Power outage plan for home medical equipmentHow long will your medical equipment run when the power goes out?
Tap what you use. You get the hours each device runs, the battery it needs, and the time to switch to plan B, on a plan you can print.
Figures from 77 makers’ manuals and spec sheets, and FDA, CDC and EIA guidance. Reviewed by Ian Schneider.
What do you need to keep running?
Tap everything you use. The bar shows what each one usually draws.
How long should the plan cover?
Do you have a backup battery?
The size is on the box or the label, in watt-hours (Wh).
10 h 25 min after the power goes out
A home oxygen concentrator at 2 L/min, a 1,000 Wh battery and two E cylinders, with the power going out at 6 PM.
What each device draws, and what to do when the power goes out
The figures behind the planner, device by device, from manufacturers’ manuals and federal guidance, with every source numbered.
How long do power outages last?
Short answerUsually a few hours, but the outages that matter for medical equipment last days. The average American lost power for 11 hours in 2024, most of it in major events such as hurricanes, and customers in South Carolina averaged nearly 53. Plan for at least 3 days.
- Routine outages add up to about 2 hours a year. Major events, mostly storms, added nearly 9 more in 2024; Hurricane Helene alone cut power to 5.9 million customers.1
- After Hurricane Ian, 2.6 million Florida customers lost power, some for over two weeks.2
- California’s wildfire shutoffs averaged 41 hours from 2013–2020, and the longest ran 6 days 18 h.3
- The FDA’s outage planning booklet asks whether you have medical supplies for a minimum of 3 days, which is why the planner starts there.4
How many watts does an oxygen concentrator use?
Short answerHome concentrators that deliver up to 5 L/min draw 275 to 350 W in their makers’ manuals; 10 L/min units draw 585 to 639 W. A 350 W concentrator runs about 2 h 15 min on a 1,000 Wh battery, so a battery is a bridge to your cylinders, not a replacement for them.
Turning the flow down saves less power than people expect, because the compressor runs the whole time the concentrator is on. These are the figures each maker prints, with the condition it prints them under.
| Concentrator | Flow up to | Draws | As the maker states it | The planner draws |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inogen At Home5 | 5 L/min | 275 W | maximum | 275 W |
| Invacare Perfecto26 | 5 L/min | 280 W | at 3 L/min | 280 W at 1–3 L/min, 350 W at 4–5 L/min |
| CAIRE Companion 57 | 5 L/min | 285 W | at 2 L/min (350 W maximum) | 285 W at 1–2 L/min, 350 W at 3–5 L/min |
| CAIRE VisionAire 58 | 5 L/min | 290 W | no flow or basis given | 350 W |
| Drive DeVilbiss 5 Liter (525)9 | 5 L/min | 310 W | average, no flow given; 275 W at 1.2 L/min and below | 275 W at 1 L/min, 350 W at 2–5 L/min |
| Philips EverFlo10 | 5 L/min | 350 W | average, no flow given | 350 W |
| React Health (Invacare) Platinum 10L11 | 10 L/min | 585 W | typical, no flow given | 585 W at 1–5 L/min, 640 W at 6–10 L/min |
| Philips Millennium M1012 | 10 L/min | 600 W | average, no flow given | 600 W at 1–5 L/min, 640 W at 6–10 L/min |
| Drive DeVilbiss 10 Liter (1025)13 | 10 L/min | 639 W | average, no flow given | 639 W at 1–5 L/min, 640 W at 6–10 L/min |
How long will a battery run an oxygen concentrator?
Hours on a full battery, running nothing else. Nine tenths of a battery’s rated capacity reaches the outlet, and the inverter that makes household AC uses some of that.
| Battery | 275 Wlowest 5 L/min unit | 350 Wtypical 5 L/min unit | 640 W10 L/min unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 Wh | 1 h 25 min | 1 h 5 min | 35 min |
| 1,000 Wh | 2 h 50 min | 2 h 15 min | 1 h 15 min |
| 2,000 Wh | 5 h 40 min | 4 h 30 min | 2 h 25 min |
| 3,000 Wh | 8 h 30 min | 6 h 40 min | 3 h 40 min |
| 5,000 Wh | 14 h 10 min | 11 h 10 min | 6 h 10 min |
How long does an oxygen cylinder last?
At continuous flow, a full E cylinder lasts about 5 h 5 min at 2 L/min14. The same cylinder lasts half as long at twice the flow. A conserving regulator stretches it further; how far depends on the device, so ask your supplier.
| Cylinder | 1 L/min | 2 L/min | 3 L/min | 4 L/min |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| M6 (B)14 | 2 h 35 min | 1 h 20 min | 50 min | 40 min |
| D15 | 7 h | 3 h 30 min | 2 h 20 min | 1 h 45 min |
| E14 | 10 h 10 min | 5 h 5 min | 3 h 25 min | 2 h 35 min |
What to do when the power goes out
- When the power drops, the concentrator sounds a continuous alarm. That is the signal to switch to your backup cylinder and call your supplier if it keeps going.16,9
- Keep a supply that needs no electricity, such as cylinders from your supplier, and ask for one if you don’t have it.17,18
- Don’t turn your flow down to make a battery or cylinder last longer unless your healthcare provider says you can.18
- Plug the concentrator straight into the battery. Most manuals rule out extension cords and power strips; Inogen allows one only when unavoidable, UL-marked, at least 18 gauge and with nothing else on it.16,19,5 Generator advice that says to run appliances on heavy-duty extension cords was not written for concentrators, so follow your manual.20
- Light the house with battery lights, never candles or gas lamps, and keep heat and flame at least five feet from the oxygen; the American Thoracic Society says six.21,22,23
- Tell your electric company and your fire department that someone at home uses oxygen.21,18
How long do portable oxygen concentrator batteries last?
Short answerBetween 3 h and 5 h per battery on pulse setting 2 in the makers’ manuals, as little as 1 h on the highest pulse setting, and 55 min on continuous flow at 2 L/min. Plugged into a power station, a pulse-only unit draws about 120 W while it runs and charges, so a 1,000 Wh battery keeps it going about 6 h 20 min. One that also does continuous flow draws more: plan on up to 145 W on a pulse setting and 260 W on continuous flow, which the same battery runs for about 3 h.
| Concentrator | One battery, as the maker states it | Setting not given | On AC |
|---|---|---|---|
| Philips SimplyGo Mini24 | pulse 2 at 20 breaths a minute, standard battery (extended: up to 9 h) | 1 h | 120 W, while charging |
| CAIRE FreeStyle Comfort25 | single battery: 8 h at pulse 1, 4 h at 2, 2 h at 5, its highest | 2 h | 120 W, maximum |
| Inogen Rove 626 | standard battery: 6 h 15 min at pulse 1, 5 h at 2, 1 h 15 min at 6, its highest | 1 h 15 min | not stated |
| Inogen One G527 | single battery: 1 to 5 h 30 min by setting in the technical manual (the spec sheet says up to 6 h 30 min at pulse 1) | 1 h | not stated |
| CAIRE Eclipse 528,29 | one cartridge: 3.7 h at 1 L/min continuous, 2 h at 2, 1.3 h at 3, its highest | 1 h | 195 W, 145 W at 3 L/min continuous (95 W at pulse 6), plus 50 W while charging |
- Until you choose your model, the planner counts, setting by setting, the shortest battery time and the highest draw that could apply to any unit, from Philips’ original SimplyGo, the Inogen One G5 and the CAIRE Eclipse 5; until you choose your setting, it plans on the worst of them, 55 min a battery and 260 W.30,27,28
- Keep spare batteries charged and a car charger ready; most portable concentrators charge from a vehicle’s 12 V socket.18
- Ask your supplier for a backup that needs no electricity, such as cylinders, for an outage longer than your batteries.18
What happens to a CPAP when the power goes out?
Short answerIt stops. On a battery, a typical CPAP runs about 1.4 nights per 1,000 Wh with the humidifier and heated tube on, and about 5.7 nights with them off, so turning the heat off is the single biggest thing you can do.
| Battery | Humidifier on | Humidifier off | Off, on a 12 V cord |
|---|---|---|---|
| 300 Wh | 0.4 nights | 1.7 nights | 2.6 nights |
| 500 Wh | 0.7 nights | 2.8 nights | 4.4 nights |
| 1,000 Wh | 1.4 nights | 5.7 nights | 8.9 nights |
| 2,000 Wh | 2.9 nights | 11 nights | 17 nights |
Bilevel machines draw a little more. ResMed lists typical consumption of 53 W for the AirCurve 10 and 65.3 W for the AirCurve 1131,32, and tells users on an external battery to turn the humidifier off;31 its own measurements put the AirCurve 10 at about 10 W with the humidifier off.33 Until you choose your machine, the planner plans on 65.3 W with the humidifier on and 12 W with it off: at or above a typical CPAP or BiPAP, though a few machines on the list draw more, so choose yours. To choose a battery for a specific CPAP, night by night, see our guide to the best power stations for CPAP.
How long does a home ventilator run on its battery?
Short answerFrom 30 min to 7 h 30 min on its built-in battery, depending on the model and its settings; a detachable or click-in battery, if you have one, adds 1 h 30 min to 7 h 30 min. The makers say the built-in battery is for power failures, and ResMed says ventilator-dependent patients should always have an external power source.34,35
| Ventilator | Built-in battery | Extra battery, if you have it | As the maker states it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Philips Trilogy Evo36 | 7 h 30 min | 7 h 30 min | internal battery, nominal run time at the IEC 80601-2-72 test settings; detachable battery: 7.5 h more at the same settings |
| Philips Trilogy 100 / 20037,38,39 | 3 h | 3 h | internal battery, normal use; detachable battery: at least 3 h more in normal use; Philips lists it as optional |
| ResMed Astral 100 / 15034 | 4 h | — | internal battery at the maker’s worst-case settings, where it promises more than 4 h (8 h at standard settings); each external battery adds 8 h in typical use |
| Breas Vivo 45 LS40 | 2 h | 5 h 30 min | internal battery at the maker’s test settings; click-in battery: 5.5 h more at the same settings |
| Ventec VOCSN35 | 30 min | 1 h 30 min | internal battery with its oxygen at 6 L/min (45 min at 2 L/min, 2 h with it off); removable battery set: 1.5 h with its oxygen at 6 L/min (2 h at 2 L/min, 6 h with it off) |
- Keep the ventilator plugged into your backup battery so its own batteries stay full for last. Plugged in, it also recharges those batteries, so it draws more from the backup at first.36
- Ventec states an average draw for the VOCSN: up to 288 VA with its oxygen running, 180 VA with it off.35 The other makers give only power-supply ratings, which cover recharging the batteries too, so for their models the planner uses 50 W, enough for therapy plus recharging, which runs about 14 h 20 min on a 1,000 Wh battery.
- If you don’t name your model, the planner plans on the VOCSN with its oxygen running: 288 W, which runs about 2 h 40 min on a 1,000 Wh battery, and 30 min of built-in battery, the shortest any maker lists. Choosing your model gives a closer figure.35
Suction machines, nebulizers, high-flow and cough assist in an outage
Short answerNebulizers and cough-assist machines run in short sessions, so a backup battery carries them a long way. Suction is different: it can be needed at any hour, day or night, and its own battery, where it has one, lasts well under an hour of continuous use; some home units have none. High-flow therapy draws 165 W around the clock.
| Device | Draws | Its own battery |
|---|---|---|
| Drive DeVilbiss Vacu-Aide QSU (7314P, with battery)41 | 33 W | 1 h, continuous at zero vacuum (free flow), the maker’s best case; shorter at higher vacuum |
| Medela Vario 18 AC/DC42,43 | 80 W | 30 min, running continuously, the maker’s maximum |
| Medela Clario AC/DC44 | — | 50 min, as used, the maker’s maximum |
| Laerdal LCSU 445 | — | 45 min, continuous on free flow, the maker’s best case |
| PARI Vios (compressor)46 | 80 W | none stated |
| PARI PRONEB Max (compressor)47 | 98 W | none stated |
| PARI Trek S (portable compressor)48 | 18 W | none built in; optional battery: 40 min, about 8 treatments |
| PARI eRapid (mesh)49 | 2 W | 2 h, four AA batteries |
| Omron MicroAir NE-U100 (mesh)50 | 1.2 W | 4 h, two AA alkaline batteries |
| Fisher & Paykel myAirvo 251,52 | 165 W | no battery |
| Fisher & Paykel myAirvo 353,54 | — | none built in; optional battery module: 50 min, with reduced humidity, then about 40 min more of flow only |
| Philips CoughAssist E7055 | 100 W | detachable battery: one day of therapy, defined as 4 treatments |
- The planner counts no suction battery until you name your model or type its hours, because some home units run on mains power only.43,41 No maker says how often suction is needed, so the schedule is the planner’s own assumption: a 10-minute session every 2 h 24 min, day and night. A need can come at any minute, so it counts the machine’s own battery minute for minute, as if sessions came back to back, and keeps the backup battery’s inverter on around the clock; choose daytime only to plan on 6 sessions between 8 AM and 8 PM instead.
- A high-flow unit can pull up to 50 A for an instant as it starts, more than many inverters allow; ask your supplier before relying on a battery.52
- Hill-Rom says The Vest has not been validated to run on an inverter.56
- Mesh nebulizers run for hours on AA batteries; a tabletop compressor needs a battery or an outlet.49,50
How long can insulin be out of the fridge in a power outage?
Short answerThe FDA says insulin can stay unrefrigerated between 59°F and 86°F for up to 28 days and keep working, and some labels allow longer. So for insulin, an outage is about keeping it out of the heat and never letting it freeze, not about running a fridge.57
| Insulin | At room temperature | As the label states it |
|---|---|---|
| Humalog (insulin lispro)58 | 28 days | total time at room temperature |
| NovoLog (insulin aspart)59 | 28 days | vials at room temperature |
| Lantus (insulin glargine U-100)60 | 28 days | opened vials, refrigerated or at room temperature |
| Basaglar (insulin glargine)61 | 28 days | pens in use |
| Tresiba (insulin degludec)62 | 8 weeks | vials and pens at room temperature |
| Toujeo (insulin glargine U-300)63 | 8 weeks | pens after first use |
| Awiqli (insulin icodec)57 | 12 weeks | pens below 86°F, opened and unopened together |
- If you cool insulin with ice, don’t let it freeze, and don’t use insulin that has frozen. Keep it out of direct heat and sunlight.57
- In an emergency you may still need insulin that has been above 86°F; the FDA says it works less well the hotter and longer it was kept, so replace it when you can.57,64
- Insulin sitting in a pump’s reservoir and tubing is a different case: the FDA says to throw it away after 48 hours unless your pump or insulin label allows longer.57
- Other refrigerated medicines are less forgiving. The CDC says to throw them away after a day or more without power unless the label says otherwise, and to keep using a medicine a life depends on until you can replace it.65,66
- Pack diabetes supplies for at least one to two weeks, with spare batteries for your meter and pump.67
How long do insulin pumps and glucose monitors last on a charge?
| Device | Lasts | As the maker states it |
|---|---|---|
| Omnipod 5 controller68 | 36 h | full charge, typical use |
| t:slim X2 pump69 | 4–7 days | full charge; the low end with CGM and the app |
| MiniMed 780G pump70 | — | one AA battery; keep spares |
| Dexcom G7 receiver71 | 7 days | typical |
| FreeStyle Libre 3 reader72 | 4 days | up to, fully charged |
If you keep medicine in a small dedicated fridge, it uses about 35 W averaged over the day in ENERGY STAR’s test data, so even a small battery keeps it cold for a day or more.73,74
Power wheelchairs, feeding pumps, air mattresses and home dialysis
Short answerMost of these can ride out a short outage on their own: a charged chair covers a day of use, feeding pumps run most of a day on their batteries, and some air mattresses hold their shape for hours. The planning problem is recharging them when the outage lasts days.
Power wheelchairs and scooters
A wheelchair charger draws the most at the start of a charge and almost nothing once the batteries are full.75 Invacare’s 8 A charger puts out up to 240 W at better than 90% efficiency, so plan on about 250 W while it charges.76 Pride recommends charging 8 to 14 hours after a day’s use.75 Unless you choose “Half”, the planner counts a full recharge each night: the largest pack read, two 12 V batteries of 85 Ah (2,040 Wh), refilled from empty through a charger at 90% efficiency, about 2,300 Wh at the outlet, or 9 h 5 min at 250 W.77 A charger whose label gives fewer watts charges for longer, up to the whole day.
Feeding pumps
| Pump | On its battery | As the maker states it |
|---|---|---|
| Kangaroo Joey78 | 18 h | at least, at 125 mL/hr, new battery |
| Kangaroo ePump79 | 15 h | at least, at 100 mL/hr, new battery |
| Kangaroo OMNI80 | 20 h | at 125 mL/hr (23 h at 50, 18 h at 400) |
| Moog Infinity81 | 1 day | at 125 mL/hr (9 h at 600 mL/hr) |
Pressure-relief air mattresses and beds
- Stryker IsoAir: cells stay inflated at least 2 h with no power (no therapy).82
- Arjo Alpha Relief: up to 8 h static support in transport mode, tubes cross-connected.83
- Drive’s full- and semi-electric home beds come with a crank for raising and lowering them when the power is out.84
Home dialysis
- The Baxter Homechoice Claria draws 100 W (average during therapy, 600 W maximum) and can restart where it left off if power returns within 2 h.85
- The Fresenius Liberty Select draws 480 W (as listed at 100 V) and can continue the same treatment if power returns within 8 h.86
- Keep supplies for a manual exchange; Baxter describes it as the way to continue treatment when the cycler can’t run, for example during a power failure.85
Infusion pumps, lifts and stairlifts
- Many home infusion pumps run on ordinary batteries: a CADD-Solis runs about 70 hours on four AA cells at 30 mL/hr, and a CURLIN 6000 runs 10 to 85 hours on two C cells depending on the rate. Keep spares.87,88
- A battery patient lift like the Hoyer Presence charges in about four hours on a charger rated at most 19 W.89
- Bruno says its Elan stairlift runs on its battery and keeps going for some time in an outage, depending on the battery, the length of the stairs and the rider.90
How to prepare medical equipment for a power outage
Short answerKnow how long each device lasts on its own backup, tell your utility and fire department, keep a backup that needs no power where one exists, and decide in advance when you will leave.
- Tell your electric company and your local fire department that someone at home uses equipment that needs power.21
- Register with your utility’s medical program; see what it does and doesn’t do below.91
- Ask the manufacturer or your supplier whether your device can run on a battery or a generator, whether it has a backup system, and how long that lasts.21,4
- Talk to your doctor or nurse about a plan for powered devices and refrigerated medicine.20
- Keep spare batteries charged; stored batteries lose charge even when unused. Review the plan every six months.92
- When the power comes back, check that your device’s settings have not changed.21
- If you depend on a device to stay alive and it stops, get emergency help right away.21
Does registering with your utility get your power back first?
Short answerNo. Registering gets you warnings before planned shutoffs and, in some places, a lower bill, but utilities say in writing that it does not put you first in line or keep the power on.
Participation does not provide priority restoration after a stormFlorida Power & Light93
not a guarantee of service and does not give priority in restoration effortsPuget Sound Energy94
does not guarantee an uninterrupted, regular or continuous power supplyCenterPoint Energy95
Register anyway. The warning before a planned shutoff is the time you need to charge every battery, fill cylinders and decide where you will go. Ask your utility for its medical program by name: Medical Baseline in California, Medical Certificate in Oregon and Utah, critical care in Texas, life support at many others.
Can you get a backup battery for medical equipment for free?
Short answerSometimes. Several utilities give free batteries or large rebates to customers who use medical equipment, mostly in wildfire shutoff areas. Medicare does not pay for them.
Medicare’s equipment contractor puts it plainly: batteries used as alternative power sources … are not covered by Medicare
.96 So the help comes from utilities and a few state Medicaid programs. These are the ones we found, read on each program’s own page on October 11, 2026. They fill up and change every year, so call before you buy anything.
| Where | What you can get | Who qualifies | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| CaliforniaSouthern California Edison | A free portable battery and solar kit, delivered and set up. SCE contacts customers who qualify; ask SCE if you think you do. | Medical Baseline customers who use powered medical equipment and live in a high fire-risk area. | They contact you |
| PG&E, with the California Foundation for Independent Living Centers | Help with a portable backup battery, an emergency plan, accessible rides and hotel stays during shutoffs. Apply at disabilitydisasteraccess.org or through your local independent living center. | People in PG&E’s High Fire-Threat Districts who rely on electricity to live independently; no income test and no doctor’s note. | Open |
| PG&E | A free portable battery matched to your equipment. Full for 2026; PG&E contacts customers who qualify. | Medical Baseline or Self-Identified Vulnerable customers who rely on medical equipment and have had shutoffs since 2024. | Full for 2026 |
| PG&E | A permanent home battery, installed free. Apply on PG&E’s Residential Storage Initiative page; first come, first served. | Customers on circuits with fast-trip (EPSS) shutoffs who are on CARE, FERA, Medical Baseline or Self-Identified Vulnerable. | Almost gone for 2026 |
| PG&E | Up to $300 back on a battery or generator, $500 for CARE and FERA customers. Apply online with your receipt by Dec 31, 2026. | Customers in high fire-risk areas or on fast-trip circuits; batteries must be 290 to 1,000 Wh. | Open |
| San Diego Gas & Electric | $525 off a portable power station, or $300 off a generator. Apply online at sdge.com/GAP_MBL with your receipt. | Medical Baseline or Access and Functional Needs customers in fire-threat Tiers 2 and 3 who have had a shutoff. | Open |
| Pacific Power | A free portable battery after a needs assessment. Call 1-888-221-7070 to check eligibility. | California customers on both Medical Baseline and CARE. | Open |
| OregonPortland General Electric | A free 1,638 Wh portable power station. PGE contacts customers who qualify; questions to medicalbattery@pgn.com. | Medical Certificate customers on the Income-Qualified Bill Discount in a high fire-risk area. | They contact you |
| Pacific Power | Up to $1,000 toward a power station, battery or backup generator. Apply online for purchases made in 2026. | Oregon customers on both the Medical Certificate and Low-Income Discount programs. | Open |
| WashingtonPuget Sound Energy | A free portable battery for critical devices. Call 206-209-2782 or email portablebatteries@pse.com. | Life Support customers in high wildfire-threat areas, or who meet income limits. | They contact you |
| ColoradoXcel Energy | Up to $10,000 toward a home battery system. Through an installer’s quote; Xcel also contacts eligible customers. | Customers with a Medical Certification or Colorado Medical Exemption in wildfire Tiers 2 and 3. | Open |
| HawaiiHawaiian Electric | Up to $1,000 toward a portable battery, if regulators approve it. Not open yet; register medical needs at hawaiianelectric.com/PSPS. | Customers in shutoff areas on the Special Medical Needs registry or with low to moderate income. | Proposed |
| MontanaMontana Medicaid (Big Sky Waiver) | A generator sized to life-sustaining equipment. Through your waiver case manager. | Waiver members on a ventilator, a concentrator for daily oxygen, or a 24-hour electric pump. | Open |
Can you run medical equipment on a generator?
Short answerOften, if your device’s maker says so and the generator runs outdoors, well away from the house. Generators were linked to 93 carbon monoxide deaths in 2022 alone.
- Run it outdoors only, at least 20 feet from windows, doors and vents, never in a basement or garage, even with the doors open.97,21
- Ask your device’s maker whether it can run on a generator before you need it.21
- Keep fuel and the generator away from oxygen; heat and flame belong at least five feet from it.22
- A battery power station makes no exhaust, so it can sit beside the bed while a generator outdoors recharges it.
Since 2012, generators have been linked to 892 carbon monoxide deaths, more than any other consumer product.98
Questions people ask
How many watts does an oxygen concentrator use?
How long will a 1,000 Wh battery run an oxygen concentrator?
Can a portable power station run an oxygen concentrator?
What happens to a CPAP when the power goes out?
How long can insulin be out of the fridge during a power outage?
Does registering with my utility mean my power comes back first?
Does Medicare pay for a backup battery for medical equipment?
How long do power outages usually last?
Is it safe to run medical equipment on a generator?
Where every figure comes from
Device figures are read from manufacturers’ manuals and specification sheets; guidance comes from federal agencies, medical societies and the utilities themselves. Where a manual states a maximum rather than an average, the tables say so. The planner turns those figures into hours with the same battery losses our power station pages use: nine tenths of a battery’s rated capacity reaches the outlets, and AC devices lose a further share in the inverter.
- U.S. Energy Information Administration. U.S. electricity customers averaged 11 hours of outages in 2024
- U.S. Energy Information Administration. Electricity interruptions in 2022, including Hurricane Ian
- PSE Healthy Energy. Preventing wildfires with power outages (analysis of CPUC shutoff data)
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Home use devices: how to prepare for and handle power outages for medical devices that require electricity
- Inogen. Inogen At Home user manual: specifications and cautions
- Invacare. Perfecto2 oxygen concentrator user manual (1143482)
- CAIRE. Companion 5 specification sheet (ML-CONC0173)
- CAIRE. VisionAire 5 user manual (MN238)
- Drive DeVilbiss. 5 Liter oxygen concentrator instruction guide (A-525D3)
- Philips Respironics. EverFlo product specifications (brochure PN 1038667)
- React Health (formerly Invacare). Platinum 10L oxygen concentrator user manual (LBL-00373-000 Rev B)
- Philips Respironics. Millennium M10 patient manual: specifications
- Drive DeVilbiss. 10 Liter oxygen concentrator instruction guide (A-1025DS)
- Inogen. Inogen TAV instructions for use: oxygen cylinder duration tables
- Inogen. Portable oxygen concentrators vs. oxygen tanks
- Philips Respironics. EverFlo / EverFlo Q user manual: warnings and alarms
- American Thoracic Society. How to prepare for an emergency or disaster when you have lung disease
- American Lung Association. Power outages and lung health
- CAIRE. Companion 5 user manual: cautions and warnings
- FEMA, Ready.gov. Power outages
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA offers tips about medical devices and hurricane disasters
- U.S. Fire Administration. Oxygen tank safety
- American Thoracic Society. Oxygen therapy (patient education series)
- Philips Respironics. SimplyGo Mini user manual: specifications
- CAIRE. FreeStyle Comfort user manual (MN232)
- Inogen. Inogen Rove 6 user manual: battery duration
- Inogen. Inogen One G5 user manual: specifications
- CAIRE. Eclipse 5 technical service manual: nominal power
- CAIRE. Eclipse 5 user manual: power cartridge operating times
- Philips Respironics. SimplyGo user manual (1079142): battery duration times
- ResMed. AirCurve 10 VAuto/S user guide: power consumption and batteries
- ResMed. AirCurve 11 user guide: technical specifications
- ResMed. Power consumption of Air10 devices (1018673/1)
- ResMed. Astral 100/150 user guide: power and batteries
- Ventec Life Systems. VOCSN clinical and technical manual: power
- Philips Respironics. Trilogy Evo clinical manual: batteries and power sources
- Philips Respironics. Trilogy100 supplemental accessory guide: detachable battery
- Philips Respironics. Trilogy 100 specification sheet (Spanish): internal battery
- Philips Respironics. Trilogy 202 user manual (Spanish): optional detachable battery
- Breas. Vivo 45 LS user manual: battery operating time
- Drive DeVilbiss. Vacu-Aide QSU 7314 instruction guide (German section)
- Medela. Vario 18 technical factsheet
- Medela. Vario 18 instructions for use
- Medela. Clario instructions for use: power supply
- Laerdal. LCSU 4 suction unit
- PARI. Vios instructions for use: specifications
- PARI. PRONEB Max instructions for use: specifications
- PARI. Trek S instructions for use: specifications
- PARI. eRapid nebulizer system instructions for use
- Omron Healthcare. MicroAir NE-U100 instruction manual
- Fisher & Paykel Healthcare. AIRVO 2 UPS power requirements (Spanish)
- Fisher & Paykel Healthcare. myAirvo 2 user manual: electrical specifications
- Fisher & Paykel Healthcare. Airvo 3 specification sheet: battery
- Fisher & Paykel Healthcare. myAirvo 3 product brochure: optional battery
- Philips Respironics. CoughAssist E70 brochure
- Hill-Rom. The Vest System Model 105: frequently asked questions
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Information regarding insulin storage and switching between products in an emergency
- Eli Lilly. Humalog prescribing information: storage
- Novo Nordisk. NovoLog prescribing information: storage
- Sanofi. Lantus prescribing information: storage
- Eli Lilly. Basaglar prescribing information: storage
- Novo Nordisk. Tresiba prescribing information: storage
- Sanofi. Toujeo prescribing information: storage
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Managing insulin in an emergency
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Refrigerated drugs (natural disasters)
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Safe drug use after a natural disaster
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Diabetes care during emergencies
- Insulet. Omnipod 5 user guide: controller battery
- Tandem Diabetes Care. t:slim X2 with Control-IQ+ user guide: battery
- Medtronic. MiniMed 780G system user guide: battery
- Dexcom. Dexcom G7 CGM system user guide: technical information
- Abbott. FreeStyle Libre 3 user’s manual: charging the reader
- ENERGY STAR. Certified laboratory-grade refrigerators and freezers (data set g242-ysjw)
- ENERGY STAR. Certified residential refrigerators (data set p5st-her9)
- Pride Mobility. Jazzy Select series owner’s manual: batteries and charging
- Invacare. OptiCharge 24 V 8 A / 10 A charger user manual: technical data
- Permobil. Battery and charger data sheet (Belgium, French): GEL/AGM batteries
- Cardinal Health (Covidien). Kangaroo Joey enteral feed and flush pump operating manual
- Cardinal Health (Covidien). Kangaroo ePump operating manual
- Cardinal Health. Kangaroo OMNI enteral feeding pump user manual
- Moog. Infinity enteral feeding pump operator’s manual
- Stryker. IsoAir operation and maintenance manual: power failure
- Arjo (Huntleigh). Alpha Relief user manual: patient transport
- Drive Medical. Full- and semi-electric homecare bed owner’s manual
- Baxter. Homechoice Claria APD system patient at-home guide
- Fresenius Medical Care. Liberty Select cycler user’s guide: power failure
- Smiths Medical. CADD-Solis ambulatory infusion pump technical manual: battery life
- Moog. CURLIN 6000 CMS user manual: specifications
- Joerns. Hoyer Presence patient lift manual: electrical specifications
- Bruno. Elan SRE-3000 stairlift operator’s manual
- American Red Cross. Disaster safety for people with disabilities
- ADA National Network. Emergency power planning for people who use electricity and battery dependent assistive technology and medical devices
- Florida Power & Light. Florida Power & Light: medical customer program
- Puget Sound Energy. Puget Sound Energy: medical customer program
- CenterPoint Energy. CenterPoint Energy: medical customer program
- Noridian, a Medicare equipment contractor. AC/DC power adapters and backup batteries
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. What to do to protect yourself during a power outage
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. Non-fire carbon monoxide deaths associated with the use of consumer products, 2022 annual estimates