PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI AC240P vs BLUETTI EP800 + 3×B500

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: BLUETTI AC240P

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI AC240P Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

AC240P

1,843Wh2,400W72 lb

3,292Power Score · Appliance Class

Check price →

$1,461.99 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI EP800 + 3×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

EP800 + 3×B500

14,880Wh7,600W483.6 lb

12,197Power Score · Whole-Home Capable

Check price →

$6,299.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
1,843Wh
14,880Wh
Output
2,400W
7,600W
Weight
72 lb
483.6 lb
Typical price
$1,462
$6,299
Cost / Wh
$0.79
$0.42
Cycle life
3,500
matched
3,500
Solar input
1,200W
9,000W
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The AC240P (1,843Wh, 2,400W) and the EP800 + 3×B500 (14,880Wh, 7,600W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities and a $4,837 price gap. The EP800 + 3×B500 has a slight edge, but the margin is close enough that your use case should break the tie.

What the spec gap means in practice: the EP800 + 3×B500's 7,600W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The AC240P's 2,400W inverter still runs most single appliances; the EP800 + 3×B500's real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the EP800 + 3×B500 keeps a fridge alive for roughly 84 hours vs the AC240P's 10 hours. The cost? Portability. At 483.6 lbs, the EP800 + 3×B500 is spread across boxes you site once and leave. The AC240P at 72 lbs is more manageable, though still not light.

Pick the EP800 + 3×B500 if your primary use is 8-hour blackout or remote workday. Go with the AC240P if you primarily need it for tailgate party. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the EP800 + 3×B500 works out to about $0.12/kWh against the AC240P's $0.23, a gap that compounds in the EP800 + 3×B500's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI AC240P

With a massive 2,400W output (and 3,600W surge), the AC240P can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 72 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Costs $4,837 less
  • +Lighter by 411.6 lb

Trade-offs

  • Weaker inverter (-5,200W) limits appliance compatibility.

BLUETTI EP800 + 3×B500

With a massive 7,600W output (and 0W surge), the EP800 + 3×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 483.6 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion. A standout feature is the value proposition: at roughly $0.42 per watt-hour, it's one of the most cost-effective options on the market.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Longer warranty
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • Substantially more expensive (+$4,837) than the AC240P.
  • Significantly heavier (+411.6 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered weekend: the EP800 + 3×B500 has the energy but is wired to the building, and the AC240P covers about 75% of the 2,100Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

EP800 + 3×B500

The AC240P comes up just short — it needs 1,645Wh and has 1,567Wh usable, a 78Wh gap (its nameplate 1,843Wh actually clears this — the flat 15% conversion allowance is what tips it under). Trim that much — one small appliance's worth across the day — and it finishes. The EP800 + 3×B500 covers it outright with 11,003Wh to spare.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but EP800 + 3×B500 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

EP800 + 3×B500

The EP800 + 3×B500 clears the workday at 7% used, banking 11,738Wh — late work, extra calls, or a second laptop charge without arithmetic. The AC240P at 58% also finishes, with 657Wh of slack for the unplanned.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

AC240P

The EP800 + 3×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, so this scenario belongs to the AC240P by default — and it earns it, covering the 670Wh with 897Wh to spare. Capacity was never the EP800 + 3×B500's problem here; getting to a tailgate was.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered van: the EP800 + 3×B500 has the energy but is wired to the building, and the AC240P covers about 33% of the 4,685Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

AC240P7.6h
dead in 7.6h — before your 8h window ends
EP800 + 3×B50061.7h
13% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: EP800 + 3×B500 runs 61.7h vs 7.6h.

Check EP800 + 3×B500 price →

$6,299 list · direct from BLUETTI

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–843.2h
ApplianceAC240PEP800 + 3×B500
CPAP Machine40W draw
AC240P: 39.2h4 full nights
EP800 + 3×B500: 316.2h39 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
AC240P: 104.4h
EP800 + 3×B500: 843.2h
Router + Modem20W draw
AC240P: 78.3h
EP800 + 3×B500: 632.4h
Starlink75W draw
AC240P: 20.9h
EP800 + 3×B500: 168.6h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
AC240P: 39.2h
EP800 + 3×B500: 316.2h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
AC240P: 26.1h
EP800 + 3×B500: 210.8h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–168.6h
ApplianceAC240PEP800 + 3×B500
Box Fan75W draw
AC240P: 20.9h
EP800 + 3×B500: 168.6h
LED TV (55")80W draw
AC240P: 19.6h
EP800 + 3×B500: 158.1h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
AC240P: 10.4h
EP800 + 3×B500: 84.3h
Electric Blanket200W draw
AC240P: 7.8h0 full nights
EP800 + 3×B500: 63.2h7 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–12.6h
ApplianceAC240PEP800 + 3×B500
Coffee Maker1000W draw
AC240P: 1.6h
EP800 + 3×B500: 12.6h
Microwave1200W draw
AC240P: 1.3h
EP800 + 3×B500: 10.5h
Space Heater1500W draw
AC240P: 1h
EP800 + 3×B500: 8.4h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the EP800 + 3×B500, on Power Score margin

These two units are closely matched on individual specs, but our Power Score analysis gives the EP800 + 3×B500 the edge with a composite score of 12,197 vs 3,292.

Cost to ownEP800 + 3×B500$0.12 vs $0.23 /lifetime-kWh
Continuous outputEP800 + 3×B5007,600W vs 2,400W
Typical priceAC240P$1,462 vs $6,299
PortabilityAC240P72 vs 483.6 lb
Solar inputEP800 + 3×B5009,000W vs 1,200W

Overall score margin: 3,292 vs 12,197 (−270.5%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check EP800 + 3×B500 price

$6,299.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the AC240P price$1,461.99 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

AC240PEP800 + 3×B500
Overall Power Score
3,292
12,197
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
3,429
12,407
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
3,290
10,964

Not rated for both units (minimum threshold unmet): UPS, RV Living, Solar Generator, Tailgating.

Full specifications

AC240P
$1,461.99
See live price →
EP800 + 3×B500
$6,299★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
1843
14880
Output (W)
2400
7600
Surge Peak
3600W
Not Specified
AC Outlets
3
Hardwired (120/240V)
240V Outlets
0
Hardwired
30A RV Outlets
1
0

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, AC240P rates 3.9/5 (35th percentile of 27 Everyday-class units), and EP800 + 3×B500 rates 4.0/5 (43rd percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The AC240P (72 lbs) is manageable solo but heavier than a large checked suitcase. The EP800 + 3×B500 (483.6 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[NOTE]

AC240P: 45dB Published

45dB is about as loud as a running refrigerator. It is BLUETTI's own rating rather than a reading on a shared bench — makers differ on whether they quote a best case or a figure under load, so treat it as a starting point rather than what you would hear at a bedside. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤15ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The AC240P is rated ≤15ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. The EP800 + 3×B500 is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

Warranty: 10 Years vs 6

The EP800 + 3×B500 is covered for 10 years against the AC240P's 6 years. The cheaper AC240P does buy more warranty per dollar (4.1 years per $1,000 against 1.6), but that is a statement about price, not about coverage — if a fault appears in year 7, only one of these is still covered. An underrated factor if you're keeping this unit for years.

[NOTE]

EP800 + 3×B500: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The AC240P publishes its noise level (45dB); the EP800 + 3×B500 doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the EP800 + 3×B500 is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the AC240P's 45dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the EP800 + 3×B500 before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the EP800 + 3×B500.

Check EP800 + 3×B500 price →or check the AC240P price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

AC240PEP800 + 3×B500

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

AC240P
EP800 + 3×B500
Purchase price
$1,461.99
$6,299.00
Lifetime energy delivered
6,451 kWh
52,080 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.23
$0.12
Cost per warranty year
$244/yr
$630/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly

Analyst note

The AC240P is cheaper to buy, but the EP800 + 3×B500 is cheaper to own. At $0.12/kWh over its lifetime vs $0.23/kWh, the EP800 + 3×B500's higher cycle life and capacity make each dollar go further over the years. One thing to know reading the table: both carry the same 3,500-cycle rating, so the lifetime rows are sticker price and capacity in disguise — the wear horizon is identical and decides nothing here.

Delivers each lifetime kWh for $0.11 less — check the EP800 + 3×B500 price →

Growth path

AC240P

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 1,843Wh.

Accepts up to 1,200W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

EP800 + 3×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 14,880Wh.

Accepts up to 9,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

AC240PEP800 + 3×B500

Analyst note

Both expand, but the EP800 + 3×B500's higher solar ceiling (9,000W vs 1,200W) gives it the stronger off-grid growth path — more panels can feed a bigger bank as it grows.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The EP800 + 3×B500 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the AC240P wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the AC240P nor the EP800 + 3×B500 feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. Use our comparison tool above to explore alternatives that better match your specific wattage and runtime requirements. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the EP800 + 3×B500 worth $4,837 more than the AC240P?

The short answer: yes, if you'll actually use the extra capability. The EP800 + 3×B500 costs $4,837 more, but that premium buys you 13,037Wh more battery capacity (that's 74 extra hours of running a mini-fridge); 5,200W higher AC output (opening the door to more demanding appliances); 7,800W faster solar charging for quicker off-grid recovery. On a cost-per-watt-hour basis, you're paying $0.42/Wh vs $0.79/Wh. Factor in cycle life and the math flips: the EP800 + 3×B500 costs $0.12/kWh over its lifetime vs $0.23/kWh. The "expensive" unit is actually cheaper to own. For regular use, we'd pay the premium.

How does the 13,037Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The EP800 + 3×B500's 14,880Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 84 hours vs the AC240P's 10 hours. Where it really matters: during an 8-hour blackout running your fridge, router, lights, AND charging your phone simultaneously (about 1,645Wh total), the EP800 + 3×B500 handles it while the AC240P runs dry. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The EP800 + 3×B500's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the EP800 + 3×B500, or is the AC240P the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The AC240P (72 lbs) and the EP800 + 3×B500 (483.6 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 411.6-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the EP800 + 3×B500 accepts 9,000W vs the AC240P's 1,200W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 2.4 hours for the EP800 + 3×B500 and 2.2 hours for the AC240P. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the EP800 + 3×B500's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the EP800 + 3×B500's advantage is substantial.

Bottom line: should I buy the AC240P or the EP800 + 3×B500?

We'd pay the premium for the EP800 + 3×B500. Yes, it costs more. The capability jump is real: you're stepping into a tier that handles appliances the base model can't start. The AC240P is still solid if budget is the priority, but the EP800 + 3×B500 will leave you less likely to wish you'd "gone bigger" six months from now. That regret costs more than the price difference.

Check EP800 + 3×B500 price →

Where to buy

AC240P

BLUETTI AC240P

$1,461.99

Check current price

$1,461.99 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

EP800 + 3×B500

BLUETTI EP800 + 3×B500Pick

$6,299.00

Check current price

$6,299.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.