spec record doesn't track them, so look at the product photos before you plan on carrying it from the car.

[NOTE]

AC200MAX: 50dB Published

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. It is BLUETTI's own rating rather than a reading on a shared bench β€” makers differ on whether they quote a best case or a figure under load, so treat it as a starting point rather than what you would hear at a bedside. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[ADVANTAGE]

Only the Apex 200 Lists a UPS Mode

The Apex 200 can sit between the wall and your gear and hand it to battery when the grid drops β€” rated ≀15ms β€” fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. Worth it for a router, a desktop PC, or a CPAP. The AC200MAX's spec sheet lists no UPS mode, so anything plugged into it rides an outage only as far as your reaction time.

[NOTE]

Battery Lifespan in Real Years

The Apex 200 is rated for 6,000 cycles vs 3,500. In real life: at daily use, that's 16.4 vs 9.6 years. At weekend use (twice a week), it's 58 vs 34 years. After hitting the cycle limit, the battery doesn't die β€” it drops to ~80% of original capacity, which is still very usable.

[NOTE]

Apex 200: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The AC200MAX publishes its noise level (50dB); the Apex 200 doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the Apex 200 is louder β€” it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the AC200MAX's 50dB as the only published number on the table β€” a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement β€” and look for hands-on reports of the Apex 200 before deciding.

Full record above β€” the Test Desk pick is the Apex 200.

Check Apex 200 price β†’
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy β€” true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

AC200MAXApex 200

β”‚ warranty ends Β· Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains β€” degraded, not dead.

AC200MAX
Apex 200
Purchase price
No longer sold
$1,099.00
Lifetime energy delivered
7,168 kWh
15,360 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
β€”
$0.07
Cost per warranty year
β€”
Not published
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily Β· 33.7yr weekends Β· 67.3yr weekly
16.4yr daily Β· 57.7yr weekends Β· 115.4yr weekly

Analyst note

The AC200MAX is no longer sold, so there is no price to work its cost per kWh from, and this comparison doesn't quote one. On what you can actually buy today, the Apex 200 works out at $0.07/kWh over its rated life. If you already own the AC200MAX, the hardware comparison still holds: over its rated life the AC200MAX delivers about 7,168 kWh and the Apex 200 about 15,360 kWh.

Growth path

AC200MAX

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit β€” useful if your needs may climb past 2,048Wh.

Accepts up to 900W of solar. Suitable for a 1-2 panel setup.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

Apex 200

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit β€” useful if your needs may climb past 2,560Wh.

Accepts up to 3,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

AC200MAXApex 200

Analyst note

Growth only counts if you can still buy in, and the AC200MAX is no longer sold (BLUETTI points owners to the AC200L). That leaves the Apex 200: it starts at 2,560Wh and takes BLUETTI expansion batteries, so the ceiling moves if your needs do. The AC200MAX's expandability still matters if you already own one, but it isn't a reason to pick it over the Apex 200.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The Apex 200 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above β€” if the AC200MAX wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the AC200MAX nor the Apex 200 feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use β€” weekend camping or phone/laptop charging β€” you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

How does the 512Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The Apex 200's 2,560Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 15 hours vs the AC200MAX's 12 hours. Both can handle a full 8-hour blackout setup (fridge + router + lights + phone charging β‰ˆ 1,645Wh), but the Apex 200 finishes with significantly more margin. That matters if conditions aren't ideal or the outage runs long. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32Β°F/0Β°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The Apex 200's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the Apex 200 accepts 3,000W vs the AC200MAX's 900W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 1.2 hours for the Apex 200 and 3.3 hours for the AC200MAX. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the Apex 200's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the Apex 200's advantage is substantial.

"6,000 vs 3,500 cycles" β€” what does that actually mean for me?

In real years: the Apex 200 (6,000 cycles) lasts 16.4 years at daily use, 58 years at weekend use (twice a week), or 250 years at twice-monthly camping trips. The AC200MAX (3,500 cycles): 9.6 years daily, 34 years weekends, or 146 years twice-monthly. What most people miss: hitting the cycle limit doesn't kill your battery. Capacity drops to about 80%. Your 2,560Wh unit becomes a ~2,048Wh unit. Still very usable. For weekend users, both batteries will outlast the warranty by years.

Can I use the Apex 200 as a home UPS to protect my electronics during blackouts?

Yes. The Apex 200 has UPS mode that keeps your devices running through power transitions. Plug in your desktop PC, router, NAS, or CPAP machine and it switches to battery seamlessly when the grid drops. The AC200MAX does not have this feature. Without UPS, a blackout means: your PC reboots (potentially corrupting unsaved work), your NAS may corrupt its drive array, your CPAP alarms and wakes you up, and your security cameras go dark until you manually switch them over. If always-on power protection matters, this is a dealbreaker advantage for the Apex 200.

Bottom line: should I buy the AC200MAX or the Apex 200?

We'd buy the Apex 200. The AC200MAX is no longer sold, so there is no price to weigh it against; the comparison on this page still helps if you own one.

Check Apex 200 price β†’

Where to buy

AC200MAX

BLUETTI AC200MAX

Sold out at BLUETTI

Apex 200

BLUETTI Apex 200Pick

$1,099.00

Check current price

$1,099.00 Β· direct from BLUETTI

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.

No longer soldAC200MAX