PSA
StationArena

Head-to-head test

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 4×B500 vs BLUETTI Pioneer 150 AC240

Real-world runtimes, scenario verdicts, and ownership costs compared — which wins for your use case.

Full profiles: BLUETTI Pioneer 150 AC240

Written by Gunner GustafsonUpdated

Whole-Home Backup Tester, Station Arena Test Desk

Stack these against 100+ rivals
MethodologyReader-supported — we may earn from links (details)
BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 4×B500 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

2×EP800 + 4×B500

19,840Wh15,200W721.2 lb

17,328Power Score · Whole-Home Capable

Check price →

$17,999.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

BLUETTI Pioneer 150 AC240 Portable Power Station

BLUETTI

Pioneer 150 AC240

1,536Wh2,400W72 lb

3,254Power Score · Appliance Class

Check price →

$999.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Spec deltas

Capacity
19,840Wh
1,536Wh
Output
15,200W
2,400W
Weight
721.2 lb
72 lb
Typical price
$17,999
$999
Cost / Wh
$0.91
$0.65
Cycle life
3,500
matched
3,500
Solar input
18,000W
1,200W
01

Both carry the BLUETTI name, but they're built for different buyers. The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 (19,840Wh, 15,200W) and the Pioneer 150 AC240 (1,536Wh, 2,400W) come from different product lines with different engineering priorities and a $17,000 price gap. These two aren't alternatives to each other. The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 holds 13× the energy and costs 18× as much, so this comes down to the load you need to cover rather than which unit is better. If the Pioneer 150 AC240 carries your load, the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 is capacity you pay for and never use; if it doesn't, no amount of saving makes the Pioneer 150 AC240 the answer.

What the spec gap means in practice: the 2×EP800 + 4×B500's 15,200W inverter has the headroom for a window AC, a full-size fridge, and power tools. The Pioneer 150 AC240's 2,400W inverter still runs most single appliances; the 2×EP800 + 4×B500's real edge is surge headroom for the biggest motor starts and stacking several heavy loads at once. On stamina, the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 keeps a fridge alive for roughly 112 hours vs the Pioneer 150 AC240's 9 hours. The cost? Portability. At 721.2 lbs, the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 is spread across boxes you site once and leave. The Pioneer 150 AC240 at 72 lbs is more manageable, though still not light.

Pick the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 if your primary use is 8-hour blackout or remote workday. Go with the Pioneer 150 AC240 if you primarily need it for tailgate party. Most buyers stop at the sticker price and miss this: over a full lifespan the Pioneer 150 AC240 works out to about $0.19/kWh against the 2×EP800 + 4×B500's $0.26, a gap that compounds in the Pioneer 150 AC240's favor the more you cycle it. Keep scrolling for the full breakdown. The scenario verdicts below hold a few surprises.

02

Bench Notes

What each unit does well, where it falls short, and the trade-offs that matter.

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 4×B500

With a massive 15,200W output (and 0W surge), the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 721.2 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Larger battery capacity
  • +Higher AC output
  • +Longer warranty
  • +Faster solar charging

Trade-offs

  • Substantially more expensive (+$17,000) than the Pioneer 150 AC240.
  • Significantly heavier (+649.2 lbs), making it harder to move.
  • Very heavy unit that may be difficult for one person to lift.

BLUETTI Pioneer 150 AC240

With a massive 2,400W output (and 3,600W surge), the Pioneer 150 AC240 can run high-wattage appliances like space heaters, hair dryers, and electric grills without tripping. Weighing in at 72 lbs, this is not a unit you want to carry far. It's best suited as a stationary backup or RV companion.

Strengths

  • +Costs $17,000 less
  • +Lighter by 649.2 lb

Trade-offs

  • Weaker inverter (-12,800W) limits appliance compatibility.
03

Will It Power Your Gear?

Scenario math and per-appliance runtimes, modeled from the spec record.

Scenario verdicts

We ran the math on six real-world scenarios. Here's which unit survives your actual life.

SCN-01 · 2 nights · needs 2,100Wh

Weekend Camping

Two nights off-grid with essential comfort

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered weekend: the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 has the energy but is wired to the building, and the Pioneer 150 AC240 covers about 62% of the 2,100Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

Camping power station guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Phone Charger 15W×6h · LED Lights 40W×8h · Box Fan 75W×14h · CPAP Machine 40W×16h

SCN-02 · 8 hours · needs 1,645Wh

8-Hour Blackout

Keep the essentials running through a night without power

2×EP800 + 4×B500

The Pioneer 150 AC240 doesn't finish — 1,306Wh usable against the 1,645Wh this needs leaves it 339Wh short, about 79% of the scenario covered. The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 covers it with 15,219Wh to spare.

Emergency blackout power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Fridge 150W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · LED Lights (4 bulbs) 40W×6h · Phone Charger 15W×3h

SCN-03 · 8 hours · needs 320Wh

CPAP Overnight

Sleep therapy without interruption — the #1 medical use case

Either unit

A CPAP is about 40W for eight hours, so both cover the night with room to spare and capacity decides nothing. Fan noise would — but 2×EP800 + 4×B500 doesn't publish a figure, so there's nothing to hold it to. Buy on price, weight, and whether you can live with a fan you haven't heard.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  CPAP Machine 40W×8h

SCN-04 · 8 hours · needs 910Wh

Remote Workday

Full work day off-grid without power anxiety

2×EP800 + 4×B500

The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 clears the workday at 5% used, banking 15,954Wh — late work, extra calls, or a second laptop charge without arithmetic. The Pioneer 150 AC240 at 70% also finishes, with 396Wh of slack for the unplanned.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Laptop 60W×8h · External Monitor 30W×8h · Router + Modem 20W×8h · Phone Charger 15W×2h

SCN-05 · 4 hours · needs 670Wh

Tailgate Party

Game day power for the crew

Pioneer 150 AC240

The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 is installed at the electrical panel — it backs up the building and doesn't leave it, so this scenario belongs to the Pioneer 150 AC240 by default — and it earns it, covering the 670Wh with 636Wh to spare. Capacity was never the 2×EP800 + 4×B500's problem here; getting to a tailgate was.

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Blender 400W×0.5h · LED TV (55") 80W×4h · Bluetooth Speaker 15W×4h · Phone Charger (×3) 45W×2h

SCN-06 · 24 hours · needs 4,685Wh

Van Life Daily

A full day of mobile living — the ultimate endurance test

Neither unit

Neither gives you a powered van: the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 has the energy but is wired to the building, and the Pioneer 150 AC240 covers about 28% of the 4,685Wh. One can't go; the other can't finish.

RV & van-life power guide

Battery budget usedlower = more headroom

LOAD  Mini-Fridge 150W×24h · Laptop 60W×4h · Phone Charger 15W×3h · LED Lights 40W×5h · Fan 75W×8h

The Load Test

RUNTIME = (Wh × 0.85) ÷ LOAD

None of the scenarios above exactly yours? Build it. Toggle what you'd plug in; both units are tested against the combined draw.

Essentials

Comfort & Convenience

High-Draw Appliances

Test duration

8h

Continuous draw

205W

Projected runtime

2×EP800 + 4×B50082.3h
10% of usable battery in 8h
Pioneer 150 AC2406.4h
dead in 6.4h — before your 8h window ends

For this load: 2×EP800 + 4×B500 runs 82.3h vs 6.4h.

Check 2×EP800 + 4×B500 price →

$17,999 list · direct from BLUETTI

Modeled from the spec record — same math as the tables below. Methodology

Runtime by appliance

Real-world runtime estimates for common appliances, modeled at 85% inverter efficiency.¹

Essentials

The basics you need runningscale 0–1124.3h
Appliance2×EP800 + 4×B500Pioneer 150 AC240
CPAP Machine40W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 421.6h52 full nights
Pioneer 150 AC240: 32.6h4 full nights
Phone Charger15W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 1124.3h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 87h
Router + Modem20W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 843.2h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 65.3h
Starlink75W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 224.9h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 17.4h
LED Lights (4 bulbs)40W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 421.6h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 32.6h
Laptop (Working)60W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 281.1h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 21.8h

Comfort & Convenience

Makes off-grid life actually enjoyablescale 0–224.9h
Appliance2×EP800 + 4×B500Pioneer 150 AC240
Box Fan75W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 224.9h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 17.4h
LED TV (55")80W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 210.8h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 16.3h
Mini-Fridge150W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 112.4h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 8.7h
Electric Blanket200W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 84.3h10 full nights
Pioneer 150 AC240: 6.5h0 full nights

High-Draw Appliances

These reveal the real limitsscale 0–16.9h
Appliance2×EP800 + 4×B500Pioneer 150 AC240
Coffee Maker1000W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 16.9h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 1.3h
Microwave1200W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 14.1h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 1.1h
Space Heater1500W draw
2×EP800 + 4×B500: 11.2h
Pioneer 150 AC240: 0.9h

¹ Runtime = (capacity × 0.85) ÷ appliance watts. Within each group, all bars share one time scale (the group's longest runtime), so lengths are comparable across appliances; identical runtimes collapse into a single blue/orange bar. Actual runtime varies with battery age, temperature, and simultaneous loads — see methodology.

Conclusion

July 10, 2026

Verdict: the 2×EP800 + 4×B500, on Power Score margin

These two units are closely matched on individual specs, but our Power Score analysis gives the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 the edge with a composite score of 17,328 vs 3,254.

Overall score margin: 17,328 vs 3,254 (+432.5%)

List prices as of July 10, 2026. The links below open BLUETTI's current price.

Check 2×EP800 + 4×B500 price

$17,999.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

or check the Pioneer 150 AC240 price$999.00 list

Written by Gunner Gustafson, Whole-Home Backup Tester · Station Arena Test Desk · Updated July 10, 2026

04

Measured Data

Benchmark scores and the full spec record, side by side.

Benchmark scores

2×EP800 + 4×B500Pioneer 150 AC240
Overall Power Score
17,328
3,254
Home BackupCapacity & Resilience
17,446
3,366
Food TruckSustained Heavy Output
16,360
3,252

Not rated for both units (minimum threshold unmet): UPS, RV Living, Solar Generator, Tailgating.

Full specifications

2×EP800 + 4×B500
$17,999★ our pick
See live price →
Pioneer 150 AC240
$999
See live price →
Capacity (Wh)
19840
1536
Output (W)
15200
2400
Surge Peak
Not Specified
3600W
AC Outlets
Hardwired (120/240V)
4
240V Outlets
Hardwired
0
30A RV Outlets
0
1

ᵈ Derived: price ÷ rated capacity. See the data behind our comparisons →

Comparison ToolAdd more power stations, side by sideOpen Tool →
How these numbers are produced

Numeric verification

Every figure on this page traces to our spec database or arithmetic on it — no estimated numbers.

Owner claims

Statements about owner experience are cited to published reviews.

Runtime model

Runtime = (rated capacity × 0.85 inverter efficiency) ÷ device wattage. Solar recharge estimates assume panels deliver 70% of rated output. Cold weather, battery age, and stacked loads reduce real-world results.

Power Score

Computed from 14 published spec dimensions, weighted per use-case bench. Higher is better; a unit must meet a bench's minimum threshold to be rated.

See the full weight table and data sourcing on our methodology page →

Class ranking (the star rating)

Each unit's star score is a category ranking, not customer reviews — no buyer opinions feed it. We score every station on size-independent quality (value, output, portability, endurance, ports, warranty, and more), then percentile-rank it against the other units in its capacity class, so a class-leading compact unit and a class-leading whole-home unit can both earn 5★. Here, 2×EP800 + 4×B500 rates 4.5/5 (68th percentile of 29 Whole-Home / Off-Grid-class units), and Pioneer 150 AC240 rates 4.5/5 (69th percentile of 27 Everyday-class units).

How the class ranking is computed →

Test Notes & Caveats

Hidden gotchas and advantages we spotted that you won't find on the product page.

[CAUTION]

Weight Reality Check

Neither unit is grab-and-go. The Pioneer 150 AC240 (72 lbs) is manageable solo but heavier than a large checked suitcase. The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 (721.2 lbs) is a wall-installed system — its weight matters to the installer on day one, then never again.

[NOTE]

Pioneer 150 AC240: 50dB Published

50dB is about as loud as moderate rainfall. It is BLUETTI's own rating rather than a reading on a shared bench — makers differ on whether they quote a best case or a figure under load, so treat it as a starting point rather than what you would hear at a bedside. For most people, fan noise around 45dB and up is where sleep starts to suffer.

[NOTE]

UPS Switchover: ≤15ms vs ≤20ms

Both list a UPS mode, at different rated speeds. The Pioneer 150 AC240 is rated ≤15ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 is rated ≤20ms — fine on paper for routers and most electronics; the fussiest PC power supplies sit right at this line. If a computer with unsaved work is the thing being protected, the stated class is worth the attention; nothing here is a lab result.

[NOTE]

Warranty: 10 Years vs 6

The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 is covered for 10 years against the Pioneer 150 AC240's 6 years. The cheaper Pioneer 150 AC240 does buy more warranty per dollar (6 years per $1,000 against 0.6), but that is a statement about price, not about coverage — if a fault appears in year 7, only one of these is still covered. An underrated factor if you're keeping this unit for years.

[NOTE]

2×EP800 + 4×B500: Noise Level Not Disclosed

The Pioneer 150 AC240 publishes its noise level (50dB); the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 doesn't publish one. That isn't evidence the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 is louder — it means there's no figure to hold it to, and no way to compare the two on this without hearing them. If you're buying for a bedroom, a CPAP, or an apartment, treat the Pioneer 150 AC240's 50dB as the only published number on the table — a spec-sheet figure, not a measurement — and look for hands-on reports of the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 before deciding.

Full record above — the Test Desk pick is the 2×EP800 + 4×B500.

Check 2×EP800 + 4×B500 price →or check the Pioneer 150 AC240 price
05

Ownership Analysis

What happens after you buy — true cost of ownership, brand trust, and growth potential.

Lifetime value

2×EP800 + 4×B500Pioneer 150 AC240

│ warranty ends · Reaching the cycle rating means ~80% capacity remains — degraded, not dead.

2×EP800 + 4×B500
Pioneer 150 AC240
Purchase price
$17,999.00
$999.00
Lifetime energy delivered
69,440 kWh
5,376 kWh
Cost per lifetime kWh
$0.26
$0.19
Cost per warranty year
$1,800/yr
$167/yr
Battery lifespan
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly
9.6yr daily · 33.7yr weekend · 67.3yr weekly

Analyst note

The Pioneer 150 AC240 wins on both sticker price and long-term value. At $0.19/kWh over its lifetime, it's meaningfully cheaper to own. Clear value winner. One thing to know reading the table: both carry the same 3,500-cycle rating, so the lifetime rows are sticker price and capacity in disguise — the wear horizon is identical and decides nothing here.

Growth path

2×EP800 + 4×B500

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 19,840Wh.

Accepts up to 18,000W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Limited ports. You'll likely need a power strip or splitter.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

Pioneer 150 AC240

EXPANDABLE

Supports BLUETTI expansion batteries, so you can add capacity later without replacing the base unit — useful if your needs may climb past 1,536Wh.

Accepts up to 1,200W of solar. Enough for a serious multi-panel array.

Adequate ports for most setups, but heavy users may want a power strip.

Expansion batteries are BLUETTI-specific. You're investing in the BLUETTI ecosystem.

2×EP800 + 4×B500Pioneer 150 AC240

Analyst note

Both expand, but the 2×EP800 + 4×B500's higher solar ceiling (18,000W vs 1,200W) gives it the stronger off-grid growth path — more panels can feed a bigger bank as it grows.

06

The Bottom Line

The full picture comes down to this. The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 edges ahead on our overall analysis, but the margin is narrow enough that your specific use case should drive the decision. Review the scenario verdicts above — if the Pioneer 150 AC240 wins in the scenarios that match your life, it's the right choice regardless of aggregate scores.

If neither the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 nor the Pioneer 150 AC240 feels like the right fit, your power needs probably sit outside what these two target. Use our comparison tool above to explore alternatives that better match your specific wattage and runtime requirements. Prices on portable power stations fluctuate frequently. Both BLUETTI discount regularly, so check the current price before committing. Prime Day and Black Friday pricing typically drops 20-30%.

07

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers drawn from the spec record and cited owner research.

Is the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 worth $17,000 more than the Pioneer 150 AC240?

The short answer: yes, if you'll actually use the extra capability. The 2×EP800 + 4×B500 costs $17,000 more, but that premium buys you 18,304Wh more battery capacity (that's 104 extra hours of running a mini-fridge); 12,800W higher AC output (opening the door to more demanding appliances); 16,800W faster solar charging for quicker off-grid recovery. On a cost-per-watt-hour basis, you're paying $0.91/Wh vs $0.65/Wh. For regular use, we'd pay the premium.

How does the 18,304Wh capacity difference actually affect daily use?

The 2×EP800 + 4×B500's 19,840Wh battery keeps a mini-fridge running for roughly 112 hours vs the Pioneer 150 AC240's 9 hours. Where it really matters: during an 8-hour blackout running your fridge, router, lights, AND charging your phone simultaneously (about 1,645Wh total), the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 handles it while the Pioneer 150 AC240 runs dry. What specs don't mention: runtime drops 20-30% in cold weather (below 32°F/0°C) as battery chemistry slows down. The 2×EP800 + 4×B500's extra capacity provides a critical cold-weather buffer. For occasional phone and laptop charging, both are overkill. This gap only matters for sustained, multi-appliance use.

Can I actually carry the 2×EP800 + 4×B500, or is the Pioneer 150 AC240 the only portable option?

Neither is "portable" in any hiking sense. The Pioneer 150 AC240 (72 lbs) and the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 (721.2 lbs) are both appliances you place and leave. The 649.2-lb difference matters when loading into a vehicle or moving between rooms, but that's about it. If true portability is your priority, look at units under 20 lbs in a different class entirely.

How fast can each unit recharge from solar panels in real conditions?

On paper, the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 accepts 18,000W vs the Pioneer 150 AC240's 1,200W of solar input. What the spec sheet won't tell you: solar panels typically deliver only 60-80% of their rated output due to panel angle, cloud cover, and temperature. In realistic conditions, expect full recharge in about 1.6 hours for the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 and 1.8 hours for the Pioneer 150 AC240. That gap widens on cloudy days, when the 2×EP800 + 4×B500's higher input ceiling captures more of whatever sunlight is available. One more thing: summer gives you ~7 productive solar hours per day. Winter drops to ~4. If solar is your primary recharge method, the 2×EP800 + 4×B500's advantage is substantial.

Bottom line: should I buy the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 or the Pioneer 150 AC240?

We'd pay the premium for the 2×EP800 + 4×B500. Yes, it costs more. The capability jump is real: you're stepping into a tier that handles appliances the base model can't start. The Pioneer 150 AC240 is still solid if budget is the priority, but the 2×EP800 + 4×B500 will leave you less likely to wish you'd "gone bigger" six months from now. That regret costs more than the price difference.

Check 2×EP800 + 4×B500 price →

Where to buy

2×EP800 + 4×B500

BLUETTI 2×EP800 + 4×B500Pick

$17,999.00

Check current price

$17,999.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 43 days ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Pioneer 150 AC240

BLUETTI Pioneer 150 AC240

$999.00

Check current price

$999.00 · direct from BLUETTI

Last checked 1 day ago. Prices move — check before you buy.

Prices may vary by retailer and are subject to change.