PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500 vs BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP800 + 6×B500

29,760Wh15,200W976.8 lb

21,869Power Score · Grid-Independent

Check price →

$23,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP800 + 8×B500

39,680Wh15,200W1,213.2 lb

26,270Power Score · Grid-Independent

Check price →

$29,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
29,760Wh
39,680Wh
Output
15,200W
matched
15,200W
Weight
976.8 lb
1,213.2 lb
Typical price
$23,998
$29,998
Cost / Wh
$0.81
$0.76
Cycle life
3,500
matched
3,500
Solar input
18,000W
matched
18,000W
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 (29,760Wh, 15,200W) and the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 (39,680Wh, 15,200W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities and a $6,000 price gap. We'd buy the 2×EP800 + 6×B500.

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 holds 9,920Wh more than the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 — about 225 hours on a fridge against 169 — a real but modest edge that shows up mainly on longer outages. For camping, tailgating, or keeping devices charged, both have the headroom, so price, weight, and longevity lead the decision instead.

Pick the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 if you want the unit that wins the head-to-head on balance. Go with the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 if its specific strengths below line up better with your use. Cost to own runs close here — about $0.22/kWh for the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 against $0.23 for the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 — so it won't be the tiebreaker. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

With a massive 15,200W output (and 0W surge), the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 976.8 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Costs $6,000 less
  • +Lighter by 236.4 lb

Trade-offs

  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500

With a massive 15,200W output (and 0W surge), the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 1,213.2 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity

Trade-offs

  • Significantly heavier (+236.4 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Either unit

Both survive the blackout with similar margin, and both list a UPS mode — compare their stated switchover classes, and remember those are manufacturer ratings, not measurements.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but neither maker publishes a fan-noise figure, so there's nothing to hold either of them to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain, and their USB-C output is a wash — pick on weight, ports, or price.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a van build is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 4,685Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP800 + 6×B500123.4h
6% of usable battery in 8h
2×EP800 + 8×B500164.5h
5% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: 2×EP800 + 8×B500 runs 164.5h vs 123.4h.

Check 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price →

$29,998 list · direct from BLUETTI

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–2248.5h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP800 + 8×B500
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 632.4h79 full nights
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 843.2h105 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 1686.4h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 2248.5h
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 1264.8h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 1686.4h
Starlink75W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 337.3h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 449.7h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 632.4h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 843.2h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 421.6h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 562.1h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–449.7h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP800 + 8×B500
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 337.3h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 449.7h
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 316.2h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 421.6h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 168.6h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 224.9h
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 126.5h15 full nights
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 168.6h21 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–33.7h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP800 + 8×B500
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 25.3h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 33.7h
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 21.1h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 28.1h
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 16.9h
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 22.5h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the 2×EP800 + 6×B500

The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 wins this on price rather than on paper — it gives up 9,920Wh less capacity to the 2×EP800 + 8×B500. At $6,000 less and 236.4 lbs lighter, it is the better buy of the two.

Cost to own2×EP800 + 8×B500$0.22 vs $0.23 /lifetime-kWh
Typical price2×EP800 + 6×B500$23,998 vs $29,998
Portability2×EP800 + 6×B500976.8 vs 1,213.2 lb
Expansion2×EP800 + 6×B500expandable vs closed system

Overall score margin: 21,869 vs 26,270 (−20.1%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price

$23,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price$29,998.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP800 + 8×B500
Overall Power Score
21,869
26,270
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
22,458
27,253
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
20,114
23,575

Full specifications

2×EP800 + 6×B500
$23,998★ our pick
See live price →
2×EP800 + 8×B500
$29,998
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
29760
39680
Output (W)
15200
15200
Surge Peak
Not Specified
Not Specified
AC Outlets
Hardwired (120/240V)
Hardwired (120/240V)
240V Outlets
Hardwired
Hardwired
30A RV Outlets
0
0

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP800 + 6×B500 rates 4.6/5 (75th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and 2×EP800 + 8×B500 rates 4.5/5 (71st percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 (976.8 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 (1,213.2 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[NOTE]

2×EP800 + 8×B500: Fixed Capacity

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is sealed at 39,680Wh — a complete unit, and already larger than the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's 29,760Wh. By contrast the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 can add expansion batteries, but that only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 39,680Wh.

[NOTE]

Warranty: No Difference

Both units carry the same 10-year warranty, so coverage isn't a tiebreaker here. Worth saying because the per-dollar framing can suggest otherwise: the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 works out at 0.4 years of cover per $1,000 spent against the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's 0.3, but that spread is the price gap, not the terms.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the 2×EP800 + 6×B500.

Check 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price →or check the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP800 + 8×B500

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

2×EP800 + 6×B500
2×EP800 + 8×B500
Purchase price
$23,998.00
$29,998.00
Lifetime energy delivered
104,160 kWh
138,880 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.23
$0.22
Cost per warranty year
$2,400/yr
$3,000/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly

Analyst note

The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is cheaper to buy, but the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is cheaper to own. At $0.22/kWh over its lifetime vs $0.23/kWh, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's higher cycle life and capacity make each dollar go further over the years. One thing to know reading the table: both carry the same 3,500-cycle rating, so the lifetime rows are sticker price and capacity in disguise — the wear horizon is identical and decides nothing here.

Growth path

2×EP800 + 6×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 29,760Wh.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP800 + 8×B500

FIXED CAPACITY

Fixed at 39,680Wh — a sealed, complete system rather than a starting point. There's no expansion port, so that figure is the ceiling: check it against your longest unplugged stretch before you buy.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP800 + 8×B500

Analyst note

Don't read the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's expandability as a straight win here: it starts at 29,760Wh, below the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's 39,680Wh, so a first expansion battery largely buys back capacity the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 already includes. It only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 39,680Wh — short of that, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's larger fixed capacity is the simpler value.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 nor the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 worth $6,000 more than the 2×EP800 + 6×B500?

A tough sell. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 offers 9,920Wh more battery capacity (that's 56 extra hours of running a mini-fridge), but $6,000 is a steep premium for a single upgrade. At $0.81/Wh, the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 delivers better bang for your buck. Unless that advantage is non-negotiable, save the cash. Better yet, put it toward a solar panel that pays for itself in free charges.

How does the 9,920Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500's 39,680Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 225 hours vs the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's 169 hours. Both can handle a full 8-hour blackout setup (fridge + router + lights + phone charging ≈ 1,645Wh), but the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 finishes with significantly more margin. That matters if conditions aren't ideal or the outage runs long. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the 2×EP800 + 8×B500, or is the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 (976.8 lbs) and the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 (1,213.2 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 236.4-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

Does the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's expandability make it the safer long-term buy?

Not necessarily. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 can add BLUETTI batteries, but it starts at 29,760Wh — below the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's sealed 39,680Wh. A first expansion battery mostly buys back capacity the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 already gives you out of the box; expandability only pulls ahead if you expect to grow past 39,680Wh. If you don't, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's larger fixed capacity is the simpler, complete package — not a dead end, just already the bigger battery.

Bottom line: should I buy the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 or the 2×EP800 + 8×B500?

We'd buy the 2×EP800 + 6×B500. Strong value at a lower price, and for most real-world use cases the spec gaps don't translate to meaningful capability gaps. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 makes sense only if you specifically need its higher capacity for demanding sustained loads like full-home backup or commercial use.

Check 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price →

Where to buy

2×EP800 + 6×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500Pick

$23,998.00

Check current price

$23,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

2×EP800 + 8×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500

$29,998.00

Check current price

$29,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.