PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI EP800 + 3×B500 vs BLUETTI EP900 + 3×B500

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: BLUETTI EP900 + 3×B500

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI EP800 + 3×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

EP800 + 3×B500

14,880Wh7,600W483.6 lb

12,197Power Score · Whole-Home Capable

Check current price

$6,299.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI EP900 + 3×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

EP900 + 3×B500

14,880Wh9,000W466 lb

12,335Power Score · Whole-Home Capable

Check current price

$13,798.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
14,880Wh
matched
14,880Wh
Output
7,600W
9,000W
Weight
483.6 lb
466 lb
Typical price
$6,299
$13,798
Cost / Wh
$0.42
$0.93
Cycle life
3,500
6,000
Solar input
9,000W
matched
9,000W
01

Two sizes from BLUETTI's EP lineup: EP800 + 3×B500 at 14,880Wh, EP900 + 3×B500 at 14,880Wh. The $7,499 gap between them buys a fundamentally different tool. One you carry. One you place and leave. Neither unit pulls ahead clearly. That means your specific use case decides this one.

With similar capacity (14,880Wh vs 14,880Wh) and output (7,600W vs 9,000W), the $7,499 price gap is really about the extras. At $0.42/Wh, the EP800 + 3×B500 is the better pure-value play, but the cheapest option and the right option aren't always the same.

Both handle weekend camping, tailgating, and emergency preparedness. Your call is whether saving $7,499 (EP800 + 3×B500) matters more than the EP900 + 3×B500's specific advantages. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the EP800 + 3×B500 works out to about $0.12/kWh against the EP900 + 3×B500's $0.15, a gap that compounds in the EP800 + 3×B500's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI EP800 + 3×B500

With a massive 7,600W output (and 0W surge), the EP800 + 3×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 483.6 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion. A standout feature is the value proposition: at roughly $0.42 per watt-hour, it's one of the most cost-effective options on the market.

Strengths

  • +Costs $7,499 less

Trade-offs

  • Significantly heavier (+17.6 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Weaker inverter (-1,400W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
  • Shorter-lived battery — rated for 3,500 charge cycles vs the EP900 + 3×B500's 6,000, so it wears out sooner.

BLUETTI EP900 + 3×B500

With a massive 9,000W output (and 0W surge), the EP900 + 3×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 466 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Lighter by 17.6 lb
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Rated for 6,000 charge cycles — much longer battery lifespan

Trade-offs

  • Substantially more expensive (+$7,499) than the EP800 + 3×B500.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Either unit

Both survive the blackout with similar margin, and both list a UPS mode — compare their stated switchover classes, and remember those are manufacturer ratings, not measurements.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but EP800 + 3×B500 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain, and their USB-C output is a wash — pick on weight, ports, or price.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a van build is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 4,685Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

EP800 + 3×B50061.7h
13% of usable battery in 8h
EP900 + 3×B50061.7h
13% of usable battery in 8h

Dead heat — both run this 205W load for roughly 61.7h. Pick on price, weight, or ports.

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–843.2h
ApplianceEP800 + 3×B500EP900 + 3×B500
CPAP Machine40W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 316.2h · same39 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 843.2h · same
Router + Modem20W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 632.4h · same
Starlink75W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 168.6h · same
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 316.2h · same
Laptop (Working)60W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 210.8h · same

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–168.6h
ApplianceEP800 + 3×B500EP900 + 3×B500
Box Fan75W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 168.6h · same
LED TV (55")80W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 158.1h · same
Mini-Fridge150W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 84.3h · same
Electric Blanket200W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 63.2h · same7 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–12.6h
ApplianceEP800 + 3×B500EP900 + 3×B500
Coffee Maker1000W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 12.6h · same
Microwave1200W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 10.5h · same
Space Heater1500W draw
EP800 + 3×B500 & EP900 + 3×B500: 8.4h · same

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: evenly matched

These two units are evenly matched. The EP800 + 3×B500 is heavier by 17.6 lbs, while the price difference is only $7,499. Your choice comes down to brand preference mostly.

Overall score margin: 12,197 vs 12,335 (−1.1%)

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

EP800 + 3×B500EP900 + 3×B500
Overall Power Score
12,197
12,335
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
12,407
12,862
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
10,964
11,525

Full specifications

EP800 + 3×B500
$6,299
See live price →
EP900 + 3×B500
$13,798
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
14880
14880
Output (W)
7600
9000
Surge Peak
Not Specified
Not Specified
AC Outlets
Hardwired (120/240V)
Hardwired
240V Outlets
Hardwired
Hardwired
30A RV Outlets
0
0

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, EP800 + 3×B500 rates 4.0/5 (43rd percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and EP900 + 3×B500 rates 4.2/5 (54th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The EP900 + 3×B500 (466 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again. The EP800 + 3×B500 (483.6 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[NOTE]

EP900 + 3×B500: 50dB Published

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. It is BLUETTI's own rating rather than a reading on a shared bench — makers differ on whether they quote a best case or a figure under load, so treat it as a starting point rather than what you would hear at a bedside. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤10ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The EP900 + 3×B500 is rated ≤10ms — quick enough on paper that desktop PCs and routers should ride through, treating that as the rating it is. The EP800 + 3×B500 is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

Warranty: No Difference

Both units carry the same 10-year warranty, so coverage isn't a tiebreaker here. Worth saying because the per-dollar framing can suggest otherwise: the EP800 + 3×B500 works out at 1.6 years of cover per $1,000 spent against the EP900 + 3×B500's 0.7, but that spread is the price gap, not the terms.

[NOTE]

Battery Lifespan in Real Years

The EP900 + 3×B500 is rated for 6,000 cycles vs 3,500. In real life: at daily use, that's 16.4 vs 9.6 years. At weekend use (twice a week), it's 58 vs 34 years. After hitting the cycle limit, the battery doesn't die — it drops to ~80% of original capacity, which is still very usable.

[NOTE]

EP800 + 3×B500: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The EP900 + 3×B500 publishes its noise level (50dB); the EP800 + 3×B500 doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the EP800 + 3×B500 is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the EP900 + 3×B500's 50dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the EP800 + 3×B500 before deciding.

05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

EP800 + 3×B500EP900 + 3×B500

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

EP800 + 3×B500
EP900 + 3×B500
Purchase price
$6,299.00
$13,798.00
Lifetime energy delivered
52,080 kWh
89,280 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.12
$0.15
Cost per warranty year
$630/yr
$1,380/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
16.4yr daily · 57.7yr weekend · 115.4yr weekly

Analyst note

Both units have similar long-term ownership costs ($0.12/kWh vs $0.15/kWh). The price difference is what you see on the sticker — neither is a hidden bargain or rip-off.

Growth path

EP800 + 3×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 14,880Wh.

Accepts up to 9,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

EP900 + 3×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 14,880Wh.

Accepts up to 9,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

EP800 + 3×B500EP900 + 3×B500

Analyst note

Both expand, so neither locks you out of growth — decide on capacity, price, and the rest, not the expansion checkbox.

06

The Bottom Line

These two LiFePO4 portable power stations are genuinely close. After comparing capacity, output, portability, price, and real-world runtime, neither has a decisive advantage. If budget is the deciding factor, the EP800 + 3×B500 saves you $7,499. If you need a slightly different feature mix, the EP900 + 3×B500 justifies the spend.

If neither the EP800 + 3×B500 nor the EP900 + 3×B500 feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the EP900 + 3×B500 worth $7,499 more than the EP800 + 3×B500?

The short answer: yes, if you'll actually use the extra capability. The EP900 + 3×B500 costs $7,499 more, but that premium buys you 1,400W higher AC output (opening the door to more demanding appliances); a longer-lasting battery rated for 6,000 cycles — that's 16 years at daily use. On a cost-per-watt-hour basis, you're paying $0.93/Wh vs $0.42/Wh. For regular use, we'd pay the premium.

Can I actually carry the EP800 + 3×B500, or is the EP900 + 3×B500 the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The EP900 + 3×B500 (466 lbs) and the EP800 + 3×B500 (483.6 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 17.6-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

"6,000 vs 3,500 cycles" — what does that actually mean for me?

In real years: the EP900 + 3×B500 (6,000 cycles) lasts 16.4 years at daily use, 58 years at weekend use (twice a week), or 250 years at twice-monthly camping trips. The EP800 + 3×B500 (3,500 cycles): 9.6 years daily, 34 years weekends, or 146 years twice-monthly. What most people miss: hitting the cycle limit doesn't kill your battery. Capacity drops to about 80%. Your 14,880Wh unit becomes a ~11,904Wh unit. Still very usable. For weekend users, both batteries will outlast the warranty by years.

Where to buy

EP800 + 3×B500

BLUETTI EP800 + 3×B500

$6,299.00

Check current price

$6,299.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

EP900 + 3×B500

BLUETTI EP900 + 3×B500

$13,798.00

Check current price

$13,798.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.