PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500 vs BLUETTI EP900 + 4×B500

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: BLUETTI EP900 + 4×B500

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP900 + 4×B500

19,840Wh15,200W686 lb

17,551Power Score · Whole-Home Capable

Check price →

$21,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI EP900 + 4×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

EP900 + 4×B500

19,840Wh9,000W589 lb

14,607Power Score · Whole-Home Capable

Check price →

$17,298.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
19,840Wh
matched
19,840Wh
Output
15,200W
9,000W
Weight
686 lb
589 lb
Typical price
$21,196
$17,298
Cost / Wh
$1.07
$0.87
Cycle life
6,000
matched
6,000
Solar input
18,000W
9,000W
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The 2×EP900 + 4×B500 (19,840Wh, 15,200W) and the EP900 + 4×B500 (19,840Wh, 9,000W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities and a $3,898 price gap. We'd buy the EP900 + 4×B500.

With similar capacity (19,840Wh vs 19,840Wh) and output (15,200W vs 9,000W), the $3,898 price gap is really about the extras. At $0.87/Wh, the EP900 + 4×B500 is the better pure-value play, but the cheapest option and the right option aren't always the same.

Pick the EP900 + 4×B500 if you want the unit that wins the head-to-head on balance. Go with the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 if you want the option to add expansion batteries later. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the EP900 + 4×B500 works out to about $0.15/kWh against the 2×EP900 + 4×B500's $0.18, a gap that compounds in the EP900 + 4×B500's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500

With a massive 15,200W output (and 0W surge), the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 686 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Higher AC output
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • Significantly heavier (+97 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.

BLUETTI EP900 + 4×B500

With a massive 9,000W output (and 0W surge), the EP900 + 4×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 589 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Costs $3,898 less
  • +Lighter by 97 lb

Trade-offs

  • Weaker inverter (-6,200W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Either unit

Both survive the blackout with similar margin, and both list a UPS mode — compare their stated switchover classes, and remember those are manufacturer ratings, not measurements.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night many times over and the capacity margin is a formality. Both happen to list 50dB — the same published figure twice, not a measured tie — so there is nothing in the noise column to separate them either. Buy whichever is cheaper or easier to carry.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain, and their USB-C output is a wash — pick on weight, ports, or price.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a van build is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 4,685Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP900 + 4×B50082.3h
10% of usable battery in 8h
EP900 + 4×B50082.3h
10% of usable battery in 8h

Dead heat — both run this 205W load for roughly 82.3h. Pick on price, weight, or ports.

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–1124.3h
Appliance2×EP900 + 4×B500EP900 + 4×B500
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 421.6h · same52 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 1124.3h · same
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 843.2h · same
Starlink75W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 224.9h · same
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 421.6h · same
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 281.1h · same

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–224.9h
Appliance2×EP900 + 4×B500EP900 + 4×B500
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 224.9h · same
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 210.8h · same
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 112.4h · same
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 84.3h · same10 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–16.9h
Appliance2×EP900 + 4×B500EP900 + 4×B500
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 16.9h · same
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 14.1h · same
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP900 + 4×B500 & EP900 + 4×B500: 11.2h · same

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the EP900 + 4×B500

The EP900 + 4×B500 wins this on price rather than on paper — it gives up 6,200W less output to the 2×EP900 + 4×B500. At $3,898 less and 97 lbs lighter, it is the better buy of the two.

Cost to ownEP900 + 4×B500$0.15 vs $0.18 /lifetime-kWh
Continuous output2×EP900 + 4×B50015,200W vs 9,000W
Typical priceEP900 + 4×B500$17,298 vs $21,196
PortabilityEP900 + 4×B500589 vs 686 lb
Solar input2×EP900 + 4×B50018,000W vs 9,000W

Overall score margin: 17,551 vs 14,607 (+20.2%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check EP900 + 4×B500 price

$17,298.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 price$21,196.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP900 + 4×B500EP900 + 4×B500
Overall Power Score
17,551
14,607
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
17,900
15,368
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
16,530
13,403

Full specifications

2×EP900 + 4×B500
$21,196
See live price →
EP900 + 4×B500
$17,298★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
19840
19840
Output (W)
15200
9000
Surge Peak
Not Specified
Not Specified
AC Outlets
Hardwired
Hardwired
240V Outlets
Hardwired
Hardwired
30A RV Outlets
0
0

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP900 + 4×B500 rates 4.6/5 (79th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and EP900 + 4×B500 rates 4.3/5 (57th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The EP900 + 4×B500 (589 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again. The 2×EP900 + 4×B500 (686 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[NOTE]

Fan Noise: Line Ball

Both units are rated at the same 50dB — like moderate rainfall. One published figure, twice, so noise shouldn't decide this one. Both are above the ~45dB most people find disruptive for sleep, so neither is a bedroom unit.

[NOTE]

Warranty: No Difference

Both units carry the same 10-year warranty, so coverage isn't a tiebreaker here.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the EP900 + 4×B500.

Check EP900 + 4×B500 price →or check the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP900 + 4×B500EP900 + 4×B500

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

2×EP900 + 4×B500
EP900 + 4×B500
Purchase price
$21,196.00
$17,298.00
Lifetime energy delivered
119,040 kWh
119,040 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.18
$0.15
Cost per warranty year
$2,120/yr
$1,730/yr
Battery lifespan
16.4yr daily · 57.7yr weekend · 115.4yr weekly
16.4yr daily · 57.7yr weekend · 115.4yr weekly

Analyst note

Both units have similar long-term ownership costs ($0.18/kWh vs $0.15/kWh). The price difference is what you see on the sticker — neither is a hidden bargain or rip-off. One thing to know reading the table: both carry the same 6,000-cycle rating, so the lifetime rows are sticker price and capacity in disguise — the wear horizon is identical and decides nothing here.

Growth path

2×EP900 + 4×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 19,840Wh.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

EP900 + 4×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 19,840Wh.

Accepts up to 9,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP900 + 4×B500EP900 + 4×B500

Analyst note

Both expand, but the 2×EP900 + 4×B500's higher solar ceiling (18,000W vs 9,000W) gives it the stronger off-grid growth path — more panels can feed a bigger bank as it grows.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The EP900 + 4×B500 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 nor the EP900 + 4×B500 feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 worth $3,898 more than the EP900 + 4×B500?

The short answer: yes, if you'll actually use the extra capability. The 2×EP900 + 4×B500 costs $3,898 more, but that premium buys you 6,200W higher AC output (opening the door to more demanding appliances); 9,000W faster solar charging for quicker off-grid recovery. On a cost-per-watt-hour basis, you're paying $1.07/Wh vs $0.87/Wh. For regular use, we'd pay the premium.

Can I actually carry the 2×EP900 + 4×B500, or is the EP900 + 4×B500 the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The EP900 + 4×B500 (589 lbs) and the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 (686 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 97-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 accepts 18,000W vs the EP900 + 4×B500's 9,000W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 1.6 hours for the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 and 3.1 hours for the EP900 + 4×B500. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the 2×EP900 + 4×B500's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the 2×EP900 + 4×B500's advantage is substantial.

Bottom line: should I buy the 2×EP900 + 4×B500 or the EP900 + 4×B500?

We'd buy the EP900 + 4×B500. Cheaper and more capable. That combination is rare. The 2×EP900 + 4×B500 doesn't offer a compelling reason to spend more unless you specifically need a feature unique to the BLUETTI ecosystem (expansion batteries, app integrations). Otherwise, clear call.

Check EP900 + 4×B500 price →

Where to buy

2×EP900 + 4×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 4×B500

$21,196.00

Check current price

$21,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

EP900 + 4×B500

BLUETTI EP900 + 4×B500Pick

$17,298.00

Check current price

$17,298.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.