PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 6×B500 vs BLUETTI AC500 + 2×B300K

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: BLUETTI AC500 + 2×B300K →

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)

Spec deltas

Capacity
29,760Wh
5,530Wh
Output
18,000W
5,000W
Weight
932 lb
196.1 lb
Typical price
$28,196
No longer sold
Cost / Wh
$0.95
—
Cycle life
6,000
3,500
Solar input
18,000W
3,000W
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 (29,760Wh, 18,000W) and the AC500 + 2×B300K (5,530Wh, 5,000W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities and a $24,248 price gap. The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 has a slight edge, but the margin is close enough that your use case should break the tie.

What the spec gap means in practice: the 2×EP900 + 6×B500's 18,000W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The AC500 + 2×B300K's 5,000W inverter still runs most single appliances; the 2×EP900 + 6×B500's real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 keeps a fridge alive for roughly 169 hours vs the AC500 + 2×B300K's 31 hours. The cost? Portability. At 932 lbs, the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is spread across boxes you site once and leave. The AC500 + 2×B300K at 196.1 lbs is more manageable, though still not light.

Pick the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 if your primary use is 8-hour blackout or remote workday. Go with the AC500 + 2×B300K if you primarily need it for van life daily. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 6×B500

With a massive 18,000W output, the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 932 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Longer warranty
  • +Faster solar charging
  • +Rated for 6,000 charge cycles — much longer battery lifespan

Trade-offs

  • –Significantly heavier (+735.9 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • –Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.

BLUETTI AC500 + 2×B300K

With a massive 5,000W output (and 10,000W surge), the AC500 + 2×B300K can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 196.1 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Lighter by 735.9 lb

Trade-offs

  • –Weaker inverter (-13,000W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • –Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
  • –Shorter-lived battery — rated for 3,500 charge cycles vs the 2×EP900 + 6×B500's 6,000, so it wears out sooner.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the AC500 + 2×B300K at 196.1 lbs is not a take-along — it rolls off a truck bed if it travels at all. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide →

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

2×EP900 + 6×B500

Both survive the night. The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 finishes at 7% used with 23,651Wh left — 14.4 more nights like it. The AC500 + 2×B300K finishes at 35% with 3,056Wh, 1.9 more nights like it. If your outages tend to run past one evening, that difference is the whole argument between them.

Emergency blackout power guide →

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both of these cover the night several times over — capacity isn't the question here. What would separate them is fan noise, but AC500 + 2×B300K doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Only the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is still sold, so for a new buy it takes this by default; the AC500 + 2×B300K is worth weighing on weight and fan noise only if you already own one.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

2×EP900 + 6×B500

The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 clears the workday at 4% used, banking 24,386Wh — late work, extra calls, or a second laptop charge without arithmetic. The AC500 + 2×B300K at 19% also finishes, with 3,791Wh of slack for the unplanned.

UPS & desk backup guide →

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the AC500 + 2×B300K at 196.1 lbs is not a take-along — it rolls off a truck bed if it travels at all. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

AC500 + 2×B300K

The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, so this scenario belongs to the AC500 + 2×B300K by default — and it earns it, covering the 4,685Wh with only 16Wh left — well under half a percent of what the day asks, so it finishes with nothing behind it. Capacity was never the 2×EP900 + 6×B500's problem here; getting to a van build was.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP900 + 6×B500123.4h
6% of usable battery in 8h
AC500 + 2×B300K22.9h
35% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: 2×EP900 + 6×B500 runs 123.4h vs 22.9h.

Check 2×EP900 + 6×B500 price →

$28,196 list · direct from BLUETTI

Planning for more than this? Describe your whole setup and get it sized →

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–1686.4h
Appliance2×EP900 + 6×B500AC500 + 2×B300K
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 632.4h79 full nights
AC500 + 2×B300K: 117.5h14 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 1686.4h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 313.4h
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 1264.8h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 235h
Starlink75W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 337.3h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 62.7h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 632.4h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 117.5h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 421.6h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 78.3h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–337.3h
Appliance2×EP900 + 6×B500AC500 + 2×B300K
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 337.3h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 62.7h
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 316.2h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 58.8h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 168.6h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 31.3h
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 126.5h15 full nights
AC500 + 2×B300K: 23.5h2 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–25.3h
Appliance2×EP900 + 6×B500AC500 + 2×B300K
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 25.3h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 4.7h
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 21.1h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 3.9h
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP900 + 6×B500: 16.9h
AC500 + 2×B300K: 3.1h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the 2×EP900 + 6×B500, on Power Score margin

These two units are closely matched on individual specs, but our Power Score analysis gives the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 the edge with a composite score of 22,923 vs 6,009.

Cycle life2×EP900 + 6×B5006,000 vs 3,500 cycles
Continuous output2×EP900 + 6×B50018,000W vs 5,000W
PortabilityAC500 + 2×B300K196.1 vs 932 lb
Solar input2×EP900 + 6×B50018,000W vs 3,000W

Overall score margin: 22,923 vs 6,009 (+281.5%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check 2×EP900 + 6×B500 price

$28,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 89 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP900 + 6×B500AC500 + 2×B300K
Overall Power Score
22,923
6,009
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
23,745
6,152
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
21,512
5,955

Full specifications

2×EP900 + 6×B500
$28,196★ our pick
See live price →
AC500 + 2×B300K
No longer sold
Capacity (Wh)
29760
5530
Output (W)
18000
5000
Surge Peak
Not Specified
10000W
AC Outlets
Hardwired
3
240V Outlets
Hardwired
0
30A RV Outlets
0
1

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP900 + 6×B500 rates 5.0/5 (97th percentile of 37 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and AC500 + 2×B300K rates 4.1/5 (47th percentile of 20 Home Backup-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The AC500 + 2×B300K (196.1 lbs) is spread across its boxes — no single lift, but nothing you reposition on a whim. The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 (932 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[NOTE]

2×EP900 + 6×B500: 50dB Published

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. It is BLUETTI's own rating rather than a reading on a shared bench — makers differ on whether they quote a best case or a figure under load, so treat it as a starting point rather than what you would hear at a bedside. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

AC500 + 2×B300K: Power Lifting to 6,000W

The AC500 + 2×B300K has BLUETTI's Power Lifting mode, which runs a resistive appliance rated up to 6,000W from its 5,000W inverter. It does that by delivering less power than the appliance asks for, not more than the inverter has: the heater still works, it just heats more slowly. Two things follow. BLUETTI scopes the mode to purely resistive loads — a heater, a kettle, an incandescent lamp — so it does nothing for a fridge compressor, a pump or a power tool; for motor loads the figure to read is the AC500 + 2×B300K's separate 10,000W surge peak, not this one. And it is not a reason to size down, because running a load that big from 5,530Wh is a short session either way. Genuinely useful if a heater or a kettle is why you're buying; beside the point otherwise. Our record for the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 carries no Power Lifting figure, so check BLUETTI's own spec sheet before reading this as something the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 lacks.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤10ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is rated ≤10ms — quick enough on paper that desktop PCs and routers should ride through, treating that as the rating it is. The AC500 + 2×B300K is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

Warranty: 10 Years vs 4

The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is covered for 10 years against the AC500 + 2×B300K's 4 years. An underrated factor if you're keeping this unit for years.

[NOTE]

Battery Lifespan in Real Years

The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is rated for 6,000 cycles vs 3,500. In real life: at daily use, that's 16.4 vs 9.6 years. At weekend use (twice a week), it's 58 vs 34 years. One caution reading years across different sizes: a cycle is 29,760Wh on the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 and 5,530Wh on the AC500 + 2×B300K, so count lifetime energy — roughly 178,560 kWh against 19,355 kWh over the rated life. After hitting the cycle limit, the battery doesn't die — it drops to ~80% of original capacity, which is still very usable.

[NOTE]

AC500 + 2×B300K: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 publishes its noise level (50dB); the AC500 + 2×B300K doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the AC500 + 2×B300K is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the 2×EP900 + 6×B500's 50dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the AC500 + 2×B300K before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the 2×EP900 + 6×B500.

Check 2×EP900 + 6×B500 price →
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP900 + 6×B500AC500 + 2×B300K

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

2×EP900 + 6×B500
AC500 + 2×B300K
Purchase price
$28,196.00
No longer sold
Lifetime energy delivered
178,560 kWh
19,355 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.16
—
Cost per warranty year
$2,820/yr
—
Battery lifespan
16.4yr daily · 57.7yr weekends · 115.4yr weekly
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekends · 67.3yr weekly

Analyst note

The AC500 + 2×B300K is no longer sold, so there is no price to work its cost per kWh from, and this comparison doesn't quote one. On what you can actually buy today, the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 works out at $0.16/kWh over its rated life. If you already own the AC500 + 2×B300K, the hardware comparison still holds: over its rated life the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 delivers about 178,560 kWh and the AC500 + 2×B300K about 19,355 kWh.

Growth path

2×EP900 + 6×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 29,760Wh.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

AC500 + 2×B300K

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 5,530Wh.

Accepts up to 3,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP900 + 6×B500AC500 + 2×B300K

Analyst note

Growth only counts if you can still buy in, and the AC500 + 2×B300K is no longer sold (BLUETTI points owners to the Apex 300 + B300K). That leaves the 2×EP900 + 6×B500: it starts at 29,760Wh and takes BLUETTI expansion batteries, so the ceiling moves if your needs do. The AC500 + 2×B300K's expandability still matters if you already own one, but it isn't a reason to pick it over the 2×EP900 + 6×B500.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the AC500 + 2×B300K wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 nor the AC500 + 2×B300K feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

How does the 24,230Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The 2×EP900 + 6×B500's 29,760Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 169 hours vs the AC500 + 2×B300K's 31 hours. Both can handle a full 8-hour blackout setup (fridge + router + lights + phone charging ≈ 1,645Wh), but the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 finishes with significantly more margin. That matters if conditions aren't ideal or the outage runs long. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The 2×EP900 + 6×B500's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the 2×EP900 + 6×B500, or is the AC500 + 2×B300K the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The AC500 + 2×B300K (196.1 lbs) and the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 (932 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 735.9-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 accepts 18,000W vs the AC500 + 2×B300K's 3,000W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 2.4 hours for the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 and 2.6 hours for the AC500 + 2×B300K. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the 2×EP900 + 6×B500's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the 2×EP900 + 6×B500's advantage is substantial.

"6,000 vs 3,500 cycles" — what does that actually mean for me?

In real years: the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 (6,000 cycles) lasts 16.4 years at daily use, 58 years at weekend use (twice a week), or 250 years at twice-monthly camping trips. The AC500 + 2×B300K (3,500 cycles): 9.6 years daily, 34 years weekends, or 146 years twice-monthly. What most people miss: hitting the cycle limit doesn't kill your battery. Capacity drops to about 80%. Your 29,760Wh unit becomes a ~23,808Wh unit. Still very usable. For weekend users, both batteries will outlast the warranty by years.

Bottom line: should I buy the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 or the AC500 + 2×B300K?

We'd buy the 2×EP900 + 6×B500. The AC500 + 2×B300K is no longer sold, so there is no price to weigh it against; the comparison on this page still helps if you own one.

Check 2×EP900 + 6×B500 price →

Where to buy

2×EP900 + 6×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 6×B500Pick

$28,196.00

Check current price

$28,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 89 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

AC500 + 2×B300K

BLUETTI AC500 + 2×B300K

Sold out at BLUETTI

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.

No longer soldAC500 + 2×B300K