PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500 vs BLUETTI AC200MAX

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: BLUETTI AC200MAX

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP800 + 8×B500

39,680Wh15,200W1,213.2 lb

26,270Power Score · Grid-Independent

Check price →

$29,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI AC200MAX Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

AC200MAX

2,048Wh2,200W61.9 lb

3,365Power Score · Appliance Class

Check price →

$1,199.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
39,680Wh
2,048Wh
Output
15,200W
2,200W
Weight
1,213.2 lb
61.9 lb
Typical price
$29,998
$1,199
Cost / Wh
$0.76
$0.59
Cycle life
3,500
matched
3,500
Solar input
18,000W
900W
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 (39,680Wh, 15,200W) and the AC200MAX (2,048Wh, 2,200W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities and a $28,799 price gap. These two aren't alternatives to each other. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 holds 19× the energy and costs 25× as much, so this comes down to the load you need to cover rather than which unit is better. If the AC200MAX carries your load, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is capacity you pay for and never use; if it doesn't, no amount of saving makes the AC200MAX the answer.

What the spec gap means in practice: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's 15,200W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The AC200MAX's 2,200W inverter still runs most single appliances; the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 keeps a fridge alive for roughly 225 hours vs the AC200MAX's 12 hours. The cost? Portability. At 1,213.2 lbs, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is spread across boxes you site once and leave. The AC200MAX at 61.9 lbs is more manageable, though still not light.

Pick the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 if your primary use is 8-hour blackout or remote workday. Go with the AC200MAX if you primarily need it for tailgate party. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the AC200MAX works out to about $0.17/kWh against the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's $0.22, a gap that compounds in the AC200MAX's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500

With a massive 15,200W output (and 0W surge), the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 1,213.2 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Longer warranty
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • Substantially more expensive (+$28,799) than the AC200MAX.
  • Significantly heavier (+1,151.3 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.

BLUETTI AC200MAX

The 2,200W inverter handles most daily devices like laptops, blenders, and TVs, but will struggle with heating elements that require over 1500W. Weighing in at 61.9 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion. A standout feature is the value proposition: at roughly $0.59 per watt-hour, it's one of the most cost-effective options on the market.

Strengths

  • +Costs $28,799 less
  • +Lighter by 1,151.3 lb

Trade-offs

  • Weaker inverter (-13,000W) limits appliance compatibility.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered weekend: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 has the energy but is wired to the building, and the AC200MAX covers about 83% of the 2,100Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

2×EP800 + 8×B500

Both survive the night. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 finishes at 5% used with 32,083Wh left — 19.5 more nights like it. The AC200MAX finishes at 94% with 96Wh, 6% of a second night. If your outages tend to run past one evening, that difference is the whole argument between them.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but 2×EP800 + 8×B500 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

2×EP800 + 8×B500

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 clears the workday at 3% used, banking 32,818Wh — late work, extra calls, or a second laptop charge without arithmetic. The AC200MAX at 52% also finishes, with 831Wh of slack for the unplanned.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

AC200MAX

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, so this scenario belongs to the AC200MAX by default — and it earns it, covering the 670Wh with 1,071Wh to spare. Capacity was never the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's problem here; getting to a tailgate was.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered van: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 has the energy but is wired to the building, and the AC200MAX covers about 37% of the 4,685Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP800 + 8×B500164.5h
5% of usable battery in 8h
AC200MAX8.5h
94% of usable battery in 8h

For this load: 2×EP800 + 8×B500 runs 164.5h vs 8.5h.

Check 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price →

$29,998 list · direct from BLUETTI

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–2248.5h
Appliance2×EP800 + 8×B500AC200MAX
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 843.2h105 full nights
AC200MAX: 43.5h5 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 2248.5h
AC200MAX: 116.1h
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 1686.4h
AC200MAX: 87h
Starlink75W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 449.7h
AC200MAX: 23.2h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 843.2h
AC200MAX: 43.5h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 562.1h
AC200MAX: 29h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–449.7h
Appliance2×EP800 + 8×B500AC200MAX
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 449.7h
AC200MAX: 23.2h
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 421.6h
AC200MAX: 21.8h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 224.9h
AC200MAX: 11.6h
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 168.6h21 full nights
AC200MAX: 8.7h1 full night

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–33.7h
Appliance2×EP800 + 8×B500AC200MAX
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 33.7h
AC200MAX: 1.7h
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 28.1h
AC200MAX: 1.5h
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP800 + 8×B500: 22.5h
AC200MAX: 1.2h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the 2×EP800 + 8×B500, on Power Score margin

These two units are closely matched on individual specs, but our Power Score analysis gives the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 the edge with a composite score of 26,270 vs 3,365.

Overall score margin: 26,270 vs 3,365 (+680.7%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price

$29,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the AC200MAX price$1,199.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP800 + 8×B500AC200MAX
Overall Power Score
26,270
3,365
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
27,253
3,243
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
23,575
3,415

Not rated for both units (minimum threshold unmet): RV Living, Solar Generator, Tailgating, Apartment Balcony.

Full specifications

2×EP800 + 8×B500
$29,998★ our pick
See live price →
AC200MAX
$1,199
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
39680
2048
Output (W)
15200
2200
Surge Peak
Not Specified
4800W
AC Outlets
Hardwired (120/240V)
5
240V Outlets
Hardwired
0
30A RV Outlets
0
1

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP800 + 8×B500 rates 4.5/5 (71st percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and AC200MAX rates 3.4/5 (4th percentile of 26 Large-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The AC200MAX (61.9 lbs) is manageable solo but heavier than a large checked suitcase. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 (1,213.2 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[NOTE]

AC200MAX: 50dB Published

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. It is BLUETTI's own rating rather than a reading on a shared bench — makers differ on whether they quote a best case or a figure under load, so treat it as a starting point rather than what you would hear at a bedside. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

2×EP800 + 8×B500: Fixed Capacity

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is sealed at 39,680Wh — a complete unit, and already larger than the AC200MAX's 2,048Wh. By contrast the AC200MAX can add expansion batteries, but that only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 39,680Wh.

[ADVANTAGE]

Only the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 Lists a UPS Mode

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 can sit between the wall and your gear and hand it to battery when the grid drops — rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. Worth it for a router, a desktop PC, or a CPAP. The AC200MAX's spec sheet lists no UPS mode, so anything plugged into it rides an outage only as far as your reaction time.

[NOTE]

Warranty: 10 Years vs 4

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is covered for 10 years against the AC200MAX's 4 years. The cheaper AC200MAX does buy more warranty per dollar (3.3 years per $1,000 against 0.3), but that is a statement about price, not about coverage — if a fault appears in year 5, only one of these is still covered. An underrated factor if you're keeping this unit for years.

[NOTE]

2×EP800 + 8×B500: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The AC200MAX publishes its noise level (50dB); the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the AC200MAX's 50dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the 2×EP800 + 8×B500.

Check 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price →or check the AC200MAX price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP800 + 8×B500AC200MAX

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

2×EP800 + 8×B500
AC200MAX
Purchase price
$29,998.00
$1,199.00
Lifetime energy delivered
138,880 kWh
7,168 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.22
$0.17
Cost per warranty year
$3,000/yr
$300/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly

Analyst note

The AC200MAX wins on both sticker price and long-term value. At $0.17/kWh over its lifetime, it's meaningfully cheaper to own. Clear value winner. One thing to know reading the table: both carry the same 3,500-cycle rating, so the lifetime rows are sticker price and capacity in disguise — the wear horizon is identical and decides nothing here.

Growth path

2×EP800 + 8×B500

FIXED CAPACITY

Fixed at 39,680Wh — a sealed, complete system rather than a starting point. There's no expansion port, so that figure is the ceiling: check it against your longest unplugged stretch before you buy.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

AC200MAX

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 2,048Wh.

Accepts up to 900W of solar. Suitable for a 1-2 panel setup.

Generous port selection supports complex multi-device setups.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP800 + 8×B500AC200MAX

Analyst note

Don't read the AC200MAX's expandability as a straight win here: it starts at 2,048Wh, below the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's 39,680Wh, so a first expansion battery largely buys back capacity the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 already includes. It only pulls ahead if you'd grow past 39,680Wh — short of that, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's larger fixed capacity is the simpler value.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the AC200MAX wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 nor the AC200MAX feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. For lighter use — weekend camping or phone/laptop charging — you'd be overpaying for capacity you'll rarely tap. Consider a unit in the 500–1,500Wh range instead. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 worth $28,799 more than the AC200MAX?

The short answer: yes, if you'll actually use the extra capability. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 costs $28,799 more, but that premium buys you 37,632Wh more battery capacity (that's 213 extra hours of running a mini-fridge); 13,000W higher AC output (opening the door to more demanding appliances); 17,100W faster solar charging for quicker off-grid recovery. On a cost-per-watt-hour basis, you're paying $0.76/Wh vs $0.59/Wh. For regular use, we'd pay the premium.

How does the 37,632Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The 2×EP800 + 8×B500's 39,680Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 225 hours vs the AC200MAX's 12 hours. Both can handle a full 8-hour blackout setup (fridge + router + lights + phone charging ≈ 1,645Wh), but the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 finishes with significantly more margin. That matters if conditions aren't ideal or the outage runs long. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the 2×EP800 + 8×B500, or is the AC200MAX the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The AC200MAX (61.9 lbs) and the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 (1,213.2 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 1,151.3-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 accepts 18,000W vs the AC200MAX's 900W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 3.1 hours for the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 and 3.3 hours for the AC200MAX. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's advantage is substantial.

Can I use the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 as a home UPS to protect my electronics during blackouts?

Yes. The 2×EP800 + 8×B500 has UPS mode with true 0ms switchover (double-conversion). Even hospital-grade equipment won't notice. Plug in your desktop PC, router, NAS, or CPAP machine and it switches to battery seamlessly when the grid drops. The AC200MAX does not have this feature. Without UPS, a blackout means: your PC reboots (potentially corrupting unsaved work), your NAS may corrupt its drive array, your CPAP alarms and wakes you up, and your security cameras go dark until you manually switch them over. If always-on power protection matters, this is a dealbreaker advantage for the 2×EP800 + 8×B500.

Does the AC200MAX's expandability make it the safer long-term buy?

Not necessarily. The AC200MAX can add BLUETTI batteries, but it starts at 2,048Wh — below the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's sealed 39,680Wh. A first expansion battery mostly buys back capacity the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 already gives you out of the box; expandability only pulls ahead if you expect to grow past 39,680Wh. If you don't, the 2×EP800 + 8×B500's larger fixed capacity is the simpler, complete package — not a dead end, just already the bigger battery.

Bottom line: should I buy the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 or the AC200MAX?

We'd pay the premium for the 2×EP800 + 8×B500. Yes, it costs more. The capability jump is real: you're stepping into a tier that handles appliances the base model can't start. The AC200MAX is still solid if budget is the priority, but the 2×EP800 + 8×B500 will leave you less likely to wish you'd "gone bigger" six months from now. That regret costs more than the price difference.

Check 2×EP800 + 8×B500 price →

Where to buy

2×EP800 + 8×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 8×B500Pick

$29,998.00

Check current price

$29,998.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

AC200MAX

BLUETTI AC200MAX

$1,199.00

Check current price

$1,199.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.