PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500 vs BLUETTI EB3A

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: BLUETTI EB3A

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP800 + 8×B500

39,680Wh15,200W1,213.2 lb

26,270Power Score · Grid-Independent

Check price →

$29,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI EB3A Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

EB3A

268Wh600W10.1 lb

1,489Power Score · Device Hub

Check price →

$219.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
39,680Wh
268Wh
Output
15,200W
600W
Weight
1,213.2 lb
10.1 lb
Typical price
$29,998
$219
Cost / Wh
$0.76
$0.82
Cycle life
3,500
2,500
Solar input
18,000W
200W
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 (39,680Wh, 15,200W) and the EB3A (268Wh, 600W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities and a $29,779 price gap. These two aren't alternatives to each other. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 holds 148× the energy and costs 137× as much, so this comes down to the load you need to cover rather than which unit is better. If the EB3A carries your load, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is capacity you pay for and never use; if it doesn't, no amount of saving makes the EB3A the answer.

What the spec gap means in practice: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's 15,200W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The EB3A's 600W inverter can't run the heaviest of those — a window AC or a high-surge power tool needs more than it can hold, whatever its 1,200W surge ceiling does at the instant of startup. On stamina, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 keeps a fridge alive for roughly 225 hours vs the EB3A's 2 hours. The cost? Portability. At 1,213.2 lbs, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is spread across boxes you site once and leave. The EB3A at 10.1 lbs is something one person can actually carry.

Pick the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 if your primary use is 8-hour blackout or cpap overnight. Go with the EB3A if its specific strengths below line up better with your use. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 works out to about $0.22/kWh against the EB3A's $0.33, a gap that compounds in the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500

With a massive 15,200W output (and 0W surge), the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 1,213.2 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Longer warranty
  • +Faster solar charging
  • +Rated for 3,500 charge cycles — much longer battery lifespan

Trade-offs

  • Substantially more expensive (+$29,779) than the EB3A.
  • Significantly heavier (+1,203.1 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.

BLUETTI EB3A

At 600W, this unit is strictly for personal electronics (phones, laptops) and small CPAP machines. Do not expect to run kitchen appliances. At only 10.1 lbs, it is exceptionally portable. You can easily carry it one-handed to a campsite or tailgating party.

Strengths

  • +Costs $29,779 less
  • +Lighter by 1,203.1 lb

Trade-offs

  • Weaker inverter (-14,600W) limits appliance compatibility.
  • Shorter-lived battery — rated for 2,500 charge cycles vs the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's 3,500, so it wears out sooner.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on seven real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered weekend: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 has the energy but is wired to the building, and the EB3A covers about 11% of the 2,100Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

2×EP800 + 8×B500

The EB3A doesn't finish — 228Wh usable against the 1,645Wh this needs leaves it 1,417Wh short, about 14% of the scenario covered. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 covers it with 32,083Wh to spare.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

2×EP800 + 8×B500

The EB3A doesn't finish — 228Wh usable against the 320Wh this needs leaves it 92Wh short, about 71% of the scenario covered. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 covers it with 33,408Wh to spare.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

2×EP800 + 8×B500

The EB3A doesn't finish — 228Wh usable against the 910Wh this needs leaves it 682Wh short, about 25% of the scenario covered. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 covers it with 32,818Wh to spare.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered game day: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 has the energy but is wired to the building, and the EB3A covers about 34% of the 670Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered van: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 has the energy but is wired to the building, and the EB3A covers about 5% of the 4,685Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

SCN-07 · an afternoon · needs 100Wh

Afternoon Off-Grid

Phones and a speaker at the park, beach, or campsite — the small-unit job description

Either unit

This row is here for the EB3A's class of job: phones and a speaker, 100Wh across an afternoon. Both cover it — the EB3A finishes at 44% used, and the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 barely notices it. For this job the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's extra capacity is dead weight, not headroom; take the EB3A at 10.1 lbs and leave the rest at home.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger (×2) 30W×2h · Bluetooth Speaker 10W×4h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP800 + 8×B500164.5h
5% of usable battery in 8h
EB3A1.1h
dead in 1.1h — before your 8h window ends

For this load: 2×EP800 + 8×B500 runs 164.5h vs 1.1h.

Check 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price →

$29,998 list · direct from BLUETTI

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–2248.5h
Appliance2×EP800 + 8×B500EB3A
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 843.2h105 full nights
EB3A: 5.7h0 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 2248.5h
EB3A: 15.2h
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 1686.4h
EB3A: 11.4h
Starlink75W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 449.7h
EB3A: 3h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 843.2h
EB3A: 5.7h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 562.1h
EB3A: 3.8h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–449.7h
Appliance2×EP800 + 8×B500EB3A
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 449.7h
EB3A: 3h
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 421.6h
EB3A: 2.8h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 224.9h
EB3A: 1.5h
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 168.6h21 full nights
EB3A: 1.1h0 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–33.7h
Appliance2×EP800 + 8×B500EB3A
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 33.7h
EB3A: — exceeds output
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 28.1h
EB3A: — exceeds output
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 22.5h
EB3A: — exceeds output

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500, on Power Score margin

These two units are closely matched on individual specs, but our Power Score analysis gives the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 the edge with a composite score of 26,270 vs 1,489.

Cost to own2×EP800 + 8×B500$0.22 vs $0.33 /lifetime-kWh
Cycle life2×EP800 + 8×B5003,500 vs 2,500 cycles
Continuous output2×EP800 + 8×B50015,200W vs 600W
Typical priceEB3A$219 vs $29,998
PortabilityEB3A10.1 vs 1,213.2 lb
Solar input2×EP800 + 8×B50018,000W vs 200W

Overall score margin: 26,270 vs 1,489 (+1664.3%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price

$29,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the EB3A price$219.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP800 + 8×B500EB3A
Overall Power Score
26,270
1,489

Not rated for both units (minimum threshold unmet): Home Backup, CPAP, Solar Generator, Tailgating, Food Truck, Apartment Balcony, Camping.

Full specifications

2×EP800 + 8×B500
$29,998★ our pick
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
39680
268
Output (W)
15200
600
Surge Peak
Not Specified
1200W
AC Outlets
Hardwired (120/240V)
2
240V Outlets
Hardwired
0
30A RV Outlets
0
0

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP800 + 8×B500 rates 4.5/5 (71st percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and EB3A rates 3.8/5 (29th percentile of 22 Personal-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

2×EP800 + 8×B500: 1,213.2 lbs Is a Commitment

At 1,213.2 lbs, this is an installed system: an electrician mounts it at the electrical panel and its weight matters exactly once. It backs up the building — it was never going to be carried anywhere.

[NOTE]

EB3A: 50dB Published

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. It is BLUETTI's own rating rather than a reading on a shared bench — makers differ on whether they quote a best case or a figure under load, so treat it as a starting point rather than what you would hear at a bedside. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤20ms vs ≤30ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. The EB3A is rated ≤30ms — a transfer this long is one many desktops will NOT ride through, so plan on reboots for sensitive gear. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

Warranty: 10 Years vs 2

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is covered for 10 years against the EB3A's 2 years. The cheaper EB3A does buy more warranty per dollar (9.1 years per $1,000 against 0.3), but that is a statement about price, not about coverage — if a fault appears in year 3, only one of these is still covered. An underrated factor if you're keeping this unit for years.

[NOTE]

Battery Lifespan in Real Years

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is rated for 3,500 cycles vs 2,500. In real life: at daily use, that's 9.6 vs 6.8 years. At weekend use (twice a week), it's 34 vs 24 years. One caution reading years across different sizes: a cycle is 39,680Wh on the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 and 268Wh on the EB3A, so count lifetime energy — roughly 138,880 kWh against 670 kWh over the rated life. After hitting the cycle limit, the battery doesn't die — it drops to ~80% of original capacity, which is still very usable.

[NOTE]

2×EP800 + 8×B500: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The EB3A publishes its noise level (50dB); the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the EB3A's 50dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the 2×EP800 + 8×B500.

Check 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price →or check the EB3A price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP800 + 8×B500EB3A

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

2×EP800 + 8×B500
EB3A
Purchase price
$29,998.00
$219.00
Lifetime energy delivered
138,880 kWh
670 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.22
$0.33
Cost per warranty year
$3,000/yr
$110/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
6.8yr daily · 24yr weekend · 48.1yr weekly

Analyst note

The EB3A is cheaper to buy, but the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is cheaper to own. At $0.22/kWh over its lifetime vs $0.33/kWh, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's higher cycle life and capacity make each dollar go further over the years.

Delivers each lifetime kWh for $0.11 less — check the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price →

Growth path

2×EP800 + 8×B500

FIXED CAPACITY

Fixed at 39,680Wh — a sealed, complete system rather than a starting point. There's no expansion port, so that figure is the ceiling: check it against your longest unplugged stretch before you buy.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

EB3A

FIXED CAPACITY

Fixed at 268Wh, with no expansion — so size it for your needs up front rather than planning to add capacity later.

Accepts up to 200W of solar. Limited to a single portable panel.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

2×EP800 + 8×B500EB3A

Analyst note

Neither expands, and that's no knock on either — each is a complete unit at a fixed size. Buy the capacity that covers your needs now (the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 gives you the larger ceiling); you can't add to either later.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the EB3A wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 nor the EB3A feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. Use our comparison tool above to explore alternatives that better match your specific wattage and runtime requirements. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 worth $29,779 more than the EB3A?

The short answer: yes, if you'll actually use the extra capability. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 costs $29,779 more, but that premium buys you 39,412Wh more battery capacity (that's 223 extra hours of running a mini-fridge); 14,600W higher AC output (opening the door to more demanding appliances); a longer-lasting battery rated for 3,500 cycles — that's 10 years at daily use; 17,800W faster solar charging for quicker off-grid recovery. On a cost-per-watt-hour basis, you're paying $0.76/Wh vs $0.82/Wh. Factor in cycle life and the math flips: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 costs $0.22/kWh over its lifetime vs $0.33/kWh. The "expensive" unit is actually cheaper to own. For regular use, we'd pay the premium.

How does the 39,412Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500's 39,680Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 225 hours vs the EB3A's 2 hours. Where it really matters: during an 8-hour blackout running your fridge, router, lights, AND charging your phone simultaneously (about 1,645Wh total), the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 handles it while the EB3A runs dry. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the 2×EP800 + 8×B500, or is the EB3A the only portable option?

The EB3A at 10.1 lbs is genuinely grab-and-go. Toss it in a backpack, carry it one-handed to a picnic, take it on a boat. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 at 1,213.2 lbs is a different story. It's like carrying a large suitcase full of books. If you're setting up and breaking down camp frequently, this weight difference will exhaust you by day two.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 accepts 18,000W vs the EB3A's 200W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 3.1 hours for the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 and 1.9 hours for the EB3A. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's advantage is substantial.

"3,500 vs 2,500 cycles" — what does that actually mean for me?

In real years: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 (3,500 cycles) lasts 9.6 years at daily use, 34 years at weekend use (twice a week), or 146 years at twice-monthly camping trips. The EB3A (2,500 cycles): 6.8 years daily, 24 years weekends, or 104 years twice-monthly. What most people miss: hitting the cycle limit doesn't kill your battery. Capacity drops to about 80%. Your 39,680Wh unit becomes a ~31,744Wh unit. Still very usable. For weekend users, both batteries will outlast the warranty by years.

Bottom line: should I buy the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 or the EB3A?

We'd pay the premium for the 2×EP800 + 8×B500. Yes, it costs more. The capability jump is real: you're stepping into a tier that handles appliances the base model can't start. The EB3A is still solid if budget is the priority, but the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 will leave you less likely to wish you'd "gone bigger" six months from now. That regret costs more than the price difference.

Check 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price →

Where to buy

2×EP800 + 8×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500Pick

$29,998.00

Check current price

$29,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

EB3A

BLUETTI EB3A

$219.00

Check current price

$219.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.