PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500 vs BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 6×B500

The EP800 wins the invoice and loses the decade: same 29,760Wh either way, but 3,500 cycles against 6,000 means the cheaper system is the one you replace first.

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP800 + 6×B500

29,760Wh15,200W976.8 lb

21,649Power Score · Grid-Independent

Check price →

$23,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 6×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP900 + 6×B500

29,760Wh18,000W932 lb

22,923Power Score · Grid-Independent

Check price →

$28,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 32 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
29,760Wh
matched
29,760Wh
Output
15,200W
18,000W
Weight
976.8 lb
932 lb
Typical price
$23,998
$28,196
Cost / Wh
$0.81
$0.95
Cycle life
3,500
6,000
Solar input
18,000W
matched
18,000W
01

Same battery bank, same 29,760Wh, same 18,000W of solar the two can swallow: the 2xEP800 and 2xEP900 builds are twins from the storage side. What separates them sits in the two inverter heads bolted to the front.

The EP900 is the newer, tougher head. It is rated for 6,000 charge cycles where the EP800 stops at 3,500, pushes 18,000W of continuous power against 15,200W, and flips from grid to battery in 10 milliseconds instead of 20. It also carries a 10-year warranty; our spec sheet lists no warranty term for the EP800 configuration at all.

All of that costs $3,598 more up front, and here is the turn: over the life of the system, the pricier box is the cheaper one. Nearly double the cycles on the same capacity drops the EP900 to $0.15 per lifetime kilowatt-hour against the EP800's $0.23. The only way the EP800 wins is if you barely cycle it. A backup unit that spends most of its life at rest never reaches the 3,500-cycle wall, and then the $3,598 is just money saved.

02

What the Numbers Reveal

Each conclusion stated first — the numbers behind it on one line, the full analysis below.

F1

rated cycles

Run the same 29,760Wh through nearly twice as many cycles and the ranking inverts. The EP900 delivers its energy at $0.15 per lifetime kilowatt-hour against $0.23, so the box with the higher sticker is the one that is cheaper to actually own.

EP800 stack lists at $23,998 and $0.81 per nameplate WhEP900 stack lists at $27,596 and $0.92 per nameplate Whboth hold the same 29,760Wh, but the EP900 is rated 6,000 cycles to the EP800's 3,500

Why it mattersIf this system will cycle regularly, daily solar self-consumption or off-grid living, the EP900's premium pays itself back and then some; the EP800 only wins on a spreadsheet that stops at checkout.

F2

continuous output

That leaves the EP800 with no capability it holds over the EP900: same storage, less power, a slower transfer, and 44.8 lb more mass. Its only remaining argument is the price tag.

EP900 pushes 18,000W continuous to the EP800's 15,200WEP900 stack weighs 932 lb against the EP800's 976.8 lbEP900 transfers in 10ms (line-interactive) versus the EP800's 20ms (standby)

Why it mattersAnyone shortlisting on what the system can do, rather than what it costs, has already arrived at the EP900.

F3

The EP900's cycle advantage only turns into money when the cycles actually get used. A rare-use backup buyer will retire this system for obsolescence long before either hits its cycle wall, so for them the $3,598 saved is real and the longevity gap is theoretical.

at weekend-cadence use the EP800's 3,500 cycles translate to about 33.7 years, the EP900's 6,000 to 57.7every listed scenario, up to Van Life Daily's draw, leaves both systems barely dented

Why it mattersBuy the EP800 with a clear conscience if this is standby insurance you hope never to lean on; buy the EP900 if it is going to work for a living.

The specific dimensions that decide these two units — everything else is a tie.

Lifetime Value

Selected because: The whole matchup: identical capacity, opposite verdicts on sticker versus lifetime cost.

cost / lifetime kWh

Both stacks store 29,760Wh and both are the same physical battery bank, so every kilowatt-hour they will ever deliver comes down to how many times you can refill them. The EP800 is rated for 3,500 cycles, the EP900 for 6,000, and that single number does all the work here: it is the difference between $0.23 and $0.15 for each lifetime kilowatt-hour. State that once and the rest of this page is commentary on it.

The premium is $3,598, and nothing else on the EP900 side of the ledger has to justify it; the cycle life alone does. What the extra power, the faster transfer, and the warranty add is margin on a case that was already made.

PowerScore Breakdown

Selected because: Explains the output, UPS, and weight edge and why the EP900 scores higher despite identical storage.

overall power score

The EP900 stack scores 24,849 to the EP800's 23,564, and unlike most score gaps this one is not about capacity, because the capacity is identical. It is measuring the inverter: 18,000W of continuous output against 15,200W, a 10ms line-interactive transfer against a 20ms standby one, and a longer cycle rating. More capable head, higher score.

The quiet joke in the spec table is that the stronger system is also the lighter one, 932 lb against 976.8. At roughly half a ton installed, nobody is going to feel 44.8 pounds, but it does mean the EP900's extra 2,800 watts arrive without a weight penalty, which is not how these trades usually go.

What the Specs Don't Tell You

Selected because: Weight reality, EP900's disclosed 50dB against the EP800's undisclosed noise, UPS topology, cycle-life in real years.

rated cycles

The weight flag fires on both, and it is the honest kind: at 976.8 and 932 pounds these are not power stations you move, they are appliances you install, with floor loading and a permanent home to plan for. Treat the delivery pallet as the last time either one travels.

The noise flag splits them in a way worth knowing. BLUETTI rates the EP900 at 50 dB under load; for the EP800 configuration our data carries no published figure at all. That is not evidence the EP800 is louder, it is the absence of evidence either way, and on a system this expensive you would rather read the number than guess it. On transfer speed, the EP900's line-interactive 10ms is the genuinely better UPS topology for sensitive electronics, though both are quick enough to keep a fridge and a router alive through the switch.

Growth Path

Selected because: Both expand identically, so it is a non-factor; say so and move on.

Both take BLUETTI expansion batteries, so both can grow past 29,760Wh later. This is the one row in the comparison that is a genuine tie, and it should not sway anyone; the expansion checkbox reads the same on both boxes.

Decide this on the cycle life and the price, because those are the columns that actually differ. Growth capacity is not the tiebreaker here; there is nothing to break.

Strengths & trade-offs

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

Strengths

  • +Costs $4,198 less

Trade-offs

  • Significantly heavier (+44.8 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Weaker inverter (-2,800W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
  • Shorter-lived battery — rated for 3,500 charge cycles vs the 2×EP900 + 6×B500's 6,000, so it wears out sooner.

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 6×B500

Strengths

  • +Lighter by 44.8 lb
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Longer warranty
  • +Rated for 6,000 charge cycles — much longer battery lifespan

Trade-offs

  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Either unit

Both cover a blackout of this length without noticing it; you would use a single-digit slice of either 29,760Wh bank and still have days of runway. Since the storage is identical, the tiebreak is the transfer: the EP900 catches the outage in 10ms against the EP800's 20ms, the better topology if you have sensitive electronics riding through. For a fridge and some lights, either is instant enough.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but 2×EP800 + 6×B500 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain, and their USB-C output is a wash — pick on weight, ports, or price.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

This is the heaviest continuous draw on the list, and both stacks shrug it off with the vast majority of the tank still full. That is the tell: capacity is not the deciding axis here, because these are twins on storage. If you run loads like this every day, the cycle life is what you are actually choosing between, and daily cycling is exactly where the EP900's 6,000-cycle rating pulls ahead.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP800 + 6×B500123.4h
6% of usable battery in 8h
2×EP900 + 6×B500123.4h
6% of usable battery in 8h

Dead heat — both run this 205W load for roughly 123.4h. Pick on price, weight, or ports.

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–1686.4h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 6×B500
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 632.4h · same79 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 1686.4h · same
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 1264.8h · same
Starlink75W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 337.3h · same
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 632.4h · same
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 421.6h · same

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–337.3h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 6×B500
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 337.3h · same
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 316.2h · same
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 168.6h · same
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 126.5h · same15 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–25.3h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 6×B500
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 25.3h · same
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 21.1h · same
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500 & 2×EP900 + 6×B500: 16.9h · same

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 18, 2026

Verdict: the 2×EP900 + 6×B500, on Power Score margin

Buy the 2xEP900 stack unless this system will mostly sit idle as rare-use backup. For $3,598 more it delivers the same 29,760Wh through nearly twice the cycles, 6,000 against 3,500, which is why it lands at $0.15 per lifetime kilowatt-hour where the EP800 sits at $0.23. It also pushes more continuous power, 18,000W versus 15,200W, switches over in 10ms instead of 20, weighs slightly less, and carries a 10-year warranty where our spec sheet lists none for the EP800. The EP800's entire case is the lower price and a better cost per nameplate watt-hour, $0.81 against $0.92; if you cycle this daily for solar self-consumption or off-grid living, that saving evaporates against the shorter lifespan. Field data for either exact dual-inverter stack is thin, so this rests on the platform specs, not owner mileageA5B9.

Cost to own2×EP900 + 6×B500$0.16 vs $0.23 /lifetime-kWh
Cycle life2×EP900 + 6×B5006,000 vs 3,500 cycles
Continuous output2×EP900 + 6×B50018,000W vs 15,200W
Sticker price2×EP800 + 6×B500$23,998 vs $28,196
Portability2×EP900 + 6×B500932 vs 976.8 lb
■■■■■■■□□□7/10

Editor-assigned confidence, based on cited owner research and spec analysis.

List prices as of July 18, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check 2×EP900 + 6×B500 price

$28,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 32 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price$23,998.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 18, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 6×B500
Overall Power Score
21,649
22,923
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
22,348
23,745
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
19,729
21,512

Full specifications

2×EP800 + 6×B500
$23,998
Updated Jul 18
See live price →
2×EP900 + 6×B500
$28,196★ our pick
Updated Jul 18
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
29760
29760
Output (W)
15200
18000
Surge Peak
Not Specified
Not Specified
AC Outlets
Hardwired (120/240V)
Hardwired
USB-C Charging Outputs
0
N/A
Solar Input (W)
18000
18000

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews — see Sources & Research Notes below.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP800 + 6×B500 rates 4.6/5 (75th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and 2×EP900 + 6×B500 rates 5.0/5 (99th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Delivery is the last trip either one takes

At 976.8 pounds for the EP800 stack and 932 for the EP900, neither of these is a portable anything. They are wired into your panel and they stay put, so factor in floor loading and a permanent, ventilated home. The 44.8-pound difference between them is meaningless next to the half-ton reality of both.

[NOTE]

2×EP900 + 6×B500: 50dB Under Load

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 publishes no figure to compare it against, which cuts both ways. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤10ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is rated ≤10ms — quick enough on paper that desktop PCs and routers should ride through, treating that as the rating it is. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

The 2,500-cycle head start, in years

Same 29,760Wh bank, two different lifespans. Cycled daily, the EP800's 3,500-cycle rating works out to roughly 9.6 years and the EP900's 6,000 to about 16.4; at a gentler weekend cadence it is 33.7 against 57.7. If you cycle hard, that gap is the whole decision. If this is rare-use backup, both outlive the electronics they protect and the gap stops mattering.

[CAUTION]

One of them publishes a noise number

BLUETTI rates the EP900 at 50 dB under load. For this EP800 configuration our spec sheet lists no noise figure at all. That is not proof it is louder, it is just unmeasured here, and on a five-figure system you would rather have the number in writing than infer it from a sibling. If quiet operation near living space matters, the EP900 is the one that at least tells you what to expect.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the 2×EP900 + 6×B500.

Check 2×EP900 + 6×B500 price →or check the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 6×B500

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

2×EP800 + 6×B500
2×EP900 + 6×B500
Purchase price
$23,998.00
$28,196.00
Lifetime energy delivered
104,160 kWh
178,560 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.23
$0.16
Cost per warranty year
$∞/yr
$2,820/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
16.4yr daily · 57.7yr weekend · 115.4yr weekly

Analyst note

The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is cheaper to buy, but the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 is cheaper to own. At $0.16/kWh over its lifetime vs $0.23/kWh, the 2×EP900 + 6×B500's higher cycle life and capacity make each dollar go further over the years.

Growth path

2×EP800 + 6×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 29,760Wh.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP900 + 6×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 29,760Wh.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 6×B500

Analyst note

Both expand, so neither locks you out of growth — decide on capacity, price, and the rest, not the expansion checkbox.

06

What Owners Report

Patterns from published owner reports and long-term reviews — every claim cited to its source below.

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

Start with the honest gap: no owner account exists anywhere of a dual-EP800 install at this scale. What is out there is platform-level chatter on the single EP800 and its B500 batteries, and the loudest note is price, with forum shoppers calling it a strong product their wallet will not allow and arguing the premium brands have priced themselves out of reach for most peopleA1A2. That is a purchase-day gripe, and this build is a steeper one than most.

The other recurring worry is support and lock-in. Prospective buyers flag BLUETTI's support reputation as a question mark and point out that the batteries are proprietary to the inverter, so a dead head unit strands the entire bankA3A4. One owner on a sibling head running the same B500 batteries reports the opposite, flawless switching and outstanding buildA7, but that is not this inverter, so take it as encouraging rather than proof. On fan noise or idle draw for the EP800 itself, the field data is simply silent.

Haven't run accross any tests on this yet, but given the Bluetti marketing proclivity of over simplifying what it takes and how much energy it takes to power a house I have some doubts.
DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread, 2024-06

Sources

solarquotes.com.au

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 6×B500

The EP900 has more field presence, though still not for this exact six-battery stack. Owners running EP900-plus-B500 backups describe the grid-to-battery handoff as effectively invisible; one in Costa Rica, riding out rainy-season blackouts, says the transfer is unnoticeable when the power dropsB1B2. On noise, the 50 dB rating is described as genuinely quiet unless you are pushing it hardB3, and the battery-to-battery cabling gets specific praise for finally being tidy instead of the bulky cables on BLUETTI's older unitsB4B5.

The skepticism is worth carrying too. DIY-forum owners doubt the outdoor-enclosure marketing, warning that in desert heat or a string of sub-freezing solar-less days they would not count on it installed outsideB6B7, and they wonder aloud how much the system quietly consumes just idlingB8. Support runs mixed: some got a firmware issue resolved in under a day, others went in wary of BLUETTI's reputationB9B10. Closest to this build, one owner wiring a dual-EP900 setup into an AT1 smart panel had to rework it to meet electrical codeB11, a reminder that at this scale you are commissioning an install, not unboxing a gadget.

Bought the EP900 + 3×B500 for our home in Costa Rica. We experience plenty of blackouts especially during the rainy season where trees are often known to fall and break a power line.
Lifenhancer — Bluetti EP900 Review (embedded owner review), 2025-03

Sources & Research Notes

Every owner claim in this report is traceable to a published source. The bracketed references above resolve here.

Recurring owner themes

  • Prospective buyers on DIY/solar forums consistently cite the EP800's price premium as the main barrier, even while acknowledging it's a strong product — a bigger spend still in a dual-inverter whole-home build. [2×EP800 + 6×B500 · 2 entries]
  • Forum members weighing a purchase voice skepticism about Bluetti's support reputation and the risk of proprietary battery lock-in if an inverter head unit ever fails. [2×EP800 + 6×B500 · 2 entries]
  • Owners installing the EP900+B500 stack for whole-home UPS backup report the transfer switchover is fast and effectively unnoticeable. [2×EP900 + 6×B500 · 2 entries]
  • Skepticism exists among DIY-forum owners/prospective buyers about real-world outdoor thermal performance and standby power consumption despite optimistic marketing claims. [2×EP900 + 6×B500 · 3 entries]
  • Mixed but generally cautious sentiment on Bluetti customer/tech support for this specific high-end ESS product — some experienced fast fixes, others voiced uncertainty going in. [2×EP900 + 6×B500 · 2 entries]
  • Cable/connector design between EP900 and B500 battery modules is seen as a real improvement over Bluetti's older bulky portable-unit cabling. [2×EP900 + 6×B500 · 2 entries]
  • A1

    It's a good product, but... many guys wallet won't allow it.

    DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread · 2024-06 · [negative]

  • A2

    I feel that the premiums of the leading power station companies's products are too high... In the current economic environment, products with high cost performance are more suitable for most people.

    DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread · 2024-06 · [negative]

  • A3

    Reputation for support is not great.

    DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread · 2024-06 · [negative]

  • A4

    If the inverter fails, the batteries are unusable with any other Inverter.

    DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread · 2024-06 · [negative]

  • A5

    Haven't run accross any tests on this yet, but given the Bluetti marketing proclivity of over simplifying what it takes and how much energy it takes to power a house I have some doubts.

    DIY Solar Power Forum — "Has anyone used the Bluetti EP800 System?" thread · 2024-06 · [mixed]

  • A7

    Has performed flawlessly... switches seamlessly and reliably, with no issues whatsoever. Outstanding build quality and an intuitive app.

    SolarQuotes.com.au — "Bluetti | Battery Review: Pros, Cons & Final Verdict" (owner installed EP760 + 8×B500) · 2026-05 · [positive]

  • B1

    Bought the EP900 + 3×B500 for our home in Costa Rica. We experience plenty of blackouts especially during the rainy season where trees are often known to fall and break a power line.

    Lifenhancer — Bluetti EP900 Review (embedded owner review) · 2025-03 · [positive]

  • B2

    The .10s transfer makes it completely unnoticeable when the power outage occurs.

    Lifenhancer — Bluetti EP900 Review (embedded owner review) · 2025-03 · [positive]

  • B3

    It's fan-cooled but is rated at a very quiet 50 decibels. If it's anything like my AC500, it will be super quiet unless you're pushing it very hard.

    Lifenhancer — Bluetti EP900 Review · 2025-03 · [positive]

  • B4

    There aren't any thick cables sticking out of the side like there are on the AC200, 300, and 500, because they're all run neatly inside the protective covers on the left of the unit.

    Lifenhancer — Bluetti EP900 Review · 2025-03 · [positive]

  • B5

    Nice that Bluetti finally came up with a battery cable system between it's batteries that isn't a giant bulky obtrusive cable sticking a foot out. Well done.

    diysolarforum — "Bluetti EP900 to Power your House" thread · 2023-04 · [positive]

  • B6

    Sunshine on it, it'll get hot. 110-118f las vegas or CA desert temps, good luck.

    diysolarforum — "Bluetti EP900 to Power your House" thread · 2023-04 · [negative]

  • B7

    Sub freezing temps, good luck. It may have temperature protections, or even internal heat, but if you need to use it in real heat, or real cold for a string of near solar-less winter days I wouldn't count on it if it's installed outside.

    diysolarforum — "Bluetti EP900 to Power your House" thread · 2023-04 · [negative]

  • B8

    Imho, Bluetti marketing is quite unrealistic. I wonder what the units consume themselves.

    diysolarforum — "Bluetti EP900 to Power your House" thread · 2023-04 · [negative]

  • B9

    HI Yes it would be nice to hear what's going on with this famous ep900 on paper it's a dream but who knows with Bluetti tech support?

    diysolarforum — "Bluetti EP900" thread · 2023-04 · [mixed]

  • B10

    As far as I know, customer service for EP800/900 ESS can be reached directly through this number... Their email support is also very responsive, and last time it took less than 24 hours to resolve a firmware issue with my AC500.

    diysolarforum — "Bluetti EP900" thread · 2023-04 · [positive]

  • B11

    I recently purchased and just installed the AT1 Smart Panel, after I was told by Bluetti Engineering that it was compatible with a dual EP900 setup. I had to change my setup to comply with NEC 705.12 code requirements.

    BLUETTI Community forum — "Dual EP900 and AT1 installation issues" · 2025-12 · [mixed]

Research compiled July 18, 2026.

07

Who Should Buy Which

Buy the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 if you…

  • The buyer installing this as standby insurance that will rarely cycle. If the system spends most of the year at rest waiting for an outage, you never approach the 3,500-cycle limit, and the $3,598 you save is money the EP900's longevity was never going to earn back for you.
  • The buyer who needs 29,760Wh at the lowest cost of entry and gets it at $0.81 per nameplate watt-hour, provided you have made peace with no published warranty term and a slower 20ms transfer.

This is you — check the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price

Buy the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 if you…

  • Anyone cycling this daily: solar self-consumption, off-grid, or a home that leans on the battery year-round. The 6,000-cycle rating is where your money is, and at daily use it is the difference between roughly 9.6 and 16.4 years before the bank is spent.
  • The buyer who wants the stronger whole-home inverter full stop: 18,000W of continuous power, a 10ms line-interactive transfer for sensitive electronics, and a 10-year warranty behind a five-figure purchase.

This is you — check the 2×EP900 + 6×B500 price

If neither fits

If your real load is a fridge, a few circuits, and the occasional weekend of camping, both of these are wildly oversized. You would be buying a 29,760Wh whole-home system to do a job a single 2 to 5kWh portable handles. Get the portable, keep the other twenty-odd thousand dollars, and revisit a stack like this only when you are actually backing a whole house.

08

The Bottom Line

Take the 2xEP900 stack if this system is going to work: cycle daily, carry a house, earn its keep. Same 29,760Wh as the EP800, but 6,000 cycles against 3,500 means it delivers that energy at $0.15 per lifetime kilowatt-hour instead of $0.23, and the $3,598 premium comes back over the years you run it. The extra output, the faster transfer, and the 10-year warranty are the margin on a decision the cycle life already settled.

The one clean reason to take the EP800 is if it will mostly sit idle. Standby insurance that never approaches 3,500 cycles does not care about the longevity gap, and there the lower price is just money in your pocket. Everything else, capability, warranty, cost to own, points at the EP900.

09

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the BLUETTI EP900 worth $3,598 more than the EP800 for the same capacity?

If you will cycle the system regularly, yes. Both hold 29,760Wh, but the EP900 is rated for 6,000 charge cycles against the EP800's 3,500, which drops its lifetime energy cost to $0.15 per kilowatt-hour versus $0.23. Cycle it daily and the premium pays back; leave it sitting as rare-use backup and it may not.

Why do the EP800 and EP900 have the same batteries but different cycle ratings?

Both stacks use the same six B500 modules, but the cycle rating our data lists tracks the system as a whole, and the EP900 platform is rated higher, 6,000 cycles to the EP800's 3,500. In practice that rating is the single biggest difference between these two builds, so it is worth taking seriously rather than treating as a rounding detail.

How much power can these run at once?

The EP800 stack delivers 15,200W of continuous output; the EP900 stack delivers 18,000W. Both are genuine whole-home figures, and 15,200W already covers a well pump, HVAC, and a kitchen running together in most houses, but the EP900's extra 2,800W buys headroom for the heaviest simultaneous loads. Neither is your bottleneck for typical use.

Are these portable, or do they need professional installation?

These are installed fixtures, not portable stations. At 976.8 and 932 pounds for the full stacks, they are wired into your home's panel by an electrician, often with a smart transfer panel, and one dual-EP900 owner had to rework their setup to meet electrical code. Plan for a permanent location and a pro install, not a box you carry to the driveway.

Check 2×EP900 + 6×B500 price →

Where to buy

2×EP800 + 6×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

$23,998.00

Check current price

$23,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

2×EP900 + 6×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 6×B500Pick

$28,196.00

Check current price

$28,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 32 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.