PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI EP800 + 2×B500 vs Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI EP800 + 2×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

EP800 + 2×B500

9,920Wh7,600W360.6 lb

9,304Power Score · The AC & Fridge Zone

Check price →

$6,999.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit Portable Power Station

Jackery

Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit

10,080Wh14,400W269 lb

12,013Power Score · Whole-Home Capable

Check price →

$6,989.00 · direct from Jackery

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
9,920Wh
10,080Wh
Output
7,600W
14,400W
Weight
360.6 lb
269 lb
Typical price
$6,999
$6,289
Cost / Wh
$0.71
$0.62
Cycle life
3,500
4,000
Solar input
9,000W
8,000W
01

The BLUETTI EP800 + 2×B500 and Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit compete for the same spot. Similar LiFePO4 capacity, similar price range, different brands behind them. In this matchup, ecosystem, app quality, and warranty reputation matter as much as raw specs. We'd buy the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit.

With similar capacity (9,920Wh vs 10,080Wh) and output (7,600W vs 14,400W), the $710 price gap is really about the extras. At $0.62/Wh, the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit is the better pure-value play, but the cheapest option and the right option aren't always the same.

Pick the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit if your primary use is van life daily. Go with the EP800 + 2×B500 if you want the option to add expansion batteries later. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit works out to about $0.16/kWh against the EP800 + 2×B500's $0.2, a gap that compounds in the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI EP800 + 2×B500

With a massive 7,600W output (and 0W surge), the EP800 + 2×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 360.6 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • Significantly heavier (+91.6 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Weaker inverter (-6,800W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.

Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit

With a massive 14,400W output (and 28,800W surge), the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 269 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Costs $10 less
  • +Lighter by 91.6 lb
  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Longer warranty

Trade-offs

  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: the EP800 + 2×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit at 269 lbs is not a take-along — it rolls off a truck bed if it travels at all. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Either unit

Both survive the blackout with similar margin, and both list a UPS mode — compare their stated switchover classes, and remember those are manufacturer ratings, not measurements.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but EP800 + 2×B500 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain. The Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit lists 100W of USB-C for direct laptop charging; the EP800 + 2×B500 doesn't publish a USB-C output figure, so check the port before planning around it.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: the EP800 + 2×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit at 269 lbs is not a take-along — it rolls off a truck bed if it travels at all. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit

The EP800 + 2×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, so this scenario belongs to the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit by default — and it earns it, covering the 4,685Wh with 3,883Wh to spare. Capacity was never the EP800 + 2×B500's problem here; getting to a van build was.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

EP800 + 2×B50041.1h
19% of usable battery in 8h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit41.8h
19% of usable battery in 8h

Dead heat — both run this 205W load for roughly 41.1h. Pick on price, weight, or ports.

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–571.2h
ApplianceEP800 + 2×B500Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit
CPAP Machine40W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 210.8h26 full nights
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 214.2h26 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 562.1h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 571.2h
Router + Modem20W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 421.6h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 428.4h
Starlink75W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 112.4h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 114.2h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 210.8h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 214.2h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 140.5h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 142.8h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–114.2h
ApplianceEP800 + 2×B500Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit
Box Fan75W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 112.4h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 114.2h
LED TV (55")80W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 105.4h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 107.1h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 56.2h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 57.1h
Electric Blanket200W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 42.2h5 full nights
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 42.8h5 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–8.6h
ApplianceEP800 + 2×B500Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit
Coffee Maker1000W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 8.4h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 8.6h
Microwave1200W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 7h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 7.1h
Space Heater1500W draw
EP800 + 2×B500: 5.6h
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit: 5.7h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit

The Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit takes the lead. It packs 160Wh more capacity and delivers 6,800W more power than the EP800 + 2×B500. With a price tag that is $10 lower, it provides significantly better value.

Cost to ownExplorer 5000 Plus Double Kit$0.16 vs $0.20 /lifetime-kWh
Cycle lifeExplorer 5000 Plus Double Kit4,000 vs 3,500 cycles
Continuous outputExplorer 5000 Plus Double Kit14,400W vs 7,600W
Sticker priceExplorer 5000 Plus Double Kit$6,989 vs $6,999
PortabilityExplorer 5000 Plus Double Kit269 vs 360.6 lb
Solar inputEP800 + 2×B5009,000W vs 8,000W

Overall score margin: 9,304 vs 12,013 (−29.1%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's and Jackery's current prices.

Check Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit price

$6,989.00 · direct from Jackery

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the EP800 + 2×B500 price$6,999.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

EP800 + 2×B500Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit
Overall Power Score
9,304
12,013
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
9,463
12,030
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
8,523
12,680

Full specifications

EP800 + 2×B500
$6,999
See live price →
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit
$6,989★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
9920
10080
Output (W)
7600
14400
Surge Peak
Not Specified
28800W
AC Outlets
Hardwired (120/240V)
8
USB-C Charging Outputs
0
100W
Solar Input (W)
9000
8000

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, EP800 + 2×B500 rates 3.6/5 (18th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit rates 4.4/5 (64th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit (269 lbs) is a two-person lift. The EP800 + 2×B500 (360.6 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[CAUTION]

EP800 + 2×B500: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit publishes its noise level (30dB); the EP800 + 2×B500 doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the EP800 + 2×B500 is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit's 30dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the EP800 + 2×B500 before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit.

Check Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit price →or check the EP800 + 2×B500 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

EP800 + 2×B500Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

EP800 + 2×B500
Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit
Purchase price
$6,999.00
$6,989.00
Lifetime energy delivered
34,720 kWh
40,320 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.20
$0.16
Cost per warranty year
$∞/yr
$1,258/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
11yr daily · 38.5yr weekend · 76.9yr weekly

Analyst note

The Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit wins on both sticker price and long-term value. At $0.16/kWh over its lifetime, it's meaningfully cheaper to own. Clear value winner.

Brand trust

BLUETTI

Ecosystem

One of the broadest lineups — 15-20+ models from budget (AC2A) to flagship portable (Apex 300, 2764.8Wh). Includes specialized products: vehicle solar hubs, sodium-ion cold-weather units, and balcony storage systems.

Support

The most inconsistent support in the space. Heavily email-based with China timezone delays. Some users get smooth, efficient service; others report weeks of troubleshooting runarounds, being offered discounts on new units instead of repairs, and confusing third-party purchase claim processes. Buying direct from Bluetti's website tends to produce better support outcomes.

Community

Active and growing — Reddit r/bluetti has a dedicated community. Second-largest after EcoFlow in engagement.

App experience

Rated 4.5/5 iOS and Android — tied for best app experience in the category. V3.0 UI redesign was well-received.

Unique strength

Among the best capacity-to-price ratios available — several Elite and Apex units are the lowest $/Wh in the catalog. Widest product diversity including industry-firsts like sodium-ion cold-weather units and dual solar+alternator vehicle hubs. Full LFP standardization across the lineup, though rated cycle life spans 2,500 (EB3A) to 6,000 (Elite units) — check the specific model. Dual-voltage (120V/240V) in flagships.

Worth knowing

Customer support inconsistency is the #1 risk factor. Older/discontinued units may become unrepairable — no spare parts policy for some models. Some reports of erratic communication from support agents.

All BLUETTI power stations tested →

Jackery

Ecosystem

12-15+ models across Explorer (portable) and HomePower (home backup) series, plus SolarSaga panel ecosystem and innovative form factors

Support

US-based support but widely criticized. Reddit reports describe slow/dismissive responses, scripted AI agents, strict receipt requirements for warranty claims, and refurbished replacements for clearly defective units. Strongly recommended: buy from Costco or Amazon for return protection.

Community

Smallest community of the major brands — Reddit r/Jackery has ~2,000 members. YouTube presence is solid due to brand recognition.

App experience

Rated 2.3-3.3/5 iOS and Android — the weakest app experience of the major brands. Multiple confusing apps (Jackery app vs Jackery Home) and mandatory login even offline.

Unique strength

Highest brand recognition and widest retail distribution (Costco, Home Depot, Best Buy, Amazon). The "Toyota" of power stations — dependable, proven, wide availability. Innovative form factors like the Solar Gazebo and Solar Mars Bot.

Worth knowing

A couple of older models still ship NMC chemistry with a shorter rated lifespan, so check the cycle rating on the specific unit — though most of the current line has moved to LFP. Generally perceived as overpriced for the specs offered compared to newer competitors. App experience is significantly behind rivals.

All Jackery power stations tested →

Analyst note

Jackery positions itself as a mid brand with stronger support infrastructure, while BLUETTI competes on value. The question is whether the Jackery ecosystem and support premium is worth it for your use case.

Growth path

EP800 + 2×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 9,920Wh.

Accepts up to 9,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit

EXPANDABLE

Supports Jackery expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 10,080Wh.

Accepts up to 8,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Generous port selection supports complex multi-device setups.

Expansion batteries are Jackery-specific. You're investing in the Jackery ecosystem.

EP800 + 2×B500Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit

Analyst note

Both expand, so neither locks you out of growth — decide on capacity, price, and the rest, not the expansion checkbox.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the EP800 + 2×B500 wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the EP800 + 2×B500 nor the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI and Jackery discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Can I actually carry the EP800 + 2×B500, or is the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit (269 lbs) and the EP800 + 2×B500 (360.6 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 91.6-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the EP800 + 2×B500 accepts 9,000W vs the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit's 8,000W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 1.6 hours for the EP800 + 2×B500 and 1.8 hours for the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the EP800 + 2×B500's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the EP800 + 2×B500's advantage is substantial.

Is BLUETTI or Jackery more reliable for long-term ownership?

Both brands have strengths and trade-offs. BLUETTI: 2-6 years depending on model (up to 10 years on home backup systems). Response times vary significantly. Some reports of units being deemed unrepairable with no parts available for older models. Jackery: 2-5 years depending on model (premium models like 5000 Plus get 5 years, budget models get 2 years). Registration required for extension. Claims process can be frustrating. One piece of advice from the power station community: regardless of brand, buy from Costco or Amazon. Their return policies provide a safety net that manufacturer warranties alone can't match, especially for a product you'll rely on in emergencies. Both brands use LFP (lithium iron phosphate) batteries in their current lineup, the most proven chemistry for longevity and safety.

Bottom line: should I buy the EP800 + 2×B500 or the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit?

We'd buy the Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit. Cheaper and more capable. That combination is rare. The EP800 + 2×B500 doesn't offer a compelling reason to spend more unless you specifically need a feature unique to the BLUETTI ecosystem (expansion batteries, app integrations). Otherwise, clear call.

Check Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit price →

Where to buy

EP800 + 2×B500

BLUETTI EP800 + 2×B500

$6,999.00

Check current price

$6,999.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Explorer 5000 Plus Double Kit

Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus Double KitPick

$6,989.00

Check current price

$6,989.00 · direct from Jackery

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.