PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 8×B500 vs BLUETTI 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)

Spec deltas

Capacity
39,680Wh
38,400Wh
Output
18,000W
28,800W
Weight
1,178 lb
1,158.7 lb
Typical price
$35,196
$21,420
Cost / Wh
$0.89
$0.56
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 (39,680Wh, 18,000W) and the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 (38,400Wh, 28,800W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities and a $13,776 price gap. We'd buy the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1.

What the spec gap means in practice: the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's 18,000W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1's 28,800W inverter still runs most single appliances; the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 keeps a fridge alive for roughly 225 hours vs the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1's 218 hours.

Pick the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 if you want the unit that wins the head-to-head on balance. Go with the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 if its specific strengths below line up better with your use. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 8×B500

With a massive 18,000W output, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 1,178 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • –Substantially more expensive (+$13,776) than the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1.
  • –Significantly heavier (+19.3 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • –Weaker inverter (-10,800W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • –Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.

BLUETTI 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1

With a massive 28,800W output, the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 1,158.7 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion. A standout feature is the value proposition: at roughly $0.56 per watt-hour, it's one of the most cost-effective options on the market.

Strengths

  • +Costs $13,776 less
  • +Lighter by 19.3 lb
  • +Higher AC output

Trade-offs

  • –Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide →

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Either unit

Both survive the blackout with similar margin, and both list a UPS mode — compare their stated switchover classes, and remember those are manufacturer ratings, not measurements.

Emergency blackout power guide →

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both of these cover the night several times over — capacity isn't the question here. The only published difference is fan noise, and it can't settle this: the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 is rated 31dB and the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 50dB, but both are BLUETTI's own ratings on one convention, best-case floors rather than readings at a CPAP's draw. Neither settles which box is quieter at a bedside. Buy whichever is cheaper or easier to carry.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain, and their USB-C output is a wash — pick on weight, ports, or price.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a van build is a category error: both are installed at the electrical panel — they back up the building and don't leave it. The 4,685Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

RV & van-life power guide →

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP900 + 8×B500164.5h
5% of usable battery in 8h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1159.2h
5% of usable battery in 8h

Dead heat — both run this 205W load for roughly 164.5h. Pick on price, weight, or ports.

Planning for more than this? Describe your whole setup and get it sized →

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–2248.5h
Appliance2×EP900 + 8×B5005×EnergyPro 6K + AT1
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 843.2h105 full nights
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 816h102 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 2248.5h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 2176h
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 1686.4h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 1632h
Starlink75W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 449.7h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 435.2h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 843.2h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 816h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 562.1h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 544h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–449.7h
Appliance2×EP900 + 8×B5005×EnergyPro 6K + AT1
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 449.7h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 435.2h
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 421.6h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 408h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 224.9h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 217.6h
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 168.6h21 full nights
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 163.2h20 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–33.7h
Appliance2×EP900 + 8×B5005×EnergyPro 6K + AT1
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 33.7h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 32.6h
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 28.1h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 27.2h
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 22.5h
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1: 21.8h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1

The 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 takes it on balance: 10,800W more output than the 2×EP900 + 8×B500, against 1,280Wh less capacity. It costs $13,776 less as well and weighs 19.3 lbs less, which makes it the easier call.

Continuous output5×EnergyPro 6K + AT128,800W vs 18,000W
Typical price5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1$21,420 vs $35,196
Portability5×EnergyPro 6K + AT11,158.7 vs 1,178 lb
Expansion5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1expandable vs closed system

Overall score margin: 27,317 vs 27,460 (−0.5%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 price

$21,420.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 5 hours ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 price$35,196.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP900 + 8×B5005×EnergyPro 6K + AT1
Overall Power Score
27,317
27,460
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
28,536
29,218
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
24,970
28,272

Full specifications

2×EP900 + 8×B500
$35,196
See live price →
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1
$21,420★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
39680
38400
Output (W)
18000
28800
Surge Peak
Not Specified
Not Specified
AC Outlets
Hardwired
Hardwired
240V Outlets
Hardwired
Hardwired
30A RV Outlets
0
0

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP900 + 8×B500 rates 4.9/5 (94th percentile of 37 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 rates 5.0/5 (99th percentile of 37 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 (1,158.7 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 (1,178 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[NOTE]

2×EP900 + 8×B500: 50dB Published

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. The 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 is rated 31dB — lower, but the two ratings need not describe the same operating regime even within one maker's own range, so the two figures are not a like-for-like gap. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

2×EP900 + 8×B500: Fixed Capacity

The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is sealed at 39,680Wh — a complete unit, and already larger than the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1's 38,400Wh. By contrast the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 can add expansion batteries, but that only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 39,680Wh.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤10ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is rated ≤10ms — quick enough on paper that desktop PCs and routers should ride through, treating that as the rating it is. The 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

Warranty: No Difference

Both units carry the same 10-year warranty, so coverage isn't a tiebreaker here. Worth saying because the per-dollar framing can suggest otherwise: the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 works out at 0.5 years of cover per $1,000 spent against the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's 0.3, but that spread is the price gap, not the terms.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1.

Check 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 price →or check the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP900 + 8×B5005×EnergyPro 6K + AT1

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead. est. = no published cycle rating; the brand’s average is used instead.

2×EP900 + 8×B500
5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1
Purchase price
$35,196.00
$21,420.00
Lifetime energy delivered
238,080 kWh
161,280 kWh est.
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.15
$0.13 est.
Cost per warranty year
$3,520/yr
$2,142/yr
Battery lifespan
16.4yr daily · 57.7yr weekends · 115.4yr weekly
11.5yr daily · 40.4yr weekends · 80.8yr weekly est.

Analyst note

The 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 has no published cycle rating, so its lifetime rows use the average of the 46 LiFePO4 units BLUETTI does rate: about 4,200 cycles. That's a fair baseline for the brand but not a rating for this unit, so cost to own isn't scored on it. Judge these two on price, capacity and warranty, and read the rows marked "est." as a ballpark.

Growth path

2×EP900 + 8×B500

FIXED CAPACITY

Fixed at 39,680Wh — a sealed, complete system rather than a starting point. There's no expansion port, so that figure is the ceiling: check it against your longest unplugged stretch before you buy.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 38,400Wh.

No panel input of its own: solar reaches it through a rooftop inverter on its distribution panel.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

Analyst note

Don't read the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1's expandability as a straight win here: it starts at 38,400Wh, below the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's 39,680Wh, so a first expansion battery largely buys back capacity the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 already includes. It only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 39,680Wh — short of that, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's larger fixed capacity is the simpler value.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 nor the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 worth $13,776 more than the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1?

A tough sell. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 offers 18,000W faster solar charging for quicker off-grid recovery, but $13,776 is a steep premium for a single upgrade. At $0.56/Wh, the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 delivers better bang for your buck. Unless that advantage is non-negotiable, save the cash. Better yet, put it toward a solar panel that pays for itself in free charges.

How does the 1,280Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The 2×EP900 + 8×B500's 39,680Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 225 hours vs the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1's 218 hours. Both can handle a full 8-hour blackout setup (fridge + router + lights + phone charging ≈ 1,645Wh), but the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 finishes with significantly more margin. That matters if conditions aren't ideal or the outage runs long. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the 2×EP900 + 8×B500, or is the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 (1,158.7 lbs) and the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 (1,178 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 19.3-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 accepts 18,000W vs the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1's 0W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 3.1 hours for the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 and N/A hours for the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's advantage is substantial.

Does the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1's expandability make it the safer long-term buy?

Not necessarily. The 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 can add BLUETTI batteries, but it starts at 38,400Wh — below the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's sealed 39,680Wh. A first expansion battery mostly buys back capacity the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 already gives you out of the box; expandability only pulls ahead if you expect to grow past 39,680Wh. If you don't, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's larger fixed capacity is the simpler, complete package — not a dead end, just already the bigger battery.

Bottom line: should I buy the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 or the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1?

We'd buy the 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1. Strong value at a lower price, and for most real-world use cases the spec gaps don't translate to meaningful capability gaps. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 makes sense only if you specifically need its higher capacity for demanding sustained loads like full-home backup or commercial use.

Check 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1 price →

Where to buy

2×EP900 + 8×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 8×B500

$35,196.00

Check current price

$35,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 89 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1

BLUETTI 5×EnergyPro 6K + AT1Pick

$21,420.00

Check current price

$21,420.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 5 hours ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.