PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500 vs BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 8×B500

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP800 + 6×B500

29,760Wh15,200W976.8 lb

21,649Power Score · Grid-Independent

Check price →

$23,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 8×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP900 + 8×B500

39,680Wh18,000W1,178 lb

27,317Power Score · Grid-Independent

Check price →

$35,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 32 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
29,760Wh
39,680Wh
Output
15,200W
18,000W
Weight
976.8 lb
1,178 lb
Typical price
$23,998
$35,196
Cost / Wh
$0.81
$0.89
Cycle life
3,500
6,000
Solar input
18,000W
matched
18,000W
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 (29,760Wh, 15,200W) and the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 (39,680Wh, 18,000W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities and a $11,198 price gap. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 has a slight edge, but the margin is close enough that your use case should break the tie.

What the spec gap means in practice: the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's 18,000W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500's 15,200W inverter still runs most single appliances; the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 keeps a fridge alive for roughly 225 hours vs the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's 169 hours. The cost? Portability. At 1,178 lbs, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is a two-person lift you set down once and leave. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 at 976.8 lbs is more manageable, though still not light.

Pick the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 if you want the unit that wins the head-to-head on balance. Go with the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 if you want the option to add expansion batteries later. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 works out to about $0.15/kWh against the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's $0.23, a gap that compounds in the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

With a massive 15,200W output (and 0W surge), the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 976.8 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Costs $11,198 less
  • +Lighter by 201.2 lb

Trade-offs

  • Weaker inverter (-2,800W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
  • Shorter-lived battery — rated for 3,500 charge cycles vs the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's 6,000, so it wears out sooner.

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 8×B500

With a massive 18,000W output (and 0W surge), the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 1,178 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Longer warranty
  • +Rated for 6,000 charge cycles — much longer battery lifespan

Trade-offs

  • Substantially more expensive (+$11,198) than the 2×EP800 + 6×B500.
  • Significantly heavier (+201.2 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a campsite is a category error: the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it. The 2,100Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

Either unit

Both survive the blackout with similar margin, and both list a UPS mode — compare their stated switchover classes, and remember those are manufacturer ratings, not measurements.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but 2×EP800 + 6×B500 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

Either unit

Both power your workstation all day without strain, and their USB-C output is a wash — pick on weight, ports, or price.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a tailgate is a category error: the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it. The 670Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Scoring these two at a van build is a category error: the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, and the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it. The 4,685Wh here is trivial for either — it's the going that doesn't happen. If you need power away from the building, you're shopping the wrong class.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP800 + 6×B500123.4h
6% of usable battery in 8h
2×EP900 + 8×B500164.5h
5% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: 2×EP900 + 8×B500 runs 164.5h vs 123.4h.

Check 2×EP900 + 8×B500 price →

$35,196 list · direct from BLUETTI

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–2248.5h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 8×B500
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 632.4h79 full nights
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 843.2h105 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 1686.4h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 2248.5h
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 1264.8h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 1686.4h
Starlink75W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 337.3h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 449.7h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 632.4h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 843.2h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 421.6h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 562.1h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–449.7h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 8×B500
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 337.3h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 449.7h
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 316.2h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 421.6h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 168.6h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 224.9h
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 126.5h15 full nights
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 168.6h21 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–33.7h
Appliance2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 8×B500
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 25.3h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 33.7h
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 21.1h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 28.1h
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP800 + 6×B500: 16.9h
2×EP900 + 8×B500: 22.5h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the 2×EP900 + 8×B500, on Power Score margin

These two units are closely matched on individual specs, but our Power Score analysis gives the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 the edge with a composite score of 27,317 vs 21,649.

Overall score margin: 21,649 vs 27,317 (−26.2%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check 2×EP900 + 8×B500 price

$35,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 32 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price$23,998.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 8×B500
Overall Power Score
21,649
27,317
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
22,348
28,536
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
19,729
24,970

Full specifications

2×EP800 + 6×B500
$23,998
See live price →
2×EP900 + 8×B500
$35,196★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
29760
39680
Output (W)
15200
18000
Surge Peak
Not Specified
Not Specified
AC Outlets
Hardwired (120/240V)
Hardwired
USB-C Charging Outputs
0
N/A
Solar Input (W)
18000
18000

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP800 + 6×B500 rates 4.6/5 (75th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and 2×EP900 + 8×B500 rates 4.9/5 (96th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 (976.8 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 (1,178 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[NOTE]

2×EP900 + 8×B500: 50dB Under Load

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 publishes no figure to compare it against, which cuts both ways. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

2×EP900 + 8×B500: Fixed Capacity

The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is sealed at 39,680Wh — a complete unit, and already larger than the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's 29,760Wh. By contrast the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 can add expansion batteries, but that only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 39,680Wh.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤10ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is rated ≤10ms — quick enough on paper that desktop PCs and routers should ride through, treating that as the rating it is. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

Battery Lifespan in Real Years

The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is rated for 6,000 cycles vs 3,500. In real life: at daily use, that's 16.4 vs 9.6 years. At weekend use (twice a week), it's 58 vs 34 years. One caution reading years across different sizes: a cycle is 39,680Wh on the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 and 29,760Wh on the 2×EP800 + 6×B500, so count lifetime energy — roughly 238,080 kWh against 104,160 kWh over the rated life. After hitting the cycle limit, the battery doesn't die — it drops to ~80% of original capacity, which is still very usable.

[CAUTION]

2×EP800 + 6×B500: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 publishes its noise level (50dB); the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's 50dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the 2×EP900 + 8×B500.

Check 2×EP900 + 8×B500 price →or check the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 8×B500

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

2×EP800 + 6×B500
2×EP900 + 8×B500
Purchase price
$23,998.00
$35,196.00
Lifetime energy delivered
104,160 kWh
238,080 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.23
$0.15
Cost per warranty year
$∞/yr
$3,520/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
16.4yr daily · 57.7yr weekend · 115.4yr weekly

Analyst note

The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is cheaper to buy, but the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 is cheaper to own. At $0.15/kWh over its lifetime vs $0.23/kWh, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's higher cycle life and capacity make each dollar go further over the years.

Growth path

2×EP800 + 6×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 29,760Wh.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP900 + 8×B500

FIXED CAPACITY

Fixed at 39,680Wh — a sealed, complete system rather than a starting point. There's no expansion port, so that figure is the ceiling: check it against your longest unplugged stretch before you buy.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

2×EP800 + 6×B5002×EP900 + 8×B500

Analyst note

Don't read the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's expandability as a straight win here: it starts at 29,760Wh, below the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's 39,680Wh, so a first expansion battery largely buys back capacity the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 already includes. It only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 39,680Wh — short of that, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's larger fixed capacity is the simpler value.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 nor the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 worth $11,198 more than the 2×EP800 + 6×B500?

The short answer: yes, if you'll actually use the extra capability. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500 costs $11,198 more, but that premium buys you 9,920Wh more battery capacity (that's 56 extra hours of running a mini-fridge); 2,800W higher AC output (opening the door to more demanding appliances); a longer-lasting battery rated for 6,000 cycles — that's 16 years at daily use. On a cost-per-watt-hour basis, you're paying $0.89/Wh vs $0.81/Wh. Factor in cycle life and the math flips: the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 costs $0.15/kWh over its lifetime vs $0.23/kWh. The "expensive" unit is actually cheaper to own. For regular use, we'd pay the premium.

How does the 9,920Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The 2×EP900 + 8×B500's 39,680Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 225 hours vs the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's 169 hours. Both can handle a full 8-hour blackout setup (fridge + router + lights + phone charging ≈ 1,645Wh), but the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 finishes with significantly more margin. That matters if conditions aren't ideal or the outage runs long. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The 2×EP900 + 8×B500's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the 2×EP900 + 8×B500, or is the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 (976.8 lbs) and the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 (1,178 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 201.2-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

"6,000 vs 3,500 cycles" — what does that actually mean for me?

In real years: the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 (6,000 cycles) lasts 16.4 years at daily use, 58 years at weekend use (twice a week), or 250 years at twice-monthly camping trips. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 (3,500 cycles): 9.6 years daily, 34 years weekends, or 146 years twice-monthly. What most people miss: hitting the cycle limit doesn't kill your battery. Capacity drops to about 80%. Your 39,680Wh unit becomes a ~31,744Wh unit. Still very usable. For weekend users, both batteries will outlast the warranty by years.

Does the 2×EP800 + 6×B500's expandability make it the safer long-term buy?

Not necessarily. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 can add BLUETTI batteries, but it starts at 29,760Wh — below the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's sealed 39,680Wh. A first expansion battery mostly buys back capacity the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 already gives you out of the box; expandability only pulls ahead if you expect to grow past 39,680Wh. If you don't, the 2×EP900 + 8×B500's larger fixed capacity is the simpler, complete package — not a dead end, just already the bigger battery.

Bottom line: should I buy the 2×EP800 + 6×B500 or the 2×EP900 + 8×B500?

We'd pay the premium for the 2×EP900 + 8×B500. Yes, it costs more. The capability jump is real: you're stepping into a tier that handles appliances the base model can't start. The 2×EP800 + 6×B500 is still solid if budget is the priority, but the 2×EP900 + 8×B500 will leave you less likely to wish you'd "gone bigger" six months from now. That regret costs more than the price difference.

Check 2×EP900 + 8×B500 price →

Where to buy

2×EP800 + 6×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 6×B500

$23,998.00

Check current price

$23,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 6 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

2×EP900 + 8×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP900 + 8×B500Pick

$35,196.00

Check current price

$35,196.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 32 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.