PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI AC180P vs Goal Zero Yeti 1500X

$649 against $1,125 for a smaller battery with seven times fewer rated cycles. The Yeti's only real card is that it can grow later; the AC180P, flatly, can't.

Full profiles: BLUETTI AC180P · Goal Zero Yeti 1500X

Written by Ian SchneiderUpdated

Solar & Off-Grid Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI AC180P Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

AC180P

1,440Wh1,800W35.3 lb

3,184Power Score · Appliance Class

Check price →

$649.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Goal Zero Yeti 1500X Portable Power Station

Goal Zero

Yeti 1500X

1,516Wh2,000W45.6 lb

2,511Power Score · Appliance Class

Check price →

$1,124.89 · direct from Goal Zero

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
1,440Wh
1,516Wh
Output
1,800W
2,000W
Weight
35.3 lb
45.6 lb
Typical price
$649
$1,124.9
Cost / Wh
$0.45
$0.74
Cycle life
3,500
500
Solar input
500W
600W
01

The AC180P costs $649. The Yeti 1500X costs $1,125, nearly double, for a smaller 1,516Wh pack against the AC180P's 1,440Wh and a battery rated for 500 charge cycles against the AC180P's 3,500. On price and cycle life both, this isn't a close call.

The Yeti's one legitimate argument is growth. It accepts Goal Zero expansion batteries; the AC180P is a closed box, and despite what some listings imply, it does not accept true expansion packs, only external charging through Power Bank ModeA3. Outgrow 1,440Wh with the AC180P and the next step is a second unit, not an add-on.

Everywhere else, the AC180P leads. It's cheaper to buy, dramatically cheaper to run per lifetime kilowatt-hour, and its 20-millisecond UPS switchover actually beats the Yeti's 25. Pay the Yeti's premium only if you're confident you'll need to grow the system; otherwise the AC180P is the easy call.

02

What the Numbers Reveal

Each conclusion stated first — the numbers behind it on one line, the full analysis below.

F1

rated cycles

Cheaper today and dramatically cheaper across its life almost never happens in the same purchase, but that's the AC180P's LFP chemistry doing its job: 3,500 rated cycles against the Yeti's NMC pack at 500, a sevenfold gap that compounds every time either unit gets plugged in.

AC180P: $649, rated 3,500 cycles, 1,440WhYeti 1500X: $1,125, rated 500 cycles, 1,516Whcomputed cost per lifetime kWh: $0.12 for the AC180P vs $1.48 for the Yeti

Why it mattersFor anyone not planning to expand, there's no real tradeoff to weigh here; the cheaper unit is also the one that costs less to own for a decade.

F2

Outgrow 1,440Wh with the AC180P and the fix is a second unit; outgrow the Yeti's 1,516Wh and the fix is a battery add-on that keeps the base unit working. That's a real, structural advantage for the Yeti, undiluted by any asterisk about its chemistry.

AC180P: no expansion port; charges only via external Power Bank Mode, not true expansion batteriesA3Yeti 1500X: accepts Goal Zero expansion batteriesAC180P capacity fixed at 1,440Wh

Why it mattersIf you already know your power needs are about to grow, longer trips, more gear, a partial home-backup build-out, that's the legitimate reason to pay the Yeti's premium; everyone else is paying for headroom they'll never use.

F3

Buyers chasing this budget Bluetti aren't trading switchover speed for the lower price; they're getting a slightly faster switchover along with it. The Yeti also doesn't publish a noise number at all, where the AC180P discloses 45dB.

AC180P: 20ms UPS switchoverYeti 1500X: 25ms UPS switchoverYeti 1500X: noise level not disclosed by Goal Zero; AC180P: rated 45dB under load

Why it mattersAnyone running a CPAP or a sump pump off either unit, the load where switchover speed actually matters, loses nothing and gains a little by choosing the cheaper AC180P.

The specific dimensions that decide these two units — everything else is a tie.

Lifetime Value

Selected because: The widest cost-per-kWh gap in the batch, ~12x, on top of a $476 lower sticker price.

cost / lifetime kWh

Six hundred dollars gets you the AC180P outright, with $476 left over compared to the Yeti's $1,125. That gap only widens once you count what each dollar buys over the battery's life: 12 cents per lifetime kilowatt-hour for the AC180P against $1.48 for the Yeti.

That's chemistry, not a discount corner cut. LFP rated for 3,500 cycles against NMC rated for 500, seven times the charge cycles, is the entire reason a cheaper unit also turns out to be the one that costs less to run for a decade.

Growth Path

Selected because: The Yeti's one clean, undiluted advantage here; the AC180P is genuinely closed, unlike other pairs where both units expand.

solar input

Here's the AC180P's one real weakness, stated plainly: it's a closed box. What you buy at 1,440Wh is what you have. Despite some listings suggesting otherwise, it doesn't accept true expansion batteries, only external charging through Power Bank Mode, which doesn't raise the ceiling at allA3.

The Yeti's expansion path is genuine by comparison; add Goal Zero batteries and the base unit keeps working instead of getting replaced. That flexibility is worth real money to someone who knows their needs are about to grow. It's worth nothing to someone who doesn't.

Portability & Form Factor

Selected because: AC180P is ~10 lbs lighter (35.3 vs 45.64); ledger flags backpacking vs car-camping as the real line.

weight

At 35.3 lbs, the AC180P is about 10 lbs lighter than the Yeti's 45.64, manageable for car camping or a garage shelf, though reviewers note it's still enough to notice if you're carrying it any real distance, like backpacking rather than base-camp useA4.

It also discloses a 45dB noise rating under load, quieter on paper than either the number the Yeti doesn't publish or the reputation it leans on instead. A disclosed spec, even an imperfect one, beats an undisclosed one.

What the Specs Don't Tell You

Selected because: UPS speed flips in the AC180P's favor here, plus warranty and noise-disclosure gaps.

rated cycles

The UPS argument that sometimes favors Goal Zero flips here: the AC180P's 20-millisecond switchover actually beats the Yeti's 25. Warranty tells a similarly lopsided story, 5 years for the AC180P against 2 for the Yeti, which prices out to $120 per warranty year against $562.

The one card that doesn't flip is the closed-system tradeoff already covered above. Outside of that, there isn't a gotcha on this page that favors paying more for the Yeti.

Strengths & trade-offs

BLUETTI AC180P

Strengths

  • +Costs $475.9 less
  • +Lighter by 10.3 lb
  • +Longer warranty
  • +Rated for 3,500 charge cycles — much longer battery lifespan

Trade-offs

  • Sealed capacity — the Yeti 1500X can add batteries to grow past 1,440Wh; this one can't.

Goal Zero Yeti 1500X

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • Substantially more expensive (+$475.9) than the AC180P.
  • Significantly heavier (+10.3 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Shorter-lived battery — rated for 500 charge cycles vs the AC180P's 3,500, so it wears out sooner.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Neither unit covers this scenario's 2,100Wh: the AC180P comes up 876Wh short (about 58% covered), the Yeti 1500X 811Wh (61%). Either gets you most of the way, so this is a scenario you plan around rather than one you should rule them out for.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Neither unit

Neither unit covers this scenario's 1,645Wh: the AC180P comes up 421Wh short (about 75% covered), the Yeti 1500X 356Wh (78%). Either gets you most of the way, so this is a scenario you plan around rather than one you should rule them out for.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but Yeti 1500X doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain. At these utilization levels the real difference is USB-C for direct laptop charging — 100W on the AC180P against 60W — which beats the inverter for convenience and wastes less energy.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Either unit

Both handle game day easily. Since capacity isn't the deciding factor, weight is: at 35.3 lbs the AC180P is the one you'll be glad you brought. Fan noise under load is worth a listen too — it's audible in the lulls between songs.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Neither unit covers this scenario's 4,685Wh: the AC180P comes up 3,461Wh short (about 26% covered), the Yeti 1500X 3,396Wh (27%). Treat this as partial cover — enough for the essentials in it, not the whole list.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

AC180P6h
dead in 6h — before your 8h window ends
Yeti 1500X6.3h
dead in 6.3h — before your 8h window ends

For this load: Yeti 1500X runs 6.3h vs 6h.

Check Yeti 1500X price →

$1,124.89 list · direct from Goal Zero

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–85.9h
ApplianceAC180PYeti 1500X
CPAP Machine40W draw
AC180P: 30.6h3 full nights
Yeti 1500X: 32.2h4 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
AC180P: 81.6h
Yeti 1500X: 85.9h
Router + Modem20W draw
AC180P: 61.2h
Yeti 1500X: 64.4h
Starlink75W draw
AC180P: 16.3h
Yeti 1500X: 17.2h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
AC180P: 30.6h
Yeti 1500X: 32.2h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
AC180P: 20.4h
Yeti 1500X: 21.5h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–17.2h
ApplianceAC180PYeti 1500X
Box Fan75W draw
AC180P: 16.3h
Yeti 1500X: 17.2h
LED TV (55")80W draw
AC180P: 15.3h
Yeti 1500X: 16.1h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
AC180P: 8.2h
Yeti 1500X: 8.6h
Electric Blanket200W draw
AC180P: 6.1h0 full nights
Yeti 1500X: 6.4h0 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–1.3h
ApplianceAC180PYeti 1500X
Coffee Maker1000W draw
AC180P: 1.2h
Yeti 1500X: 1.3h
Microwave1200W draw
AC180P: 1h
Yeti 1500X: 1.1h
Space Heater1500W draw
AC180P: 0.8h
Yeti 1500X: 0.9h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 14, 2026

Verdict: the AC180P, on Power Score margin

Buy the AC180P unless you already know you'll need to expand. It costs $476 less at checkout, and its LFP pack is rated for seven times the Yeti's charge cycles, which works out to a lifetime kilowatt-hour for 12 cents against the Yeti's $1.48, the widest cost-per-kWh gap in this comparison. It even edges the Yeti on UPS switchover speed, 20 milliseconds against 25. The one honest weakness: it's a closed system. Outgrow 1,440Wh and the upgrade path is a whole new unit, where the Yeti accepts add-on batteries. If growth is a real near-term plan, pay for the Yeti. If it isn't, the AC180P wins on price, running cost, and switchover speed at once.

Cost to ownAC180P$0.13 vs $1.48 /lifetime-kWh
Cycle lifeAC180P3,500 vs 500 cycles
Continuous outputYeti 1500X2,000W vs 1,800W
Typical priceAC180P$649 vs $1,124.9
PortabilityAC180P35.3 vs 45.6 lb
Solar inputYeti 1500X600W vs 500W
■■■■■■■■□□8/10

Editor-assigned confidence, based on cited owner research and spec analysis.

List prices as of July 14, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's and Goal Zero's current prices.

Check AC180P price

$649.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the Yeti 1500X price$1,124.89 list

Written by Ian Schneider, Solar & Off-Grid Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 14, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

AC180PYeti 1500X
Overall Power Score
3,184
2,511
RV LivingEnergy Density & Output
2,846
2,472
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
3,055
2,325
Solar GeneratorSolar Input & Efficiency
2,787
2,225
TailgatingOutlets & Portability
3,012
2,324
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
2,796
2,562
Apartment BalconyCompact Solar Living
3,080
2,241
CampingLightweight & Versatile
2,881
2,162

Not rated for both units (minimum threshold unmet): UPS, CPAP.

Full specifications

AC180P
$649★ our pick
Updated Jul 14
See live price →
Yeti 1500X
$1,124.89
Updated Jul 14
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
1440
1516
Output (W)
1800
2000
Surge Peak
2700W
3500W
AC Outlets
4
2
240V Outlets
0
0
30A RV Outlets
0
0

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews — see Sources & Research Notes below.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, AC180P rates 4.1/5 (50th percentile of 27 Everyday-class units), and Yeti 1500X rates 3.3/5 (1st percentile of 27 Everyday-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[NOTE]

AC180P: 45dB Published

45dB is about as loud as a running refrigerator. It is BLUETTI's own rating rather than a reading on a shared bench — makers differ on whether they quote a best case or a figure under load, so treat it as a starting point rather than what you would hear at a bedside. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

AC180P: Fixed Capacity

The AC180P is sealed at 1,440Wh — fine if that covers you, but it's the ceiling. By contrast the Yeti 1500X can add expansion batteries, so if your needs grow past 1,440Wh it has somewhere to go the AC180P doesn't — though at this size expansion buys longer runtimes on the same loads, not a home-backup system.

[ADVANTAGE]

Only the AC180P Lists a UPS Mode

The AC180P can sit between the wall and your gear and hand it to battery when the grid drops — rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. Worth it for a router, a desktop PC, or a CPAP. The Yeti 1500X's spec sheet lists no UPS mode, so anything plugged into it rides an outage only as far as your reaction time.

[NOTE]

Warranty: 5 Years vs 2

The AC180P is covered for 5 years against the Yeti 1500X's 2 years. The AC180P's figure is a maximum rather than a guarantee — it depends on buying direct from BLUETTI or registering the unit, since reseller purchases carry a shorter term. An underrated factor if you're keeping this unit for years.

[NOTE]

Battery Lifespan in Real Years

The AC180P is rated for 3,500 cycles vs 500. In real life: at daily use, that's 9.6 vs 1.4 years. At weekend use (twice a week), it's 34 vs 5 years. After hitting the cycle limit, the battery doesn't die — it drops to ~80% of original capacity, which is still very usable.

[NOTE]

Yeti 1500X: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The AC180P publishes its noise level (45dB); the Yeti 1500X doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the Yeti 1500X is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the AC180P's 45dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the Yeti 1500X before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the AC180P.

Check AC180P price →or check the Yeti 1500X price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

AC180PYeti 1500X

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

AC180P
Yeti 1500X
Purchase price
$649.00
$1,124.89
Lifetime energy delivered
5,040 kWh
758 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.13
$1.48
Cost per warranty year
$130/yr
$562/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
1.4yr daily · 4.8yr weekend · 9.6yr weekly

Analyst note

The AC180P wins on both sticker price and long-term value. At $0.13/kWh over its lifetime, it's meaningfully cheaper to own. Clear value winner.

Delivers each lifetime kWh for $1.35 less — check the AC180P price →

Brand trust

BLUETTI

Ecosystem

One of the broadest lineups — 15-20+ models from budget (AC2A) to flagship portable (Apex 300, 2764.8Wh). Includes specialized products: vehicle solar hubs, sodium-ion cold-weather units, and balcony storage systems.

Support

The most inconsistent support in the space. Heavily email-based with China timezone delays. Some users get smooth, efficient service; others report weeks of troubleshooting runarounds, being offered discounts on new units instead of repairs, and confusing third-party purchase claim processes. Buying direct from Bluetti's website tends to produce better support outcomes.

Community

Active and growing — Reddit r/bluetti has a dedicated community. Second-largest after EcoFlow in engagement.

App experience

Rated 4.5/5 iOS and Android — tied for best app experience in the category. V3.0 UI redesign was well-received.

Unique strength

Among the best capacity-to-price ratios available — several Elite and Apex units are the lowest $/Wh in the catalog. Widest product diversity including industry-firsts like sodium-ion cold-weather units and dual solar+alternator vehicle hubs. LFP across the rest of the range, though rated cycle life spans 2,500 (EB3A) to 6,000, and it varies WITHIN the Elite range rather than tracking it — the Elite 300 and Elite 200 V2 are rated 6,000 while the Elite 30 V2, Elite 10 Mini, Elite 320 and Elite 400 are rated 3,000+ and the Elite 100 V2 4,000+, so check the specific model. Dual-voltage (120V/240V) in flagships.

Worth knowing

Customer support inconsistency is the #1 risk factor. Older/discontinued units may become unrepairable — no spare parts policy for some models. Some reports of erratic communication from support agents.

All BLUETTI power stations tested →

Goal Zero

Ecosystem

Focused — a compact current line (6th-gen Yeti and Yeti Pro series), the previous-gen X series now out of stock across every model on Goal Zero's own store (checked 2026-09-13: 200X, 500X, 1000X, 1500X, 3000X, 6000X, some listed only as open-box), so buying one new means finding retailer stock, Sherpa power banks for the under-100Wh tier, plus Alta coolers, Nomad/Ranger solar panels, and vehicle integration kits

Support

US-based company (Salt Lake City, owned by NRG Energy). Historically considered premium support, but 2025-2026 reports describe long wait times, unresponsive email communication, and tickets going unaddressed for weeks. The "premium support justifies premium pricing" argument is weakening.

Community

Small but loyal — strong following in overlanding and preparedness communities. Official community forums were recently shuttered, frustrating long-time users.

App experience

Rated 4.4/5 iOS (~1,200 ratings) but recent reviews skew negative — recurring connectivity issues, crashes, and stability problems.

Unique strength

Pioneer of the portable power market — strongest brand heritage. US-based company with ruggedized, weather-resistant designs (IP ratings vary by model). Integrated "Yeti-Ready" ecosystem with coolers, lights, and vehicle kits.

Worth knowing

Typically the priciest brand per watt-hour — though individual pairings vary, and on some pages the Yeti is the cheaper energy. Support quality has declined from its "premium" standard. Perceived as competitively stagnant vs. faster-innovating Chinese competitors. Reliability reports on newer models are concerning.

All Goal Zero power stations tested →

Analyst note

Goal Zero positions itself as a premium brand with stronger support infrastructure, while BLUETTI competes on value. The question is whether the Goal Zero ecosystem and support premium is worth it for your use case.

Growth path

AC180P

FIXED CAPACITY

Fixed at 1,440Wh, with no expansion — so size it for your needs up front rather than planning to add capacity later.

Accepts up to 500W of solar. Suitable for a 1-2 panel setup.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Yeti 1500X

EXPANDABLE

Supports Goal Zero expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 1,516Wh.

Accepts up to 600W of solar. Suitable for a 1-2 panel setup.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Expansion batteries are Goal Zero-specific. You're investing in the Goal Zero ecosystem.

AC180PYeti 1500X

Analyst note

The AC180P is sealed at 1,440Wh, which is fine if that covers you. The Yeti 1500X starts at 1,516Wh and can grow beyond it with Goal Zero expansion batteries — though at this size expansion means longer runtimes on the same loads, not a path to home backup. More hours, not more house.

06

What Owners Report

Patterns from published owner reports and long-term reviews — every claim cited to its source below.

BLUETTI AC180P

The AC180P holds a strong 4.6-star rating across 708 verified reviewsA2, and the headline feature owners consistently point to is Turbo Charge: 0 to 80 percent in about 45 minutes, confirmed in independent testing, plus a Power Lifting Mode that pushes 2,700W for higher-draw devicesA1A2.

The honest catch, and it's worth stating clearly: reviewers explicitly correct listings that imply expansion support. It does not accept true add-on batteries, only external charging via Power Bank ModeA3. Weight lands around 35 lbs in most testing, fine for car camping or a garage shelf, more of a factor if you're carrying it any real distanceA4.

Delivers 1,440Wh of LiFePO4 capacity and 1,800W continuous output, with a Turbo Charge feature reaching 0-80% in roughly 45 minutes and a Power Lifting Mode that delivers 2,700W to run high-powered devices.
backuppowerhub.com / bluettipower.com — AC180P review, 2025-2026

Sources

backuppowerhub.com · bluettipower.com · batteryskills.com · the-gadgeteer.com · bestgeneratorsolar.com

Goal Zero Yeti 1500X

The Yeti's persistent knock is pace and price. AC charging is relatively slow, and its premium pricing is a recurring complaint heading into 2025-2026B4, especially next to LFP competitors that charge faster for less money.

Underneath that is the structural issue: NMC chemistry rated for roughly 500 cycles, about 3 to 5 years before noticeable degradation under typical useB1. What owners do praise is real, though, a dense, durable enclosure that's held up in vehicle installs and off-grid structuresB2, it just isn't enough to offset the price and chemistry gap against a unit like the AC180P.

A quiet, capacious power station with a dense, durable enclosure and durable port covers that has held up under sustained use in vehicle installs and off-grid structures.
pcworld.com / offgridweb.com — Yeti 1500X review, 2025-2026

Sources

portablepowerauthority.com · bestgeneratorsolar.com · pcworld.com · offgridweb.com · makeuseof.com · batteryskills.com · digitalcameraworld.com

Sources & Research Notes

Every owner claim in this report is traceable to a published source. The bracketed references above resolve here.

Recurring owner themes

  • Fast Turbo charging, strong owner ratings, and a useful Power Lifting Mode are the praise; the key clarification is that it does NOT accept true battery expansion despite some listings. [AC180P · 3 entries]
  • Praised for build quality, quiet operation, and a capable remote app; held back by 500-cycle NMC chemistry, slow AC charging, and premium pricing versus modern LFP units. [Yeti 1500X · 3 entries]
  • A1

    Delivers 1,440Wh of LiFePO4 capacity and 1,800W continuous output, with a Turbo Charge feature reaching 0-80% in roughly 45 minutes and a Power Lifting Mode that delivers 2,700W to run high-powered devices.

    backuppowerhub.com / bluettipower.com — AC180P review · 2025-2026 · [positive]

  • A2

    Holds a strong 4.6-star rating from 708 verified Amazon purchasers; reviewers confirm the 0-80% in 45 minutes claim held true in testing.

    batteryskills.com / the-gadgeteer.com — AC180P review · 2025-2026 · [positive]

  • A3

    Does not include a battery expansion port and does not support capacity expansion with B80, B230, or B300 batteries — contrary to some listings — though it can be charged by such batteries through Power Bank Mode.

    bestgeneratorsolar.com / backuppowerhub.com — AC180P buyer's guide · 2025-2026 · [mixed]

  • A4

    Weight is cited around 35 lbs in most listings (one source lists ~28.7 lbs) — manageable for base camp or car camping, more of a constraint for backpacking or carrying any distance.

    backuppowerhub.com / batteryskills.com — AC180P review · 2025-2026 · [mixed]

  • B1

    Uses lithium NMC chemistry rated for 500 cycles to 80% capacity — roughly 3-5 years before noticeable degradation with typical use — which puts it at a structural disadvantage against the current wave of LiFePO4 competitors.

    portablepowerauthority.com / bestgeneratorsolar.com — Yeti 1500X review · 2025-2026 · [negative]

  • B2

    A quiet, capacious power station with a dense, durable enclosure and durable port covers that has held up under sustained use in vehicle installs and off-grid structures.

    pcworld.com / offgridweb.com — Yeti 1500X review · 2025-2026 · [positive]

  • B4

    Relatively slow AC charging and persistent premium pricing weigh against it in 2025-2026.

    bestgeneratorsolar.com / digitalcameraworld.com — Yeti 1500X review · 2025-2026 · [negative]

Research compiled July 14, 2026.

07

Who Should Buy Which

Buy the AC180P if you…

  • Most buyers, weekend campers, tailgaters, CPAP users, remote workers who don't already have a concrete reason to expect their power needs to grow, should take the AC180P; it's cheaper today and dramatically cheaper to own.
  • Anyone prioritizing UPS switchover speed for a sensitive load gets a faster switchover here too, not a slower one, alongside the lower price.

This is you — check the AC180P price

Buy the Yeti 1500X if you…

  • Buyers who are confident their power needs are about to grow, more gear, longer trips, a partial home-backup build-out, should pay the Yeti's premium for its genuine expansion path.
  • Anyone already invested in Goal Zero's ecosystem, coolers, lights, vehicle kits, who values fit with existing gear over the lifetime cost math.

This is you — check the Yeti 1500X price

If neither fits

Anyone planning to cover a full 8-hour blackout (1,645Wh) at these units' rated capacity should look elsewhere; both fall just short of that load on the numbers here and belong in a larger-capacity class instead.

08

The Bottom Line

The AC180P wins on price, on lifetime cost, and even on UPS switchover speed, a rare sweep. Its one honest weakness is that it's a closed system: what you buy at 1,440Wh is what you keep, where the Yeti genuinely expands.

Buy the Yeti only if you're confident that growth is coming. Otherwise take the AC180P, pocket the $476, and let the cycle-life math do the rest of the arguing.

09

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Can the BLUETTI AC180P be expanded with extra batteries later?

No. Despite some listings implying otherwise, the AC180P does not accept true expansion batteries. It can be charged by an external battery through Power Bank Mode, but that doesn't raise its 1,440Wh ceiling. If expansion matters to you, the Yeti 1500X genuinely supports it.

Is the AC180P cheaper to own than the Goal Zero Yeti 1500X?

Yes, by a wide margin. It costs $476 less at checkout and, thanks to a battery rated for seven times the charge cycles, works out to about 12 cents per lifetime kilowatt-hour against the Yeti's $1.48.

Which has a faster UPS switchover, the AC180P or the Yeti 1500X?

The AC180P, at 20 milliseconds against the Yeti's 25. It's a small gap in absolute terms, but it means choosing the cheaper unit here doesn't cost you anything on switchover speed for sensitive loads like a CPAP.

Is the AC180P too heavy to carry easily?

At 35.3 lbs, it's manageable for car camping or moving around a garage or basement, and it's about 10 lbs lighter than the Yeti 1500X. Reviewers note it's more of a factor if you're carrying it any real distance, like backpacking rather than base-camp use.

Which battery lasts longer, the AC180P or the Yeti 1500X?

The AC180P, by a wide margin. Its LFP cells are rated for 3,500 charge cycles against the Yeti's NMC pack at 500, seven times as many, meaning the Yeti is expected to show real degradation years before the AC180P would.

Check AC180P price →

Where to buy

AC180P

BLUETTI AC180PPick

$649.00

Check current price

$649.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Yeti 1500X

Goal Zero Yeti 1500X

$1,124.89

Check current price

$1,124.89 · direct from Goal Zero

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.